We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, organized, safe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, organized, safe”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here with my 10-year-old daughter on the Moose Travel Whaler Tour and was impressed with the efficiency and cleanliness of this hostel. The location is outstanding, and although Quebec City is loud, I don't think I'd trade the value of this hostel for a place with AC so I could close the windows.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNtravelrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Manager at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Good day to you,
Many thanks for time taken to write your comment. One of our mission here at our hostel is sustainability and that is why we do not have air conditionner, most of the summer we do not need it because our heritage establishment is preserving the cool Inside of our hostel. Hope to see you and your angel back at our hostel !

meanwhile, enjoy summer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    186
    41
    12
    4
See reviews for
33
60
167
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is probably the best hostel to stay at in Quebec City when it comes to location. The hostel is located just in the heart of the city, close to the railway station, and to all the tourists sights.

The rooms are quite simple, but very clean. I think they do a great job when it comes to taking care of cleanliness, the bathrooms were so clean that it's hard to believe it is the hostel and not a hotel with daily cleaning service. There is WiFi access for free, however it only works in common spaces and the connection drops rather often. Hostel has its own bar with, and also offers breakfast. Also you get access to well equipped kitchen. The bed was a bit uncomfortable and the 4-bedded-room was rather too small for all the luggage people had, but that is something that can be overlooked on a shorter stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful concerning all the practicalities; they also offer free activities for people to hang around together and see the city.

Would definitely recommend it to those traveling on budget, and those who like meeting new people. Great value for the money! Would definitely stay here again if I am ever back to Quebec.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nakemiiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Manager at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
We would like to thank you for your comment about our hostel, it is always important to have a feedback from our customer, it's the best way to improve. We are implanting the optical fiber in our hostel so that our internet will be better for our clients. We are have employe's that has the hostel at heart, probably one of many reason why the hostel is so clean and staff so helpful.

Hope to see you back at our hostel !
Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

In terms of location, you can't beat this hostel - it's right in the middle of Old Quebec, and as soon as you step outside you're right in the heart of it. The rooms are nothing special, but they're tidy, and the bathrooms are clean. The only downside was that the bed was a bit uncomfortable. Overall, it was a nice little hostel and very good for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Manager at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Good day to you, thank you for your interest shown towards our establishment, it is true we are well located in fact we had the best location for 2012 in one of the biggest website for hostels. We thank you for your comment and hope to see you again in our hostel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Like all big hostels, HI-Quebec has an institutionalised feeling to it - the key card that is needed for its public spaces like the bar and kitchen puts another meaning to security. Having said that, it's a great hostel with efficient helpful staff and it's neat and tidy I am a HI life member but this is my first and only stay at a HI Hostel in Canada and I must that it beats many other HI hostels I have been to in other countries. The 4- bedded room I was in was spacious so none of that crowded feeling one sometimes get when sharing with strangers. Being in the old city itself is also an added plus. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Manager at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Good day to you ! Thank you so much for that time taken to write about us, our staff enjoyed the reading of it. Auberge Internationale de Québec is putting everything in place to assure the best security. Very happy to read that you liked your stay and hope to see you back in our hostel.
have a great summer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

RIght in the heart of Old Quebec, this place is perfect for the sightseers. The hostel has cleaning staff roaming the floors everyday similar to hotels and they do a great job since both the rooms and bathrooms were so clean. I wouldn't even consider this a hostel. It's a hotel. Much like other HI-Hostels, they have scheduled activities for guests who want to meet new people such as pub-crawls, barbecues, and tours of the town. Breakfast is included if you book a 4-bed dorm and was simply bagels, toast, cereal, and muffins. Would definitely stay there again if I ever come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superguy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Manager at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
God day,
Thank you so much for your nice comment, we are very Lucky to have employe(e)'s that love that hostel like if it would be theirs, the advantage of a hostel towards a hotel in the encounter, you have the possibility to meet wonderful people from all around the world...

It will be our pleasure to meet you again in another stay
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Location, Location, Location, this hostel offers everything at your fingertips and the facilities and activities that they offer are great. Breakfast is very good and is included in the price of your dorm.
Staff are amazingly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooseEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Manager at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about our hostel, we are very proud of our establishment. For your information, breakfast is included in a private room not in dorms but we have special package deal with some groups like yours that comes here often, glad you likes your stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I've always avoided HI Hostels cause I was told that it's kind of hard to meet people if you're travelling alone. At least for the Quebec one, I must say it's not true.. The fact that the rooms are big and fits lots of people, allow you to make friends quite easily.
The hostel is located in the centre of the old town, which is awesome. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the washrooms are the best I've seen in hostels. Breakfast costs you 5 dollars, but it's full of options. The only thing I still think that needs to improve is the wi-fi, the connection is lost quite often.
Besides that, great place and price! =)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernandasjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Manager at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
i would like to thank you for your comment about our hostel. We are very unique as a HI hostel are usually but on the top of it we have a location that is more than great. For our Wi-Fi you will be happy to know that we are having fiber optic at our hostel in mid June for the pleasure of our clients, you will have to come back to experience it
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 102 in Quebec City
1,874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 102 in Quebec City
1,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
1,444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec

Property: HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Address: 19, rue Ste Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The staff at the Auberge internationale de Québec is always ready to welcome all travelers, alone or in groups. Come and enjoy an unforgettable experience in the beautiful Quebec City region. We are in a great location, nestled inside the walls in the center of the old city. You will be steps away from popular cultural, historical and tourist sites. Our hostel offers lots of services to make your trip simple and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Quebec, Auberge Internationale De Quebec Hotel Quebec City
HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale De Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing