We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hidden charges”

Le Train du Massif de Charlevoix
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Travelling between mountains and seashore, along 140 km of breathtaking riverside scenery between Québec City and La Malbaie, the Train of Le Massif de Charlevoix conveys passengers on a singular rail cruise experience focused on Charlevoix gastronomy, and the region’s countless hidden treasures.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“hidden charges”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Don't take this train!!!! too expensive and also hidden costs. They promised that they would have a shuttle to our hotel, never told us that there was a charge for it and try to charge us $5.00 a person. Also, the tickets were quoted as costing $275.00 a person and it came to $645.00 for two people. They nickle and dime you and will ruin your day. We were left in the dark, waiting for a cab. Rent a car and buy your own dinner. You can do the sightseeing on your own.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank bobkarpNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    9
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Train ride!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

The Day Tripper is a delightfully pricey train ride with great scenery, pleasant staff, good food. Getting to and from the station at Parc Montmorency by taxi certainly adds to the cost and there is no certainty that the taxi you had ordered will be there for others jump queue. It would be helpful if the company considered a shuttle service from a centre ville location for we were not the only couple wondering if and when a taxi would arrive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A relaxing day trip with delicious food”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

The food is delicious, the train very spacious and comfortable, the staff are friendly and obliging. Baie St Paul is a quaint little town to look around, wonderful Art Gallery, just off the Main Street.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank susieq298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massif_Charlevoix, Manager at Le Train du Massif de Charlevoix, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your comment. We are pleased everything was to your satisfaction and hope to welcome you aboard again soon!

Nancy Belley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent trip”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We took the train to Baie Saint Paul, then on to La Malbaie, stayed the night at the Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu and took the train back to Quebec City the next day.
Had a lovely breakfast on the way up and a tapas snack on the way back.
You can do the trip in one day up and back but I thought it would be rushed, we enjoyed the 2 days.
All of the train staff were wonderful, those that worked at the station as well as those on the train.
If you require a taxi at the end of the trip from the station be sure to have the staff call for one, it is not a regular train station with constant taxis

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Le Massif getting really classy”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

About 15 years ago, my wife and I, who have skied every decent-sized resort in North America, learned of the sport's best kept secret. Until that year Le Massif de Charlevoix had to bus skiers to the top, but they had now built a couple of high-speed quads, and one of the finest base lodges on the Continent - certainly, it offered the best food in ski land. Sitting right on the shore of the St Lawrence, it offers breathtaking panoramic views at every turn. One could be sure of a win by betting anyone around the country that they couldn't name the highest vertical rise ski resort in Eastern Canada. We rated it as an also-ran resort which shouldn't be missed.
This year we just couldn't resist the pairing of skiing, staying, and taking the spectacular train cut into the St Lawrence shoreline, and which delivers skiers right to the base of the new top to bottom 8-passenger gondola. After two days of the most enjoyable skiing we seniors can remember, we enthusiastically join the professional raters who have raised Le Massif to the number one ski resort in Eastern North America, and second only to Killimgton in vertical. We never thought any resort could approach Mount Mansfield at Stowe, but visit Le Massif and judge for yourself. We loved the many scenic top to bottom intermediate runs, leaving the recently - developed far western side to the more advanced skiers looking for gladed steep and deep.
Le Massif offered something new this year which surprisingly, they didn't seem to promote much, but which caught my eye and sense of nostalgia, although I failed ro realize what I was getting in for. My wife, whose senior body is less forgiving of abuse than mine, wisely stayed by the fire.
It seems, they conceived and built a 7 1/2 km Luge run skirting the eastern side of the property while dropping about 3000 feet. You can ride it luge-style, but in a sitting position, or take an old fashioned kid's sleigh on which you ride on your belly, steer by rhe front cross-bar, and try to raise your head enough to see upcoming turns and wonder how you are going to slow down enough to negotiate it. I had a real blast till I switched to the luge and kept getting dumped into snow banks.
I should make clear that if you ride out on the train with its gorgeous views and free breakfast, by the time you arrive, ride the gondola to the Summit Lodge, get tickets, rentals and clothed, you're looking at 11am at a resort where in midwinter, the sun is off the hill by early afternoon. I guess that is why, on the recommended package, your first day is mostly spent exploring the charming village of Baie St Paul. Free transfers from town take a half hour and aren't always available just when you want to go.
I haven't made reference to accommodation. There are several excellent B&B-style places in Baie St Paul, and there is a helpful visitors' centre as you drive into town about an hour after leaving Quebec City. By the way, the train leaves from Montmorency Falls just east of town on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays only (in winter).
There are also some very rewarding eating establishments in Baie St Paul, but the train-stay-ski package they put together includes a night at Hotel La Ferme, and the train brings you right to the door. I don't feel adequately qualified to describe rooms and amenities except that it has received awards from all over the world and been mostly praised and sometimes ridiculed by self-styled experts. The whole operation was founded by the founder of Cirque du Soleil, and the rooms appear to have been designed by some of their weirder trapeze artists. You just have to see them. But since they don't expect you to stay long, don't look for drawers and closets. And that was the reason the founding manager gave me.
Room rates are pretty modestly priced, but most are in different buildings from the main one. The dining Room, kind of Japanese style, is also acclaimed for its food quality, but they have some weird habits. We wanted a bottle of wine with dinner, but the prices were so outlandish that we settled for a glass each at a reasonable price. When we asked if we could buy a bottle of the wine being poured, we were informed that it was The House Wine, and therefore not available for sale. I love the French!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank punch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Train du Massif de Charlevoix also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing