We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful and unique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful and unique hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A beautiful and romantic hotel, great service, will definitely recommend to friends. Clean rooms decorated retro but with all modern day amenities. Free breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room, menu had a few options, atmosphere was home like.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    95
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
421
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location and the staff are friendly. The room was clean and in general the facilities were good but several things could be improved: the hairdryer was one of the 80's on the wall things which was difficult to use, the kettle was a cheap plastic whistling type and the instant coffee in the room was not great.

Having said that there were toweling robes provided, breakfast was good overall, some options better than others (don't order scrambled egg- they cut up a fried egg rather than whisking and scrambling properly which was bizarre). The general decor was Ok- period style, but there were some very odd dolls, scary doll pictures in our room and a lacy crib on the landing which was a little spooky. There is not an elevator, not a problem for us but should be kept in mind if you find stairs a challenge.

We would stay here again and found the overall experience good- Id just bring a hairdryer next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Future customers will undoubtedly find your comments helpful.

The John Racey House, which later became Le Clos Saint Louis, keeps its authenticity thanks to constant efforts made to preserve it. In 1854, there was one floor set aside for the children and their nanny, so we chose decorative elements that would remind visitors of its former function. We are truly sorry for any distress you experienced caused by our choice of decorations.

Also, if you come back and visit us again, please note that each bathroom has both a wall hairdryer and a handheld hair dryer, the latter of which can be found inside the basket next to the sink. Unfortunately, it sounds like you did not notice it.

Thank you so much for your visit and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

"Charming" can sometimes imply "falling to bits", but in this case we found the hotel a very comfortable small inn, comparable to similar places in the smaller rural cities of France. Clean, well presented rooms and welcoming and very helpful staff - ideal for a romantic getaway in a very romantic city.

Tip : after dinner, head for the jazz bar at the Hotel Clarendon a few blocks away.

Room Tip: We had a rear-facing room on the second floor. However Rue St-Louis is quiet, and we didn't fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with fellow travelers. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I had a couple of days after a family wedding in Vermont so we went to Quebec City. We had read the Trip Advisor review of Hotel Le Clos St-Louis and the comments and decided it give it a try. It so exceeded our expectations and was wonderfully comfortable and, yes, romantic. The staff were helpful and had good suggestions for places to eat and sightsee in the short time we had available. Conclusion: We'll go back to Quebec and we'll stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxbridge1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests. We hope you come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending four nights at this beautiful inn. We stayed in Room No. 5 and it was outstanding. The rooms are well proportioned, with high ceilings.,The decor was so pretty! And everything, including the nice-sized bathroom, was very clean.

This inn is very convenient: right in the old city, yet peaceful and quiet at night.

The owner has maintained the integrity of a beautiful, old building while creating a lovely and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BB5832014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for your vote of confidence. We always appreciate it when a customer recommends our services to Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petawawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If your looking for a hotel in the heart of old Quebec, where you can walk to and from, have an amazing breakfast each morning, and rest your tired feet in the bubbling tub...this is the place.
We stayed here for 1 week on our house hunting trip, and it was perfect. The staff was amazing, I had the french toast for 6 days straight...try it once, you will see why:)
Thank-you for the great stay.

Room Tip: each room is decorated differently, if you visit their website you are able to see each. we stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you personally for having selected our hotel for your accommodations. We hope that your house hunting was successful and that you swing by and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent a lovely weekend in Quebec City and we loved our stay at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis. From the moment we walked in, we felt the warmth and hospitality from the staff. We were the last to check in for the day and the gentleman at the desk warmly commented that they were expecting us.

The hotel is amazingly clean. I have stayed in many hotels over the years and was still amazed at how everything was spotless.

The breakfasts each morning were delicious. I have to say that the breakfast room is cheerful and so cute!

I can't wait to stay here in the future!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank swissiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests. We would be pleased to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing