We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hotel In Old Quebec” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison du Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison du Fort
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel In Old Quebec”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just returned from a visit to Old Quebec. We took our relatives from England to visit. The Hotel Maison du Fort is an outstanding small hotel. Just 9 rooms. The rooms were wonderful! The are exactly as you seem them on the hotel website. A very unusual thing in my experience. The accommodation is beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, morning coffee is excellent, along with the great treats provided. We stayed in rooms 5 and 6 on the second floor. Both excellent. Great shower, TV, Radio, etc., Lovely soaps and shower toiletries. Every thing was just wonderful!

Location of the hotel is perfect. Right in the heart of Old Quebec. You can walk everywhere. Lots of convenient restaurants, shopping, close to the harbour and walking distance to the farmer's market. Lots of museums, galleries and very close to the main tourist information centre for booking day trips, etc.

Marielle, the proprietress is very helpful, friendly and accommodating. She was a pleasure to deal with. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. This hotel is an original structure and is therefore a walk up to rooms so, if you have mobility issues it may not be the place for you, however, we all found it a fabulous place to stay and would gladly recommend it to all. I will definitely book this hotel again when I next visit Quebec.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was large, sunny and very comfortable. It is a corner room facing the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank LLJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    72
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
427
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The proprietor, the B&B itself and the location couldn't have been more perfect! Saint Genevieve street is just minutes from the Chateau Frontenac, from the Citadelle and from the St. Lawrence River overlook, and is in a lovely neighborhood of old (1800's) buildings. Room was comfy and plush, and Marielle (owner) was welcoming and very helpful. Love this place and the kitty-inspired touches! Heidi K.

Room Tip: Book very early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent Columbus Day weekend in Quebec. We absolutely loved this hotel/B &B hybrid! Marielle was such a gracious host. She was so helpful and gave great suggestions! She's also a wonderful baker- every morning we woke up wondering what delicious baked goods she would put out.

We stayed in room 1 which was on the first floor. The room was a perfect size, with beautiful bay windows and an updated bathroom.

I'm so glad we chose the Hotel Maison du Fort! It thoroughly enhanced our Quebec experience and complimented the city's beauty and charm. We hope to come back soon and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I found this B&B on the internet and thought the #2 rating in all of Quebec City was a good sign and it was!! We just came back from a long weekend away and we found our new favorite place to stay in Old Quebec. We stayed in room 11 as there were 4 of us...2 adults, 2 kids.. (there was one other room that could accomodate 4 people but it was booked) and it was up on the top floor. So if you have problems walking, don't book this room as there were about 3 flights of stairs to climb but for us it was perfectly fine. Room 11 is on a floor all by itself so it's very private and very quiet, we didn't hear the rooms on the other floors being cleaned in the morning. It's like an apartment with 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, a sink in one of the bedrooms and a kitchen.
Marielle is the owner and such a warm, inviting and knowledgeable person! We will stay here again largely because of her!
Breakfasts consisted of tea, juice, coffee, hot chocolate, pastries, muffins, etc. We enjoyed the breakfasts and it was just enough for us so that we didn't have to eat all 3 meals at restaurants.
The location of the B&B was perfect too. You are steps away from the Chateau Frontenac, a nice park and all the shops and restaurants were within a short walk.
We will be back and I highly recommend Maison du Fort!! We miss it already!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnfamily29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at Maison du Fort for two nights, one night in room 8, and second night in room 10. First of all, Marielle was the most welcoming host! Maison du Fort is very charming and located very conveniently. Room 8 was adorable, extremely tiny (exactly as shown on the website pictures).Please note that the bathroom door is a jalousie type, therefore are not solid. Word of caution: shower in that specific room does not have thermostatic mixing valves, therefore water temperature may change rapidly. It did not spoil it for us, but may be a big deal for someone. Room 10 was amazing! When we opened all the windows, all we could hear is the horse carriages passing by every a few minutes. We felt like we were in 19th century... Absolutely gorgeous room! Highly recommend!!! The only thing to keep in mind is that when any guests check out in the morning (e.g 8AM), those rooms get cleaned up right away. As true owls, we like to sleep until 9-10AM on vacation, to that was a bit of a frown for us. But if you prefer to wake up nice and early and explore this wonderful city, this would not be a problem. Regardless, the place was very charming, room 10 is definitely a gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yferrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

First time in Quebec and found this wonderful place through Trip Advisor. My girlfriend and I were not dissapointed. Great location, quaint hotel, warm and friendly host and staff. Would definetely stay there again. Stayed in room 9. Very firm mattress, if that is not for you, ask for another room, but don't miss out on this fine establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louie2339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My sister and I enjoyed a wonderful week long holiday here in mid September. We booked second floor room #6, a lovely spacious room with two comfortable beds and reclining easy chairs. It was ideal for two sisters sharing. We were delighted with the charming decoration and restoration in this historic building. This was the first visit to Old Quebec City for both of us, and Marielle's warm greeting on our late evening arrival set the tone for the whole visit. I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful Marielle is, with suggestions of what to see, advising about tours and finally a very early morning taxi for us when we departed after our week long stay. As well, Marielle's brother and the cleaning staff were all so welcoming. This hotel is ideally situated, within easy walking distance to all the sights and with many excellent restaurants nearby. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again if I return to Quebec City.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Property: Maison du Fort
Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Chateau Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillarge, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maison du Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing