We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Sweet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfectly Sweet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent a lovely weekend in Quebec City and we loved our stay at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis. From the moment we walked in, we felt the warmth and hospitality from the staff. We were the last to check in for the day and the gentleman at the desk warmly commented that they were expecting us.

The hotel is amazingly clean. I have stayed in many hotels over the years and was still amazed at how everything was spotless.

The breakfasts each morning were delicious. I have to say that the breakfast room is cheerful and so cute!

I can't wait to stay here in the future!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank swissiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests. We would be pleased to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    86
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
383
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent two nights last week end in Old Quebec. Not our first time as we come and visit every few years from Vancouver as I was born in Quebec. Old Quebec never seems to lose its appeal no matter what. It is ageless like the city. The Quebecois are so animated and entertaining! They are warm and truly welcoming and the old Quebec is worth of its romantic appeal.
I picked this hotel because I love the old style houses with stone walls ect. I like to try different lodging areas since I like to experiment. I was in room 10 which is on the 3rd floor (not for those who are not in shape as there are no elevators and we had to carry our suitcases ourselves but we did not mind it because we always eat more than we should with the all the good food around... and need the exercise.) SO, this is not a place for those who can`t handle stairs.
I wanted to be on the top floor to have quietness at night for sleeping. The first night was very noisy outside (inside is very peaceful we did not hear any noise from the other rooms). Our room was a bit warm but we could not figure out why we could not start the air conditioning system. We found out that we had to point directly the remote to the system dah! which we did not do. The second night was bliss as we closed the windows and did not hear a thing. The walls of the room is a warm brick red color with sufficient electrical plugs... rare in old houses. The room was very clean. The old house has an interesting collection of antiques all over. Of course no problems to use a lap top. The bed comfortable. The bathroom very big and fancy with that amazing pulsing hot tub. I did try it once and did not get out of till I look like a prune. Most of the staff was very helpful and mindful about good costumer service. There is much to see and do in the Old Quebec. I do recommend this hotel, a lot of people keep coming back as I noticed in the morning breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank maddykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We try to get to Quebec City once a year but will arrange the trip only when there is a vacancy at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis. Yes, it is that worth it. First, its location....about 200 yds west of the Chateau Frontenac and approx. half the price. So it is centrally located to everything. You only need your car if you are driving out of town. You can walk to everywhere from this property. Regarding parking....it is a private lot directly behind the hotel so you do not need to walk far to get it.

Now the staff....For the three nights we stayed, everyone there has an attitude of, "what can we do to make your stay here more enjoyable".....everyone!!!! The owner is the one in the white coat keeping everything in order and is the chef in the AM that produces a great breakfast in THE MOST charming little French style dining area one level below the main level. Breakfast is included in your room charge. When you are asked in the AM what your plans are for the day, you will most likely be asked by that same person in the afternoon how your day went....and recites to you every place you told her about in the AM!!!

Accommodations.....spacious room (#22), well lit, VERY comfortable bed, charming, charming, furnishings. Two French style windows that open to a quiet courtyard below (if you are on the back side). I was concerned the other night since it was unusually warm out and therefore the room was quite warm when we returned (the part of the hotel we were in is centrally controlled). So we called downstairs and asked if they could turn the a/c on. of course, the answer was, "happy to") and within 10 minutes the room was very comfortable. Try making that request of a major US city hotel!!! Also, internet is free and very good speed.

The owner hugged both of us goodbye and told her we could not wait for our return. This place is not 4 star.....it is 5.

Room Tip: Back side is quieter. Every room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for coming back to see us again. It is always our pleasure to welcome you. Thank you as well for taking the time to write such an extensive review of Le Clos Saint-Louis. We are certain that it will help other readers make an informed decision about where to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Le Clos Saint Louis was very easy to get to by car and the onsite parking was a plus. The staff was welcoming, accommodating, and responsive to needs. Breakfasts were yummy and cooked by our host Ghislaine. The very interesting history of the houses is documented in the parlor. Lovely place. We got good recommendations from Luc for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arleneredmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay and got married in the lobby, which was a small, intimate room that was already decorated beautifully. The room was also beautifully decorated, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts were great and our hosts were wonderful. We will definitely come back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JSFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
It was our pleasure to serve as the location for your wedding. Thank you very much for your warm comments. We do hope you come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2,372 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 962 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We knew we would like to stay in the old downtown area of Quebec and just happen to be lucky and get this hotel. Out flight was very late arriving in Quebec and we did not know what kind of reception we might find upon check in. The hotel door was locked so we rang the bell and the proprietor came to the door and immediately called us by name. We were assigned a room on the second floor and he helped us with our luggage as there is no elevator.

The room was very nice with many antique furnishings. The bed was a large king size with a very good mattress. The bath room was well equipped and there was a flat screen TV. All in all the room was excellent. We had a breakfast with the room and that was located in the basement which was very attractively decorated. We were met at breakfast the next morning by two ladies who were most accommodating and had tables waiting for us. We enjoyed a hot breakfast of ham and eggs, toast, fruit and fresh juice. Really a great way to start the day.

We were at the hotel for two nights and found them most enjoyable. There are dozens of nice restaurants within a short walking distance, thus you never need transportation in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for your vote of confidence. We always appreciate it when a customer recommends our services to Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Gherlain (sorry we are misspelling her name) has a beautiful home which is an imitate, deluxe boutique hotel. She will cook your breakfast each morning (choice of 5 or 6 entries) with coffee/tea and juice. The food is incredible - her croissants top any we had in Paris, and her french toast (with fresh strawberries) is a cross between a waffle and french toast. We've had nothing like this ever in the States!

The location is perfect - we walked everywhere from here. Close to the Fortifications and Petite Champlain. Their website shows each room and what to expect.

We booked room 9 which is one of the 2 maids rooms. It was on the top floor, wood floors, faced the back, quiet and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

The staff could not have been nicer, the ambiance of her home is beautiful & the location is perfect.

This hotel will NOT disappoint!

Room Tip: Their website is amazing. Each room is clearly identified with pictures and amenities so you know wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bklynguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests. We hope you come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#43 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing