We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison du Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison du Fort
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Red Lake, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I spent three days at Maison du Fort in August 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location was perfect, the room very comfortable, and the price affordable for that time of year.

Marielle, our host, was very personable and gave us excellent advice on things to do in the city. We would definitely recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    72
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
427
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed two nights in a typical Old Quebec centennial home converted into a charming small hotel. The owner, Marielle made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. She has lots of information booklets and maps at her reception desk. She answered all of our ''tourist'' questions and provided additional info on ''must see'' attractions for the period of our visit. This hotel has free Wi-Fi. It is situated in the heart of Old Quebec near the St-Lawrence river, the Chateau Frontenac, Citadelle, shopping/restaurants area and much more. We parked the car and walked everywhere within Old Quebec. Breakfast was ''continental'' and fine with us.
We enjoyed our stay at Maison du Fort made special by the friendliness of Marielle.
Merci!

Room Tip: If you are ''big and tall'' I would suggest you choose a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 155004Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A big thanks to Marielle,her help and advice made sure we had a memorable trip to Quebec City.
From a free Circ de Soleil performance to fireworks over the city.
Just a great place to stay and so convenient.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, a little small no tv but hey you are here to see Quebec!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwhich, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a spotless, well maintained, and perfectly located B & B, this is it! I am picky when it comes to clean rooms and bathrooms and this place exceeded my expectations. Lovely decor with Waverly fabrics, travertine tiled bathroom floors and hardwoods everywhere else. Coffee, juice and muffins are available in the morning, but save your appetite and enjoy some crepes at a cafe and watch the world go by. About a 3 minute walk to the Continental Restaurant (one of Old Quebecs top rated, since 1956), walk to shops, cafes, tourist info center where the Foodie tasting tour was a hit, 1 minute walk to the boardwalk over-looking the St. Lawrence for Saturday evening fireworks. A/C is quiet, and the comforter/duvet is cloud like! We will be back again next August! As for other reviews, do you really need a phone in your room? I thought everyone used their own cell phone and the wi-fi here worked great for posting pictures. Perfect place, thanks Marielle!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeCod_Rhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPisa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Maison du Fort at the end of July 2013. The Hotel is in an excellent position, in the old town, in a very quiet area. We stayed in room 6, on the first floor, which I think is the biggest room available. All the other rooms we saw were minuscule.
Our room was beautifully furnished and very attractive. In spite of these positive aspects, it must be pointed out that there is no fridge, no telephone (because there is basically no reception) , no kettle/coffee machine. The bathroom was small an "cosy". There is no lift so be prepared to carry your luggage up two flights of stairs by yourself (there is nobody to help you).
In conclusion, a very nice, beautifully decorated "home" without the commodities one would expect from the price and Tripadvisor's n.1 rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank massimoIPisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Marielle, the proprietor, is just wonderful. From her initial greeting, to her informative recommendations and just her bubbly personality I felt like we were almost visiting one of my own aunties. Located inside the walled city just minutes from the Frontenac, the Citadel and the heart of Old Quebec we loved being able to just get up and go on foot everywhere. Couldn't believe how quiet it was at night sleeping. Resident cat was friendly and a bonus to us. We'd come back for sure. Agree with others to book early - we got to stay in two rooms for our visit.

Room Tip: First Room was very good but we had to switch for the last two nights and Room 4 was very tight. St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arjay535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I loved my stay at Maison du Fort! It's a great value for the money, and for a two-star hotel, the rooms are spacious, very clean, and the location can't be beat. On a quiet street within the walls of the upper town, close to everything. Parking is at a premium in Quebec City, but the hotel has an arrangement with a garage nearby for 20 bucks a day -- reasonable for the area. Breakfast is a serve-yourself continental breakfast -- hence the low star rating -- but if a large full breakfast isn't important to you, this is your place. The place is really charming, and Marielle, the proprietor, is patient, friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. She has a wonderful old cat who wanders the first floor, so if you're allergic this is not your place. Room 5 has a big bay window, good ventilation and all rooms have AC.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucsontravelertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Property: Maison du Fort
Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Chateau Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillarge, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Maison du Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing