We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, wonderful charm”
Review of Maison du Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maison du Fort
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2009

My husband and I stayed here over the long weekend (we are from Ontario) along with married friends of ours from Maine. We were warmly welcomed upon arrival and promptly given a map of the city along with entertainment suggestions for the weekend. Very close to the downtown core, with the Chateau Frontenac a mere two blocks around the corner. Down-to-earth owner lives at the location but in a separate attachment to the hotel along with her friendly cats. Fresh baked goods every morning with coffee and tea. Every room has a funny little cat decor to it but contributes to the atmosphere. No air conditioner unfortunately but fairly airy - temperature goes down to cool the summer evenings in Quebec City. Parking is approximately two blocks away and rooms don't have mini bar fridges, however if you bring a small cooler, ice can be purchased at a convenience store about three blocks away. Can't beat the location for the price and the lovely owner, who speaks both French and English, makes this feel more like a quaint B&B than an impersonal large hotel. I would definitely go back and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ONTBasedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2009

Maison du Fort is perfectly situated for a visit to Quebec's Old Town. In a charming 19th century row house, it's within walking distance of everything. The rooms are lovely, immaculate and most comfortable. Marielle, the owner, is eager to help with expert advice on things to see, places to eat, etc. And the resident cats are simply delightful, balls of fur who bask in the attention of guests. One small caveat: Perhaps because of the thick walls in the building, the WiFi signal may not be strong in a few rooms, but it's perfect in a small parlor downstairs, and that's a very minor inconvenience, since no one visits Quebec to hunch over a laptop all day and evening! We would recommend the Maison to everyone except those for whom stairs are a non-starter. (Then again, one can hardly visit the Old Town without having to navigate stairs, hills, cobblestone pavements and high curbs.)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

This hotel was lovely and clean, with wonderful character and the owner, Marielle, was so nice and helpful. I missed the presence of a bedside table though and the freshly baked cakes each morning, although yummy, could be a little too much for those watching their diets! Would certainly recommend to friends to stay there. Great location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreamyTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Stayed in Room 1 in September 2009 just after Labour Day. Location is minutes from the heart of the old town, but the street is very quiet. It's the perfect starting point for the morning, and the perfect place to end the day.

The room was very clean and airy, no problems at all.

Mareille is very friendly, fluently biligual, and makes you feel welcome at once. She provided some great advice, and has two lovely cats.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaihanuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Loved this hotel which is ideally located just below the citadel and within sight of the St Lawrence and the Chateau Frontenac. The room (I think we had room 10) was an amazing size with windows on two sides, a very comfortable bed, two or three easy chairs and a large flat screen TV with the sports channels. The bathroom was lovely although there were not many surfaces for 'stuff', and the goodie basket contains a light sensitive night light so you don't need to turn the bathrrom light on during the night. Marielle was really friendly and accommodating, providing plenty of hints and tips about what to do and where to go. The only slight criticism is that the breakfast consists of cake-type things but we coped for the couple of days we were there. Loved the hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We spent 2 nights at Maison du Fort, Meriell was wonderful, the morning coffee & juice and tea and breads were great, the bed was comfortable and the location was perfect for exploring Old Quebec! We would stay here again and recommend this place to our family and friends!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beth4404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel Aug. 14-16 and can't say enough positive things about this warm, charming and immaculate hotel. Yes, I said immaculate...I have never seen such perfectly clean rooms (we stayed in #5 and #9) and decorated with such good taste and respect for the history of the building. Marielle, the host was so delightful and helpful...and her home made muffins and breads for breakfast were delicious!!! The location is perfect...close to everything yet on a quiet street. I definitely would like to return!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank getmetothesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
5,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £101 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Chateau Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillarge, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maison du Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing