We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot for family Christmas vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gite Au Croissant de Lune

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gite Au Croissant de Lune
Ranked #5 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spot for family Christmas vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We spent 3 nights around Christmas at this lovely little B&B tucked away on a side street. Well appointed cozy rooms, a tea and cocoa station, fridge for guest use, and the library/breakfast room for reading (or bringing in lunch/dinner) made for a very livable stay. The B&B is very convienent to Old Town, Grand Allee, and the shopping/eating on Rue Saint Jean.

Despite proximity all the rooms are pretty quiet (except occasional municipal trash or snow removal).

Shared bath, so you might want to bring a bathrobe (although the bathroom is plenty big for changing); the extra half-bath prevents issues with crowding in the morning and evening (even with all 3 rooms filled).

Rene and Louise are lovely hosts; very helpful and welcoming. Good (always changing) breakfast options that are filling but no so over-the-top that you don't have room to eat your way around Quebec! :)

Room Tip: Suite has low ceiling and steep stairs, but is a fun little getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    41
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
112
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 3 most lovely nights with Louise and Rene. They are so gracious and friendly. The location of the B&B could simply not have been better for us. Minutes walk to so many fun places. And very quiet. Louise is a master of breakfast. What a treat. Yes, we have a choice for breakfast and it is not easy. Everything "on the menu" is delicious!!! And substantial enough to be called lunch as well:) Rene, a former tour guide, can help you with anything you want to know about this famous city. And if Rene is not there, Louise is a great back-up. As in most B&Bs, Louise and Rene have their own unique decore and collections that make for great conversation. Beautiful sea glass, an amazing library, memorabalia of a time in China, beautiful furniture and many lovely antiques. I am looking forward to my next time with Louise and Rene.

Room Tip: If you are not the best on stairs, perhaps not the bed "upstairs" in the green room. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

This B&B has THE best breakfasts and the location could not be better. It is not on a main street so the immediate area is residential and very quiet. It is close to Rue St Jean, and only 5 min. walk away is Rue Grand Allee. I chose this B&B specifically for its proximity to the Convention Centre. I recommend a taxi from the train station to this place, because it's quite a distance and hilly.
Nearby on St Jean are restaurants that serve Moroccan, Japanese, and pub food. They are open fairly late on most days, until 11 p.m. or later.
The owners of Au Croissant are extremely kind! They are bilingual. The washrooms are shared, but are extremely clean. The rooms have huge comfortable beds and are quiet as long as your neighbours are quiet (mine were). I hope to return again; the value for this accomodation was fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess_twenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

I spent three nights here in September and would highly recommend this B&B. The room was lovely and very quiet. I choose a room with a shared bath, but never had a problem with having to wait. The breakfasts were delicious and for the price of the room this was a great value.

The B&B was located one block from Rue St. Jean, where there are plenty of restaurants and shops. It was about a 15 minute walk to the heart of the Upper Town and the Chateau Frontenac, and I enjoyed staying in a part of Quebec City slightly away from all of the tourists. This was a great find and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dctraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We spent three nights here in July and would recommend the B&B to anyone considering staying in Quebec. It is located just off Rue St Jean which is the main street that runs right into the heart of the old town. This is a very trendy area, with cool bars, cafes and shops. The B&B has four rooms - we stayed on the top floor in a room with two levels. There is a single bed when you come in the door and then a double bed when you go upstairs. The decor is great - real character! The bathroom is shared, but with only for rooms using it, you never really have to wait. The hosts are very nice and Louise takes you through the main attractions, and layout of the town when you arrive. Breakfast is absolutely gorgeous, with two options each morning. You find a post-it with the options on your door during the day, mark which you want and leave it on the kitchen door. The dining room is packed with books, and I mean wall-to-wall. You could (and we did) spend hours examining the titles and topics!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fidge9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I had a hard time finding a place that was not exorbitantly expensive and this one fit the bill. It was sort of last minute and the only room that was available was probably the the one with the highest rate. The room actually was located on two levels and it had two separate sleeping areas. It was located in the attic but it didn't matter to me and the decor was pretty. The bathroom was shared and located one flight below. Fortunately, I never had to wait to use it. The owners were so pleasant and helpful but non intrusive. I loved the breakfasts in the morning and something hot was offered eat day. The neighborhood is located in a great neighborhood called Faubourg St Jean Baptiste and its amazing with all kinds of shops, cafes, restaurants and markets. It has a bohemian feel to it to be sure. Its not far at all from the walled city. I would return here with no qualms at all as I had a very nice stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank otroviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have spent couple of days in Quebec City recently with my son. This B&B is really great, close to all attractions, the hosts are fantastic, very helpful and kind, we had marvelous breakfasts every day. I honestly recommend to anybody, who would like to spend some time in the city. Do not make the mistake to stay only for 2 nights, the city and the surroundings need at least 3 full days.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ijjuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,910 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite Au Croissant de Lune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite Au Croissant de Lune

Property: Gite Au Croissant de Lune
Address: 594 rue St-Gabriel, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gite Au Croissant de Lune 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1996 in a quaint quarter of Quebec City. Nearby the St-Jean Street, lively thoroughfare of Old Quebec and located just beside the Convention Center. A bed & breakfast that makes the difference for your tourism and business travels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gite Au Croissant de Lune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gite Au Croissant De Lune Hotel Quebec City
Gite Au Croissant De Lune Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing