We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Quebec”
Review of Maison du Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison du Fort
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2006

My husband and I just got married and wanted to do something different for our honeymoon. We decided to stay at the Maison Du Fort in Quebec. This little B&B is packed with old world charm. It is very quaint (two resident cats walking around) and nearby to many attractions. In addition, Marielle, the innkeeper, was a very helpful and gracious host. She was very friendly and went above and beyond for us. Although this hotel didn't have all the amenities of a larger hotel, the room was neat and clean and the location was excellent. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2006

My wife and I just returned from a four day vacation in Quebec City. One of the highlights of our trip was staying at the Maison du Fort Hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location in Vieux Quebec, just 2 blocks from the Chateau Frontenac. Our room (#10) on the 3rd floor was wonderful. It was very spacious, very clean and very comfortable boasting a four poster bed & reclining wing chairs. Madame Marielle Roy was a very welcoming hostess who made us feel as if we were long time friends. She is a delight! We would not hesitate to stay in her wonderful establishment again when we return to Quebec.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
75  Thank redlazr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2006

My husband and I just returned from Quebec and would highly recommend this guest house. After only being there a few hours, I went and sprained my ankle at a nearby restaurant! We only had 4 nights planned in Quebec. It was very distressing to be held up in a hotel room because I was unable to walk for two days, but at least it was a nice hotel room (Room #5). Marielle was so helpful, providing me with ice packs and hot tea all day. She tried her best to make us feel at home, ordering in dinner and giving us plates & cutlery. I'm very thankful to Marielle, as I don't think we would have got this kind of service at a large hotel chain.

Thankfully the location is great and I could hobble around the last couple days and see some of Old Quebec, without going too far. Keep in mind this is a guest house, with charm not a hotel with lots of amenities. If that is important to you, then this may not be the place for you. In our case, we look for cleaniness, location and character and the Hotel Maison du Fort has all this and more. We hope to go back to Quebec someday and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Traci V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
278
Reviewed 14 June 2006

As a regular hotel and guest house user, this guest houes must contain one of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in. Every aspect of the room and bathroom were spotless.
Marielle was a sincerely welcoming hostess who had the ability to make one feel that you were a personal friend staying in her home rather than just a paying guest.
Her nephew Charles was equally delightful and entered into a really informative discussion about Quebec life in the winter time, we are really considering coming back in the winter to sample it and will indeed ensure we are wearing all the necessary!

Merci beaucoup a vous deux

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
76  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2006

My wife and I spent five days in Quebec City in May 2006, staying at the Hotel Maison du Fort, located in "the old city" just a block from the Chateau and the pedestrian-friendly Dufferin Terrace.
Not only was the location superb- everything worth seeing and doing was within walking distance as were all of the town's great restaurants and bistros- but the hospitality extended to us by our host Marielle exceeded all expectations. Our room was spacious, well decorated and clean with wonderful views of the Citadelle and the "old city" skyline.
Marielle's helpful suggestions for sidetrips, scenic walks and restaurants were bang on.
i couldn't recommend a location more highly.

75  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Clinton, Ma
185
Reviewed 15 May 2006

If you are looking for big Screen TV’s hot tubs and swimming pools this is
not the place for you to stay. If you are looking for “Old World Charm”
exquisitely decorated, immaculately clean rooms then this is the place to
be. It is ideally located inside the walls of the old city, away from the
major traffic patterns but a very short walk to where you will want to
visit. The homemade “treats” and coffee are just perfect to tide you over
and get your day started. Walking into the smell of baking goodies just
adds to the charm. Look closely at the web page because what you see is
what you will get. The pictures show the rooms as they are but do not
reflect the charm of this beautiful hotel. Marielle is a fantastic hostess
and makes you feel as if you are visiting a member of your family rather
than just being another client at her hotel. She has been as accurate as a
person can be with her descriptions and photos and is not misleading at
all. It is hard to imagine that you are staying at a building that is hundreds of years old and I find it hard to understand how anyone could be disappointed if they take the time to look
at the web page. We will be returning as we have found our special place.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
85  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2006

The innkeeper is the highlight. She is quite friendly and eager to help. The inn was completely restored in the last few years. It is quite up-to-date with tastefully decorated rooms, absolutely everything working perfectly and very clean.

My wife and I just returned from spending four nights and the temperature was very cold while we were there. We spent a lot of time in our room and appreciated the standard size bathtub and comfortable firm mattress.

The location was very good if you are looking for an "inside-the-walls" vacation. Just a couple blocks to the busy tourist shops and restaurants, but on a quiet out-of-the-way street.

With so many historic places to choose from in the same neighborhood, I'm sure there are many inns just as nice (but this is our first visit).

The biggest negative to me was the lack of any common space to sit and enjoy morning coffee. The simple coffee, juice and a small selection of baked goods are best taken back to your room...unfortunately our room's sitting area was small and not comfortable.

Parking is a couple blocks away for a small fee...but who cares? Park your car and forget it.

Please understand this is not a "fancy" inn. It is very pretty, but simple. No robes, no comfortable chairs in the rooms, no jaccuzis, none of those "special treats." Just a friendly, spotless, attractive inn in an excellent location.

Next time, we will probably try a new place, but maybe not.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
66  Thank stevehT2745PF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £86 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Chateau Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillarge, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maison du Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing