We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the first time and will not be the last”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Years ago I stayed at this gem of a little hotel and returned again in September 2013 to enjoy a beautiful weekend visit to Quebec City... the hotel is located in a perfect location for walking the old town, the Madam owner, operator is charming and helpful plus the staff members are professional and knowledgeable ... beds are good, the place is clean, good showers .... it's all good and worth the money.... try it you will like it

Room Tip: all rooms so far have been good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Smokey_Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you much. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our hotel every time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

You can't beat the location. Top that off with amazing old-world charm throughout, and a home made breakfast from the owner. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. I'd highly recommend this wonderful Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DaveRowe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were looking for an atmospheric accommodation in the heart of Old Quebec and certainly found it in the Clos St-Louis. All our interactions with the staff were positive, from initial booking (online) to checkout. We stayed for four nights and loved the instant access to this picturesque area. One day we did drive out of the city to Montmorency Falls and St Anne-de-Beaupre, but otherwise we walked everywhere we went and covered the entire area, soaking up the atmosphere and thoroughly enjoying this tiny taste of France. St-Louis is a one way street but easy to find via the St-Louis gate. You can pull right up in front of the hotel and park your car without worry while you check in and unload your luggage. If you have arranged for a parking space ($20 extra per day) you will circle around via side streets to return to the back of the hotel. The spaces are tight but we had no complaints and it seemed secure enough.

We chose the Mary Robinson room and found it ideal for us. My husband had an ongoing ankle injury which made stairs uncomfortable, so this good sized first floor room was great. We noted that the stairs were quite narrow and were happy that we didn't have to drag our luggage up them - we had a lot of it as this was part of a 3 week trip. The bath was surprisingly spacious, updated and very clean, and the therapeutic tub was fun, if loud. There is one of the old vacuum-cleaner-hose hair dryers mounted on the wall, but a regular one was also provided. The room was dark, but we knew that in advance as the pictures clearly showed dark red walls. There were two casement windows with small insets that opened. They had lovely lace sheer curtains and heavy blackout draperies and window seats, but one of the windows actually had a garden shed built around it outside so it wasn't accessible and didn't allow as much light into the room as the other. (It's behind the sofa in the photos, and the window seat and floor space actually made a good place to stash luggage that we weren't using at the time.) There were plenty of lamps so we didn't lack for reading light. The bed was wonderful, the linens and bed covering were lovely, and the amenities were nice. The floor is wood with one smallish rug, but it has been worn and polished to the smoothest finish I've ever felt.

The breakfast room was small and reached only by a very narrow curving staircase but it was charming and comfortable. The included breakfast is served at individual tables and was prepared by Ghislane, the owner, each morning that we were there. The same 4 choices were on the menu each day, but each was enjoyable - especially the French toast. There were no other meals served but the hotel is literally steps away from many restaurants. We liked the Café de Paris, just across the street and down one or two buildings. If you go there, you must have the Irish coffee! Expensive but very, very good - and you get a show brought right to your table!

We loved the shopping and sightseeing in this colorful and walkable area and would happily choose this hotel again. It was actually quite reasonably priced for a quality room in the city. I'm known for being picky but I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something other than the standard hotel experience. It was clean, clean, clean - decorated in high Victorian style and a welcome change from standard cookie cutter hotels, as nice as many of them are. There is no room service, pool, or workout facility, but there is a computer with internet access available free of charge for guests, as well as wifi. I didn't try the wifi so I can't comment on how well it worked. Thank you Ghislane (and the rest of your staff) we had a wonderful and memorable stay in your charming city!

Room Tip: The website photos appear to be very current as to décor. There are only 2 guest rooms on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trvllin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review of the Hôtel Le Clos Saint-Louis. We are certain that it will help other readers make an informed decision about where to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is just beautiful. The rooms are luxurious and the common area as well. The morning breakfasts were delicious and fun in the charming breakfast room. The service at the hotel was top notch. Everyone was friendly and competent. The hotel is just a short walk from the Frontenac and the pedestrian only area of the walled city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMACNAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Was able to pick out the room we wanted to stay in on their internet site. A real boutique hotel situated right in Old Quebec. Only a few blocks from the center of Old Quebec. A few very good restaurants right across the street. Paid $20 to park, but my rental car was right in the back of the hotel in my designated spot. Of course as it is with most hotels of this type - no elevators. We were in room 24 in the front of the hotel with 2 staircases to climb. No problem as we were helped with our luggage at check-in. Breakfast which is included is served in a lovely room in the basement and the selections were excellent as well as the food itself. Really tough to have to decide between well made eggs or the fabulous french toast. Only thing that was an issustaff upon our departure. e was the lack of english tv stations. They are there, but must cost additional money to the owners. Everyday when we returned after our long walks, there was a group of about 8 people who overtook the sitting room off the lobby. Would have been nice to sit there for awhile, but we couldn't. I'll end now by saying - with all of our travels, this is the first hotel where we received a hug from the staff upon our departure.

Room Tip: Try the french toast for your first morning breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandPaRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We take all your comments into account in order to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time when we visited this past June for our first time to Quebec. We arrived in the late afternoon and everything was ready for us so we could drop our bags in the room & freshen up before going out to explore. In short, an extremely romantic, well cared for, helpful, and beautifully restored hotel experience. I know it calls itself a hotel, but it feels very much like a well-run, friendly bed and breakfast.

Pros
- the room we had was decorated uniquely and comfortably.
- a/c
- very good European breakfast choices included in the cost
- very friendly & helpful staff at all hours
- location! Everything is w/in walking distance.
- very accommodating. We checked out very early, and they not only made sure our taxi was there, but had coffee hot and ready.
- smooth check in and check out
- the room keys
- ambience. A very quiet and relaxing vibe
- the history of the hotel & it's restoration. Ask questions to find out more. Each room is unique. This is not a cookie-cutter room type of place.

Cons
- if you have trouble with stairs, request a room on first two floors. If you like a workout, the top floor will give it to you. (Our room was great, tho)
- spa tub didn't work first night. I mentioned it to the desk and it was fine after that.
- Club nearby kind of loud on Saturday night. However, it didn't keep us awake.

Final
- we would stay here again without having any second thoughts. I'm sure there are other places where we could stay but things here are just fine by us so why look elsewhere?

Room Tip: I suggest calling the hotel directly to book so you have more choices for which room you want, espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank groundblizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We value our guest's comments and appreciate finding out what our strong and weak points are, from your point of view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I along with another couple just spent five nights at this charming hotel. The location is perfect as it is in walking distance to many of the top restaurants and attractions in the old upper part of town. We literally left our car in a parking space behind the hotel for the entire stay with the exception of one day when we went to St. Anne De Beaupre and the Canyon waterfall. Both of those attractions were well worth the trip and only about a half hour drive from the city. The rooms at this hotel are immaculate and beautifully decorated. They are also well equipped with extra pillows, comfortable bed, hair dryer, iron, coffee pot, terry robe...... Everything you need. Best of all was the wonderful owner who greets you every morning in the cozy breakfast room with a warm and sunny smile as well as helpful suggestions as to how to spend the day. There are delicious breakfast choices such as: yogurt with granola and fruit, French toast, ham and eggs, croissants, muffins, coffee, tea and juice. Everything is cooked and prepared fresh by the owner. In the evening you can also purchase a bottle of wine from the hotel or bring your own along with munchies to enjoy in the lovely living area. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Old Quebec.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb any stairs you might want to stay in room 19 or room 1. Both of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

I want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay at the Hôtel Le Clos Saint-Louis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £125 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing