We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time back in a year....as great as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“2nd time back in a year....as great as the first”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We try to get to Quebec City once a year but will arrange the trip only when there is a vacancy at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis. Yes, it is that worth it. First, its location....about 200 yds west of the Chateau Frontenac and approx. half the price. So it is centrally located to everything. You only need your car if you are driving out of town. You can walk to everywhere from this property. Regarding parking....it is a private lot directly behind the hotel so you do not need to walk far to get it.

Now the staff....For the three nights we stayed, everyone there has an attitude of, "what can we do to make your stay here more enjoyable".....everyone!!!! The owner is the one in the white coat keeping everything in order and is the chef in the AM that produces a great breakfast in THE MOST charming little French style dining area one level below the main level. Breakfast is included in your room charge. When you are asked in the AM what your plans are for the day, you will most likely be asked by that same person in the afternoon how your day went....and recites to you every place you told her about in the AM!!!

Accommodations.....spacious room (#22), well lit, VERY comfortable bed, charming, charming, furnishings. Two French style windows that open to a quiet courtyard below (if you are on the back side). I was concerned the other night since it was unusually warm out and therefore the room was quite warm when we returned (the part of the hotel we were in is centrally controlled). So we called downstairs and asked if they could turn the a/c on. of course, the answer was, "happy to") and within 10 minutes the room was very comfortable. Try making that request of a major US city hotel!!! Also, internet is free and very good speed.

The owner hugged both of us goodbye and told her we could not wait for our return. This place is not 4 star.....it is 5.

Room Tip: Back side is quieter. Every room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for coming back to see us again. It is always our pleasure to welcome you. Thank you as well for taking the time to write such an extensive review of Le Clos Saint-Louis. We are certain that it will help other readers make an informed decision about where to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    87
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
385
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Le Clos Saint Louis was very easy to get to by car and the onsite parking was a plus. The staff was welcoming, accommodating, and responsive to needs. Breakfasts were yummy and cooked by our host Ghislaine. The very interesting history of the houses is documented in the parlor. Lovely place. We got good recommendations from Luc for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arleneredmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay and got married in the lobby, which was a small, intimate room that was already decorated beautifully. The room was also beautifully decorated, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts were great and our hosts were wonderful. We will definitely come back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JSFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
It was our pleasure to serve as the location for your wedding. Thank you very much for your warm comments. We do hope you come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2,372 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 978 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We knew we would like to stay in the old downtown area of Quebec and just happen to be lucky and get this hotel. Out flight was very late arriving in Quebec and we did not know what kind of reception we might find upon check in. The hotel door was locked so we rang the bell and the proprietor came to the door and immediately called us by name. We were assigned a room on the second floor and he helped us with our luggage as there is no elevator.

The room was very nice with many antique furnishings. The bed was a large king size with a very good mattress. The bath room was well equipped and there was a flat screen TV. All in all the room was excellent. We had a breakfast with the room and that was located in the basement which was very attractively decorated. We were met at breakfast the next morning by two ladies who were most accommodating and had tables waiting for us. We enjoyed a hot breakfast of ham and eggs, toast, fruit and fresh juice. Really a great way to start the day.

We were at the hotel for two nights and found them most enjoyable. There are dozens of nice restaurants within a short walking distance, thus you never need transportation in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for your vote of confidence. We always appreciate it when a customer recommends our services to Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Gherlain (sorry we are misspelling her name) has a beautiful home which is an imitate, deluxe boutique hotel. She will cook your breakfast each morning (choice of 5 or 6 entries) with coffee/tea and juice. The food is incredible - her croissants top any we had in Paris, and her french toast (with fresh strawberries) is a cross between a waffle and french toast. We've had nothing like this ever in the States!

The location is perfect - we walked everywhere from here. Close to the Fortifications and Petite Champlain. Their website shows each room and what to expect.

We booked room 9 which is one of the 2 maids rooms. It was on the top floor, wood floors, faced the back, quiet and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

The staff could not have been nicer, the ambiance of her home is beautiful & the location is perfect.

This hotel will NOT disappoint!

Room Tip: Their website is amazing. Each room is clearly identified with pictures and amenities so you know wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bklynguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests. We hope you come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel le Clos St-Louis during our first trip to Quebec City as adults. We chose this hotel based on Internet reviews only and we could not have been happier. Upon arrival, the receptionist was very helpful and warm, even offering to take our bags up to our third floor room for us! (We didn't let her). Our room was beautifully decorated and very large. Windows that opened to the street and we could hear the charming sound of horse hooves on the cobblestones through the day. We were walking distance to a LOT of wonderful restaurants, the St Lawrence River, the Chateau Frontenac, the parliamentary buildings and shopping. We ate breakfast in the hotel's restaurant each of the three mornings we were there and it was excellent. A lovely touch that the owner, Madame Donais, cooked and served the meal. We will return to Quebec City and we will absolutely return to Hotel Le Clos St-Louis.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maid's Room (#10) and it was BEAUTIFUL. It's three floors up and no elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeamShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The value is really really bad. This very expensive hotel is not what you are expecting. My family and I are traveling a lot, this not a 4 stars at all. It's a small and simple family hotel with nice kitch design.

The service is really poor. Electrical system is really hold. No heater when you arrive in the room, and it was in winter..... It's nice to feel in a old style hotel, but we all expect a minimum.

Just an exemple : the breakfast is underground in a dark kitchen. I just asked for a menu, but they didn't even have what they offer in it. Even a simple muffin ? No...

The only good point : a good location. The beautiful Quebec city has way better hotels to offer. Try somewhere else, trust me. Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ROM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello,

We read your review and we are very surprised. You and your parents stayed at our hotel for three days and at no time did you express any dissatisfaction. If you had, rest assured that we would have made every effort to find a more suitable accommodation for you, similar to the effort that we made in locating the tie that you left behind in your room and, subsequently, mailing it to you.

You say that you did not like our hotel. We can understand: It is a matter of taste and interests. What we do not understand, however, are some unsubstantiated claims in your review. For the benefit of our future customers, we will correct some details.

Our hotel is classified as having four stars because it meets the criteria for four stars as assessed by a provincial authority responsible for classifying hotels. This assessment is reviewed every two years. In 2012, our hotel was once again given a four star classification. A variety of different styles of hotels – modern, boutique, etc. – can successfully meet the criteria to earn this classification.

Quebec City is a historic city. Le Clos Saint Louis, one of the few houses in the old Quebec to have preserved its interior architectural heritage, reflects the style of an era that many consumers are looking for. In recent years our house, which dates from 1844, has been completely renovated. Architects, designers, craftsmen, etc. have restored this home to its former glory. It complies with the building code and meets the standards of construction and safety. In Quebec, it is prohibited to operate without meeting these standards. And, in fact, our house was deemed to have met all the requirements of the province of Quebec after inspection. While we are very proud of the efforts that we have made to preserve a part of Quebec’s heritage, we understand that you may not necessarily appreciate the style of our house.

As for the breakfast service, it is served between 8:00 am to 10:00 am in the breakfast room downstairs. We offer a la carte breakfast served at the table. Five choices are available and we do our best to make sure there is enough of each item to meet the customers’ daily requests. It could happen on rare occasions that we don’t have one of the listed items. In that case, we will offer a substitute. It should also be noted that if you arrive at the breakfast room after 10:00, the kitchen is closed and there is nothing available.

Our staff and myself are fully dedicated to the welfare and needs of our customers. We are not perfect, but we do strive to be our best. If you had informed the reception of your discomfort, then I am convinced that together we would have found a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#46 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing