We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison du Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison du Fort
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Wonderful!! clean, homey lodging in a great location- just a few hundred yards to the Frontenac and the funicular to the original lower town. The morning's pastry and coffee was just right and hit the spot. Additionally, the weather got into the high 80's and our air conditioned room was a welcome respite after walking around town. The innkeeper is a delightful, caring women.
Will definitely stay there again next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    72
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
430
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I visited Quebec from California for a romantic few days together in July. Maison du Fort was the perfect place to stay. It is in an ideal location in the old city so you can walk everywhere most tourists wish to visit. Our room was delightful (#10) although it is on the third-floor of a walk-up so folks with mobility issues would be advised to take a room on the first or maybe second floor. It was quiet and clean and the light and the view through the shuttered windows was terrific. Breakfast was pastries and coffee and it was very good. And Marielle, the owner, is a wonderful hostess and made us comfortable in all ways and helped plan our itinerary as well. We hope to revisit beautiful Quebec one day and if we do we will most definitely stay at Maison du Fort again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Spent 4 nights here. The room was delightful even though it was on the third floor and there is no elevator. The owner is a very available and knowledgeable woman. She gave us a map when we arrived with lots of suggestions for seeing old Quebec. The breakfast included coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juice and different breads and cookies. Very satisfying way to start the day. And Marielle was always available to make more coffee when needed. I was also impressed with the housekeeping. Our room was made up quickly with new towels daily even when we didn't request them. AND the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! The city is very walkable and the location of Maison du Fort was perfect.

Room Tip: Just be aware of he need to climb stairs to get to rooms. Marielle tells you about the rooms when m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Maison due Fort is in the heart of old Quebec, but the street itself is not as crowded as many of the streets. As a single mother traveling with a son, we felt very welcomed. The room was tastefully decorated and the proprietor was extremely helpful. Just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked 4 nights in room #5 at Maison du Fort based in large part on the influence of other TripAdvisor reviews. Very pleased to agree with all the positive comments. Lovely room near the Citadel and in easy walking distance of the rest of Old Quebec. Close to the action but far enough away to feel completely peaceful. A mini refrigerator/microwave combo in the room would have made it absolutely perfect for us. You will hear any noise in the hallways and stairwell, but the Hotel overall is so quiet that this is unlikely to be a problem. Many thanks to Marielle and our sincere appreciation for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Charming B&B in an excellent location for visiting the old city.
From it you can easily walk to almost all the main sites.
The rooms, though on the small side, were spotless and decorated attractively. The breakfast offering of muffins/pastries, juice, coffee and tea was quite good and presented in a most appealing manner.
Parking was easy in a lot not far from the B&B.
The only caveat is the inability to reach a concierge after 10 p.m. or so should there be any problems. We encountered a lost key situation which we could not resolve. My friend acknowledges, in her upset, she forgot which door she was to knock upon, but there was no emergency number to call.
Marielle was gracious and helped with restaurant suggestions and routes, but, still, a number to call in an emergency would be a good idea. Our friend had to sleep on the floor of our room!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liblady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

It was our first visit to Quebec City and Maison du fort was an ideal place to stay. Upon arrival the host greeted us at the door and got us all checked in. The hotel has old world charm and the rooms are quaint and very clean. Each morning she offered coffee, juice and fresh baked goods in the parlour room. She was able to answer all our questions and had good suggestions for local events during our stay. The hotel is located within the walls of Old Quebec slightly off of Terrace Dufferin. We were able to walk to all areas of interest with in the city, from the Plains of
Abraham to Lower Town. We appreciated that it is located a block or two off
the busy main streets in a quiet area away from the
summer crowds. Though during winter festival we were informed it is in the heart of the festivities. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Property: Maison du Fort
Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Chateau Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillarge, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Maison du Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing