We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B and Host for a Bargain!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Couette et Cafe a la Quebecoise
Ranked #51 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming B&B and Host for a Bargain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We arrived after sunset, which made it slightly more difficult to find the entrance, which is right next to a store that sells just Quebecois locally made items. Thankfully there is parking provided across the street, but it is open air so don't leave anything valuable in your car. We didn't have any issues though since the neighborhood seems to be pretty quiet, like most of the city itself.

Up a flight of stairs, the B&B is spacious and homey, and Robert is always there to oversee things. Robert, the proprietor, is one of the best aspects of staying here. He is such a sweet older man, and his family has lived there since the 1700s, about 4-5 generations of quebecois, and he has run the place for almost 15 years. He used to be an English teacher for French Canadiens, and he is a wonderful source of history and local information, and has great recommendations on sites to visit both in the city and especially outside of it (which we sadly couldn't take advantage of).

The kitchen is huge and beautifully sunlit in the morning, with a patio for nice weather. Rooms are large, with a comfortable queen size bed, clean sheets, and towels that are adorably twisted into the shape of kissing swans when you arrive. Rooms are quite large with a lot of space, and each has a tv for personal use. Free wifi is available if you need it. The kitchen itself is very modern, and Robert is happy to let you put a few things in the fridge if need be.

The breakfast is great - they will cook you your breakfast as you like it, eggs fried/scrambled/poached with ham, fresh fruit, and your choice of toast, or opt for french toast with fantastic local maple syrup (of course!), fresh orange juice, and coffee or tea (tea is always available, as are little tins of cookies and chocolates on the side table). The shared bathroom is large and the shower quite comfortable; we had no issue sharing it with the other guests. The area is so quiet, you will sleep very well, and the location is just a short walk to one of the main streets and the heart of Quebec City.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
360 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The owner, Mr. Bertrand, made my experience in Quebec a fun and rewarding time. From greeting me by welcoming me "home", always providing tourist suggestions and directions, to engaging in great conversation about Quebec history, Mr. Bertrand was always helpful (and was always there when I left in the morning and returned in the evening). The breakfast was superb and plentiful and prepared to your requirements. Use of a refrigerator and stove was nice.

A self-service laundry is a block away, the train station is about a 15 minute walk, and the attractions of upper and lower Quebec City are within easy walking distance. Extensive cable TV stations were available. For $65/night, this B&B is a bargain in a rather expensive city.

Mr. Bertrand arrange a taxi to pick me up at 4:15 in the morning to get to the airport ($35 one way).

Room Tip: Book early as the B&B was full during my four nights in Quebec City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrockDaBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

I stayed for 6 nights and have only good things to say about this wonderful B&B. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the owner was delightful and helpful. Because I stayed for more than 4 nights he provided free parking, which was very useful. The breakfasts were hearty, so I saved money on lunch! The atmosphere was very relaxed, and the owner invited me to use his kitchen and porch. I had plenty of privacy and was given my own key so that I could come and go as I pleased. An excellent value, and I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Staying in this Bed and Breakfast is comfortable and affordable. It has a homely atmosphere as we were greeted by the friendly owner, a truely proud Québecois. Beside French he speaks fluent English so communication was no problem. Explaining us the main attractions of Québec City and just 15 minutes walk from the historic city center. The room was spacious and comfortable. Our room was on the streetside, which is quite busy with traffic. Luckily at night there's less traffic, but it's preferable to have a room on the other side.
Biggest plus is the abundant and tasty breakfast in the morning. This really makes it a good start of the day.

Room Tip: Go for a room that is not on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ptkho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Couette et Cafe 253
#6 of 119 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
L'Autre Jardin
#46 of 119 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast
#44 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Manoir des Remparts
#33 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin
#40 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Gite Au Croissant de Lune
#7 of 119 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couette et Cafe a la Quebecoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couette et Cafe a la Quebecoise

Property: Couette et Cafe a la Quebecoise
Address: 305 Rue Dorchester, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 5Z9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Couette et Cafe a la Quebecoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couette Et Cafe a La Quebecoise Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing