We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison du Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison du Fort
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My partner and I were staying for a few days. Really great location within Old City - walking distance to the boardwalk, downtown shopping, the funicular that takes you down to the ferry and Quartier Petit Champlain. The room was kept clean and quaint - though the smaller rooms are probably meant for just 1 person we managed for 2. Marielle was very friendly and inviting - she even arranged for our taxi to pick us up early the morning we were leaving. It was a pleasure to stay at her hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alasdair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    72
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
427
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our family spent a week at Maison du Fort in late June. Our two rooms were large, comfortable and surprisingly quiet for being in the city. Marielle provided excellent service and extras to make our stay very pleasant. The hotel is located one block from the Citadel, two blocks from the Terrasse Dufferin, near many good restaurants on rue Saint Louis, and has easy access to the lower city. I highly recommend the Maison du Fort to anyone considering staying in old Quebec city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jd1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here for three nights in July and the room was clean and comfortable. We were able to control the AC unit and it worked well. The bathroom was small with little room to shave or to place toiletries. The water was nice and hot. It was a convenient location because it was quiet being away from pedestrian and vehicle traffic, yet it was a short walk to downtown. If you travel by car, you must park your car in one of the underground garages at the cost of $22 a day. The host is friendly and helpful. The breakfast consisted of various baked goods such as banana bread, berry muffins, and cookies with coffee, orange juice, and tea. They were tasty but it would have been nice to have fresh cut fruit and yogurt added. There also was nothing left out during the afternoon such as water bottles, beverages, hot water for tea and baked goods which is typical in most of the other bed and breakfasts we have stayed in. I feel that is a nice touch when one comes back after site seeing especially because our room did not have an ice bucket or small refrigerator. Overall, it was a good stay but there may be better values out there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Maison du Fort during our early July visit in Quebec City. We found the place quiet, convenient, comfortable, and very neat and clean. Marielle was friendly and helpful with suggestions of places to visit, places to eat, and things to do. The inn is within walking distance to anywhere within the city, especially close to the seaway and the Plains of Abraham. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikehky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent 5 nights at Maison du Fort. We loved this extremely clean, quiet and comfortable hotel located right behind the Frontenac. Marielle is an excellent, cheerful, knowledgeable innkeeper and goes way out of her way to be hospitable. She recommended excellent dining places and hosted a lovely breakfast of muffins, cookies and coffee, tea and hot chocolate each morning. We would bring a tray to our room and leisurely begin our day! We highly recommend this hotel for an enjoyable stay in old Quebec City.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment on the top floor for 4 nights and it was lovely and convenient. We chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Marielle was delightful. She was quite accommodating. We stayed in room 9. Our wifi reception was excellent. Nights were very quiet. Air conditioned and very clean room. Close to "so much." We felt totally safe during our entire stay.

"Do not miss visiting the Parliament. Our favorite location."

Room Tip: Pay attention to what is posted regarding features of the rooms--they are quite accurate. There is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Berea--1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a reservation elsewhere in a place that was unacceptable. The Tourism office referred us to Maison du Fort and we could not have been more pleased. Our room was on the first floor right by the street and we enjoyed the soft sound of horse hoofs on the cobbled street as we enjoyed our morning juice, bread, and coffee. The decorating of our room was antiques, the bed linens soft, and the bathroom was modern and elegant. Even though it just two blocks from the Dufferin Terrace and Chateau Frontenac the street is quiet and peaceful. Marielle was our Angel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the convenience of the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Property: Maison du Fort
Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Chateau Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillarge, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maison du Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing