We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room and friendly staff”
Review of Hippocampe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hippocampe Hotel
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The junior suite is very well furnished with a soft bed, lots of storage, beautiful art & design, large functional kitchen, modern furniture and TV, and a smallish bathroom. It was a joy to return here after a day's full of touring, walking and site seeing the old city, to this hip room.

The breakfast is basic bagel and coffee but with the full ensuite kitchen you could do more for yourself, if you wanted. The building is solid and there's no indication that just below is the sauna, available to guests at no extra cost.

The staff of the Hippocampe can only be described as fantastic. In all my travels I've yet to see laundry done for free! But yet it was. The recommendations by the staff of what to see and do in town were spot on. On leaving for the airport I realized that I had left some keys in the room. With one phone call, the front desk staff quickly took charge of the situation, located the keys and arranged that they be mailed to me back home a few days later. Thanks!!

You will truly feel welcomed and cared for in this unique men's hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Hippocampe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Warm welcome & assisted with baggage to room. Not sure we got the junior suite we paid for, but was a good sized room with sofa / leisure area.
Nice and clean, good air con along with ceiling fans. Reasonable selection of toiletries. Comfy bed & despite being above a gay sauna, was relatively quiet.
Great location in the old town area. Friendly staff.
Continental breakfast provided, but a little repetitive. Basicaly juice & Bagels. You make your own coffe via the machine, however, you are only given one coffee pod per person per day- which seems a little mean.
We didn't make use of the sauna facilities, but they were available 24/7 free to guests.
If in Quebec, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Narrabeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The service at this hotel is excellent, from arrival to departure. Street parking is extremely limited, so they parked my car for me. Carried my bags to my room (and again upon leaving). Very helpful front desk.

Location couldn't be better, in Vieux-Quebec. The hotel is across the street from Artillery Park, and a short stroll to St Jean and Place D'Youville.

The room itself was pleasant, tastefully decorated, although I didn't have a view. The hotel section was very quiet at all times.

Access to the spa/sauna included, with a private entrance from the hotel.

There's a small breakfast room with coffee, juice and bagels available, along with pleasant conversation with other guests.

My room shared a bath with others, and there were no access issues during my stay.

The price is a bit steep, but the excellent location makes it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GWMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

overall excellent. the place is very quiet and within walking distance (10~15 minutes) of many, many major sights and restaurants. my room actually had a bit of view of the old city, which was nice. as others have said, it's not really cruise-y if you don't want it to be. but it has everything if you are into that kinda thing. decor in the room is quite cozy. service is good; i asked the front desk person, danny, a whole bunch of questions and then some and he was more than detailed and friendly. he even volunteered a lot of unsolicited info about the city.

(and it's just a 15 minute walk away from the bus/train terminal, making hopping to/from montreal a breeze.)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kawai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I was there during the Labor Day week-end, in fact I spent only one night in Québec City having gone on a whim on Sunday morning.
Rooms were all booked in the inn part but there was many roomettes available in the bathouse section.
For a gay person just wanting to spend a night on the cheap side this is more than ok i... You bring earplugs! Cost me around $25 for 12 hours and I had in and out priviledges.
Of course access to the steam room, dry sauna and whirlpool. Even if you are not on a cruising expedition and not looking for company that can be an interesting place to just relax, particularly your sore feet once you have walked all the ups and down in the Old City.

Room Tip: There are some double roomettes if you are a couple and cannot go to the inn.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hippocampe's main advantage is the location, which is a 10 minutes walk up from the bus & train station in Quebec City, and it's in the old town area just the back of Rue St Jean. The room is of decent size, nicely designed, with comfortable bed & pillows. This is not a B&B inn, so no breakfast is given. But two disposable coffee cubes are placed in the room, plus two bottles of water. On my second day, the housekeeper did not replace any of these items. There is no phone line, no reception in this hotel, but I got hold of the housekeeper who was doing another room. He promptly gave me 2 coffee cubes, but not the water. BTW, this is not a cheap hotel to begin with, so I expected more reliable service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I can't say enough positives about this hotel! Firstly, the location doesn't get any better-not only is it in old town, so close to all the sights and great restaurants, it is adjacent to a historic park on a quiet street. That alone made the room rate good value. Add to that a clean and well appointed room & common area - tastefully decorated with all amenities. On top of the location and room, was the great hospitality provided by Richard and his staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VCR-Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
2,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippocampe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippocampe Hotel

Address: 31 Rue McMahon, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Quebec City
Price Range: £69 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hippocampe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hippocampe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippocampe Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing