We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to search for other hotel, this is where you have to go!”
Review of Maison du Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maison du Fort
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We arrived late in the evening, after a long flight to Montréal, and we have been driving to Québec-ville. We were quite tired, but once you arrive, Marielle makes you feeling like at home and you can really relax and enjoy staying there.
No stress, you feel like at home. So peaceful!

The hotel is located exactly in the city-centre. The room are decorated with special furniture and a lot of cats are represented everywhere in the house.
Marielle has 2 lovely cats, too.

I definitely suggest to book as soon as you can, do not hesitate 'cause the rooms are really nice and I'm sure everybody wants to go there!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank airman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
There are newer reviews for Maison du Fort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

There's no reason to search further if you're looking for a quiet location, lovely spotless room and the perfect hostess -- Maison du Fort encompasses all that and more. We recently returned from a four-night stay and can't wait to return. We stayed in Room 6 -- absolutely lovely decor, spacious layout and comfortable beds. Marielle, the proprietor, cannot do enough to make you feel like family -- we miss her (and her two charming, loveable cats!) already. But rest assured, we will be back. You should definitely book a stay there, too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank njgypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The Hotel is located exactly in the old city of Québec, which means once you park your car, you don't need it anymore. You can do everyting by walk. There is no better location.

The Hotel is a typical old house, totally restruturated. Very very nice. They only have 10 rooms but every room has a different style.

The owner, Marielle, is a nice and friendly person who really enjoys to talk to clients and to help them with any problems or provide useful information. You can really see, she likes doing her job!

We probably booked the most beautiful room, No. 10. It's a little bit expensiver than the others but it's really worth! The room is incredibly big. The style and the decorations are really impressing. Even the bathroom has a special style. You feel like in a movie.
The view from the windows is impressing and romantic: from one window you can even see the river.

There is not an official breakfast: but there is a room close to the reception where every morning you can get cakes, pastries, muffins, etc for free! Coffee, orange juice, tea and fresh milk are available for free, too! We stayed 3 nights there, and every morning there were different kind of cakes and pastries. You are free to eat there or to take the breakfast in your own room.
By the way: the coffee is really fine there. Such a lovely taste! As european, we like coffee that is not only "colored water", and we were surprised to find in the American continent that good coffee! It has the taste like the one you can get in the Italian houses, made with the italian coffee machine calles "Mocca".

So, if you are going to Québec-Ville... don't miss this real gem!


.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Swissjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I stayed here this year, and loved every minute. Central to everything, and the owner delightful and very helpful. The room was small, which I knew when I booked it as I discussed with the owner what was suited to my needs and finances before arriving, was spotless, charming and very adequate for a single traveller.
The location, right by the citadel and Dufferin, close to the Ferniculaire, meant I was able to stay out late at the loveliest places, with only a short walk back to my room. Two lovely cats made me feel welcome, and the whole atmosphere was welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellingcatatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We could not have been more pleased with our 3 night stay at Maison du Fort. Marielle greeted us curbside when we arrived, personally carrying our luggage into the hotel, then accompanying my husband to the parking garage several blocks away. The Old City is very walkable so we left our car in the parking garage the whole time we were there. We had room 10 on the third floor; it was beautifully decorated and spotless. We had a wonderful view of the Chateau Frontenac which was illuminated at night. Marielle was extremely helpful in giving us directions to local restaurants and sights to see. There were excellent restaurants within two blocks of the hotel. The location of Maison du Fort was perfect. We will certainly stay there again when we return to the city! Highly recommended! A hidden jewel!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

My wife, along with two of our friends, stayed in Room 11 of the Maison du Fort for the Labour Day weekend. From the moment that you step in to the hotel and are greeted by Mme Roy, you know that you are going to enjoy your stay here. She is an exceptionally friendly and helpful hostess whose charm and welcomng attitude reflects the city's. The hotel itself is a 150 year old former residence, which has been uniquely decorated in a cat theme. We stayed in Room 11, which is on the top floor and means that you have to climb lots of steps, which can be cumbersome if you have luggage to carry. The room itself is beautiful and exceptionally clean. We poked our heads in to other rooms as well when the cleaners were in there, and they looked as nice (Room 6 was absolutely stunning, while Room 4 appeared to be smaller than the others). There is a continental breakfast served downstairs each morning, with juice, coffe/tea, and pastries.
the location is perfect: our views from our window included the Citadelle on one side, and the Chateau Frontenac on the other. It is also a short walk to all of the major attractions in Old Quebec.
All in all, this hotel is just about perfect. i would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the Old City and experience true Quebecois hospitality. it is a great place with a great hostess.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful time at this hotel. Even as our car was pulling up in front, the owner/manager, Marielle, came rushing to greet us! You knew right away that she is someone who cares deeply about her hotel and her guests. She made us feel very welcome.

The hotel is in the heart of the atmospheric old city, just two blocks from the promenade that runs along the St. Lawrence Seaway, and three blocks from the Chateau Frontenac.

If you are seeking the European charm of the old city, this place is for you!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gsriniv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,627 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £119 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Chateau Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillarge, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maison du Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing