We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location, Beautiful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Newfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Beautiful Property”
Reviewed 4 August 2007

We stayed at Le Clos St. Louis for two nights, and our only regret was that we didn't stay longer. Our room, #20, was lovely, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was a comfortable size, with a large soaking tub. Breakfast was good, with a choice of five different items. We sampled the ham and eggs and the french toast. Service was friencly and helpful. And best of all was the location, convenient to anything you want to do in Old Quebec. We would come back to Quebec, and we'd definitely return to Hotel Le Clos Saint Louis.

  • Liked — Location was perfect.
  • Disliked — Lack of shelf space in the bathroom.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dvdcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    87
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
385
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

My husband and I just returned from our amazing getaway to Quebec City. It was my first visit and I cannot say one bad thing about the experience. Originally I had wanted to stay at the famous Chateau Frontenac but I came across this House via the internet and I was intrigued! I am so glad that I did! This former house turned Hotel is amazing! Truly beautiful! I love the historical aspect of it. So much history! The hotel itself is gorgeous, full of antiques and very very clean! Our room which was the Maid's room was beautifully decorated and very romantic! The complimentary breakfast was delicious! Not your typical muffins and orange juice complimentary breakfast! (loved the heart shaped shortbread). The reserved parking was appreciated. We hardly had to take our car out at all, as the hotel is central to everything. The staff were very helpful and courteous. Overall, I can't say enough good things about this House! It is truly a gem in the heart of Old Quebec City! We will be back to stay at the Clos Saint-Louis once again very very soon. I will not look anywhere else!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BettinaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We stayed a week at Le Clos, a bit nervous beforehand as that was a long time to spend in a hotel we'd never seen. But at the end of the week, we found that we had a very hard time leaving!
When we arrived, Paul greeted us warmly at the front desk, met us in the parking lot to show us how to get into our spot, and then recommended a cozy pub for dinner, which turned out to have excellent food at reasonable prices. Our whole stay was just as delightful; our room was beautiful and comfortable and the staff, including the owner, Ghyslaine, was helpful without being instrusive.
Yes, they serve breakfast downstairs but goodness, it's a lovely room with antique tea sets and other china pieces on display. You are greeted with a smile and given a choice of five light breakfasts; my personal favorite was a parfait of fresh fruit, granola, yogurt and a cookie.
There is no elevator, which didn't bother us as we kind of deserved the workout after eating great Quebec food all day. But if you don't want to climb many stairs, book a room on the first floor.
We've traveled a bit and stayed at city hotels, chain motels, historical hotels and guest houses. The Clos St-Louis is our all-time favorite. We will be back.

  • Liked — The feeling of welcome
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bushwhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

My wife and I came here after three days in Montreal. We hated to leave Montreal because we had so enjoyed our stay there, and I hate to have the best at the "front" of my vacation. I should not have worried.

Where to start? The room was beautiful and comfortable. The location of the hotel was central to all we wanted to do (we parked the car and did not enter it again for three days and saw all we wanted to see). The breakfasts served in the morning were good and got us through to supper (and with all the walking and just two meals a day I lost 4 pounds on this trip[your results may differ]).

But one of the best parts of the hotel was the staff, especially the gentleman at the front desk (sorry I didn't get his name). They were all helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

Not only will we return to the hotel, but we were both sorry that we could not stay another week.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank seeker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

My husband and I just returned from 3 nights at the hotel. From the moment we arrived it lived up to our high expectations. Location, ambiance, helpful and gracious staff. I'm already planning my return.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank tituspaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2007

This is a beautiful small hotel in a beautiful small city. The staff are all charming and helpful. The rooms are wonderful. And the location is perfect on the most charming street in the old city of Quebec - rue St. Louis. It is a perfect place to stay for a romantic weekend away. We will be back in Quebec, and at Le Clos St. Louis, next summer!

  • Liked — Perfect location, totally charming, wonderful staff
  • Disliked — Nothhing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank OccasionalTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

Wow! This hotel is a jem! I felt like royalty the moment I came in. The decor is spectacular. Our room (#5) was so beautiful, it took my breath away.

You can't beat the location. It is in the center of Old Quebec, within a few steps of an abundance of restaurants and shops.

The Clos St-Louis was not "just" a hotel, it was a memorable experience.

Of all the hotels I've stayed in, this one is my favorite!

  • Liked — How it transported me in the 17th century.
  • Disliked — I hate that I did not stay over longer.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank pilots_wife_331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#42 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing