We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Special Haven in a Fabulous City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #23 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Very Special Haven in a Fabulous City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

We are thrilled that we discovered Hotel Le Clos St-Louis and chose it for our six night holiday from 28 December, 2008 to 3 January, 2009.

TripAdvisor was a big help with the reviews and details shown for the hotels and B&B's we were considering. Location was of prime importance as we wanted to be able to walk to most of the attractions we planned to see. However, unless one knows Quebec City, the significance of being in the Upper Town or Lower Town, and inside or outside the wall does not register; we think for most who want to experience Quebec City, Upper Town inside the wall is best. Ultimately, we chose Clos St-Louis on the basis of the hotel's web site and beautiful room pictures - just what we envisioned as a place where we'd like to stay. Adding that a "real " breakfast was served, saving time and money and the vastly positive reviews of TripAdvisor members, we made our choice. And the location turned out to be perfect for us. By the way, I must say that the rooms were exactly as shown in the pictures, and the hotel as a whole was even better. Some places show "typical" rooms or their best rooms to make an impression. With Clos St-Louis, every room is shown and what you see is what you get...and then some.

The hotel's owner, Madame Donais is also the breakfast chef, a job she relishes. She runs a tight ship with a light hand and is very attentive to detail. Madame insists on maintaining the high quality of the hotel for her guests; as her guests, we appreciate that. For example, during the winter months, Madame provides hand knitted footies in the lobby for your use and comfort while you stowe your boots in a bin to dry for the next day's use. There is no smoking within the hotel. Breakfast is served between 8:00 a.m. and 10:00 a.m. and is very, very good. Starting your day with coffee or tea and juice and either french toast, eggs and ham, yogurt, cereal or a croissant with fruit gives you the energy to enjoy remarkable Quebec City. The cafe has a distinct French embiance, even to the point that Sabrina, the lovely server, wears a traditional French waitress dress.

Paul is the hotel's over-the-top helpful concierge. He played a big part in making our stay as enjoyable and hassle-free as possible. From calling a cab to making restaurant recommendations/reservations to helping us decide which activities we might most enjoy, Paul was our "go-to guy." If Madame Donais is the head of Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, Paul is it's heart.

Looking back, we can't say we would have rather stayed at any other hotel in Quebec City. We saw several we had considered during our walks around town, and we're glad we chose Clos St-Louis. It truly holds the charm, romance and history of Quebec City within it's walls.

  • Liked — Overall ambiance, room size & decor, service, breakfast, location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything worth mentioning - a great place!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Euro-Junkie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    86
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
383
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

This hotel is in a wonderful location, within the old city and a block from the Chateau. We went there for New Year's and booked it at the last minute. It meet all our expectations and more. The hotel is beautiful and our room was lovely. The room was clean, spacious and well-appointed. The breakfast was amazing with lots of choice. Concierge Paul had a great knowledge of Quebec City and was able to book us into two of the best restaurants at the last minute on New Year's Eve and New Year's Day. Will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

An absolutely fantastic hotel, we could not have asked for more from our hosts, Paul and Ghyslaine, they were the best. The rooms (we stayed in two different ones) were romantic and opulent, perfect for our wedding ceremony in room #5.

It is a hotel full of charm and character, the perfect atmosphere for a wedding ceremony and a honeymoon vacation.

Paul was very helpful, he arranged our wedding flowers, dinner reservation and even offered to arrange for champagne. Since neither of us are fluent in French or know Quebec City, we relied on his expertise for many things and he was always correct, from sites to visit, restaurants to dine and places to shop.

We wanted this getaway to be perfect and our expectations of the hotel were very high, and we were not disappointed, in fact we could not have asked for more.

We will, on our next visit to Quebec, stay at le Clos St. Louis, there would be no other choice, after all it was perfect in every way.

Many thanks to Paul and Ghryslaine!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank Will2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

We chose Hotel Saint-Louis to spend Christmas this year which also was our 40th wedding anniversary.

We had never been to Quebec and had never had a Christmas away from our family so we especially wanted a hotel with elegance and warmth.

The Hotel Clos Saint-Louis was a magical place in a magical city! We were delighted with every aspect of this small lovely place. Our room was elegant, cozy, large (with a sitting area) and beautifully decorated in the Victorian period of the Hotel. The location was perfect - within the old city walls and in walking distance of everything. Some of the highlights of this stay included the ambiance of the entire small hotel with warm living room and fire, breakfasts cooked to order, the warmth and efficiency of Madame Donais, the owner, the great suggestions for dining and other city attractions from Paul, the concierge, the great location and even the hand knitted slippers waiting at the door. Christmas in Quebec City is designed to be special with twinkling lights and Christmas trees everywhere, amazing cuisine and a genuine feeling of welcome. We will definitely return.

  • Liked — ambience
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pamseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

Most important feature of this delightful Quebec hotel is its location. It is within easy walking distance of the important and enlightening historical and cultural sights as well as innumerable excellent restaurants within a wide price range. The hotel is spotlesslly maintained by a friendly, hlepful staff. There are three pleasant, comfortable rooms on the ground floor for seniors or others wishing to avoind the stairs.
Our rioom was newly and tastefully decorated. In winter a fir is always burning in the spacious, Victorian sitting room. Breakfasts with a pleasantly varied menu are individually prepared by the owner.
The hotel is a delightfuil place to which anyone would wish to return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — We had no dislikes
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zephyr41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

My husband and I have been visiting Hotel Le Clos St-Louis annually for the past four years. Every room is absolutely gorgeous and was decorated with the discerning traveller in mind. The hotel staff are very pleasant and the hotel is very clean. Very romantic, you won't be disappointed. The hotel is located in the heart of the old port which is exactly where you want to be. Christmas time in Quebec City is a must.

  • Liked — Victorian charm
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NorthStarChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

We are four sisters (all over 60 years of age). We stayed at this hotel from Dec. 6th until the 10th, 2008. The breakfasts were fine. The hotel was decorated well. The owner/hostess was very rude on our last night there. She upset my 70 year old sister to the point of being inconsolable. One of us wound up sleeping on the floor because of this temper tantrum by the owner.
I loved Quebec City, but I will never stay in this hotel again.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank meme154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#44 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing