We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Le Clo Staint-Louis Quebec City, QC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Le Clo Staint-Louis Quebec City, QC”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was a beautiful experience. Our hostest was wonderful and our room appointments were decorated such that it took us back to a time of luxury in history. It reminded me of the French Buroque period. The morning breakfast was created by our hostest and served in a quaint dinning area which I imagined similar to a French Cafe'. The servings were delicious. The Hotel location was inside the old city and handy to the upper and lower city attractions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The owner is friendly and charming. She makes sure you have everything need. A delightful stay. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back and it was quiet. But the couple were with had a front room on the streep a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    86
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
383
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just spent two nights in the Hotel Le Clos St. Louis and had a fantastic experience. The entire hotel is beautifully decorated and the owner and staff could not have been more accommodating. We had just arrived from a cruise that ended in Quebec City and had a lot of luggage, so the owner changed our room to Cabin 5, a beautiful suite overlooking the street and even helped move our luggage off the street.

Breakfast was included and offered excellent choices to include eggs, bacon, toast, etc. There are numerous restaurants within a few steps of the hotel and it is only two blocks from the main city square adjacent to Chateau Fontenac.

I also noted that Hotel Le Clos St. Louis has been recognized for excellence by Trip Advisor in 2011 and 2012.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Quebec City and would stay there again if visiting this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Cabin 5 offers a great view of Rue St. Louis and is very quiet at night. The street is busy during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverboy98se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Within walking distance from most everything. Rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques and are all quite large. We were located on the first floor which was one flight up a steep stairwell. We had a front room overlooking the street. The street noise was a bit noisy until 11 pm and then again after 6 am but it did not bother us. There is no elevator. I do not think that this hotel is well equipped for young children because of the antiques, which are located everywhere, so I would advise looking elsewhere or a hotel The owner is very friendly and helpful even though she does not speak much English. The breakfast, served from 8 am to 9:45 am, was located in a well lit basement down a narrow winding stairway. The choices were eggs, ham and toast, French toast, a yogurt parfait with muffin, and a croissant with jelly. Tea or coffee and juice. All were very good. There is a car park behind the hotel and a change of $20.00 per night. Be sure to request a space when you make your reservation as there are only six or so spaces available. When you arrive at the hotel, stop out front of the hotel to check-in and unload your luggage. You will then be given directions to the car park behind the hotel if you have secured a space. This hotel is not inexpensive. For three nights, with car park and tax, our total was $882.56. There are few inexpensive restaurants in the Old City. We averaged, with two glasses of wine, dinner and tip, $95.00. The people in Quebec were very friendly and many spoke English. We did not find our lack of speaking French to be a problem at all. Be friendly and a Bonjour or a Merci with a smile will go a long way. Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for the time and effort you put into writing this detail testimonial. One thing we do want to clarify is that we have a total of 11 parking spaces in the back of the hotel. In the rare event that there are not enough spaces to accomodate our guests, we send folks to a public lot just a few blocks away. Once again we're happy that you enjoyed your stay and thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingworth, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

What we liked was being able to identify our exact room and see a picture on line. In many hotels you dont know what you are walking into. Room was number 18 which was very pretty but lacked natural light as it was on the ground floor so no view and we had to keep the curtains closed. Staff friendly, great central location and typically french breakfast. We used the restaurant next door (Bello) which we thought was awesome.

Room Tip: No help with luggage so be careful what you ask for but i would recommend a room on a higher floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GSH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We value our guest's comments and appreciate finding out what our strong and weak points are, from your point of view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto (Unionville), Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Years ago I stayed at this gem of a little hotel and returned again in September 2013 to enjoy a beautiful weekend visit to Quebec City... the hotel is located in a perfect location for walking the old town, the Madam owner, operator is charming and helpful plus the staff members are professional and knowledgeable ... beds are good, the place is clean, good showers .... it's all good and worth the money.... try it you will like it

Room Tip: all rooms so far have been good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Smokey_Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you much. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our hotel every time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

You can't beat the location. Top that off with amazing old-world charm throughout, and a home made breakfast from the owner. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. I'd highly recommend this wonderful Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DaveRowe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were looking for an atmospheric accommodation in the heart of Old Quebec and certainly found it in the Clos St-Louis. All our interactions with the staff were positive, from initial booking (online) to checkout. We stayed for four nights and loved the instant access to this picturesque area. One day we did drive out of the city to Montmorency Falls and St Anne-de-Beaupre, but otherwise we walked everywhere we went and covered the entire area, soaking up the atmosphere and thoroughly enjoying this tiny taste of France. St-Louis is a one way street but easy to find via the St-Louis gate. You can pull right up in front of the hotel and park your car without worry while you check in and unload your luggage. If you have arranged for a parking space ($20 extra per day) you will circle around via side streets to return to the back of the hotel. The spaces are tight but we had no complaints and it seemed secure enough.

We chose the Mary Robinson room and found it ideal for us. My husband had an ongoing ankle injury which made stairs uncomfortable, so this good sized first floor room was great. We noted that the stairs were quite narrow and were happy that we didn't have to drag our luggage up them - we had a lot of it as this was part of a 3 week trip. The bath was surprisingly spacious, updated and very clean, and the therapeutic tub was fun, if loud. There is one of the old vacuum-cleaner-hose hair dryers mounted on the wall, but a regular one was also provided. The room was dark, but we knew that in advance as the pictures clearly showed dark red walls. There were two casement windows with small insets that opened. They had lovely lace sheer curtains and heavy blackout draperies and window seats, but one of the windows actually had a garden shed built around it outside so it wasn't accessible and didn't allow as much light into the room as the other. (It's behind the sofa in the photos, and the window seat and floor space actually made a good place to stash luggage that we weren't using at the time.) There were plenty of lamps so we didn't lack for reading light. The bed was wonderful, the linens and bed covering were lovely, and the amenities were nice. The floor is wood with one smallish rug, but it has been worn and polished to the smoothest finish I've ever felt.

The breakfast room was small and reached only by a very narrow curving staircase but it was charming and comfortable. The included breakfast is served at individual tables and was prepared by Ghislane, the owner, each morning that we were there. The same 4 choices were on the menu each day, but each was enjoyable - especially the French toast. There were no other meals served but the hotel is literally steps away from many restaurants. We liked the Café de Paris, just across the street and down one or two buildings. If you go there, you must have the Irish coffee! Expensive but very, very good - and you get a show brought right to your table!

We loved the shopping and sightseeing in this colorful and walkable area and would happily choose this hotel again. It was actually quite reasonably priced for a quality room in the city. I'm known for being picky but I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something other than the standard hotel experience. It was clean, clean, clean - decorated in high Victorian style and a welcome change from standard cookie cutter hotels, as nice as many of them are. There is no room service, pool, or workout facility, but there is a computer with internet access available free of charge for guests, as well as wifi. I didn't try the wifi so I can't comment on how well it worked. Thank you Ghislane (and the rest of your staff) we had a wonderful and memorable stay in your charming city!

Room Tip: The website photos appear to be very current as to décor. There are only 2 guest rooms on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvllin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review of the Hôtel Le Clos Saint-Louis. We are certain that it will help other readers make an informed decision about where to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#44 of 101 in Quebec City
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 101 in Quebec City
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing