We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

So far, I have stayed at HI-Québec twice, and already I think of it as "my home" in Québec City. I love everything about this place: The old building is usually nice and cool during summer and comfortably warm in winter. However, it can get quite hot in the smaller rooms during the day in summer, but who comes to Québec to spend their days in a room!?
WiFi is available for free, and the hostel offers a variety of activities: You can go "bar crawling" with people who know the city and show you all the best bars and restaurants, or visit local sightseeing spots, and most of those offers don't even cost anything.
You can't help but to meet other travelers, especially if you use the kitchen. It is equipped more or less sufficiently, however if many people cook at the same time, you might have to improvise, but for me, that was all a part of it.
The rooms are sufficiently sized and very clean, towels are included, as well as a very generous breakfast every morning from 07.00 to 10.00 am.
For parking, be sure to ask staff about the reduced fare they offer for the parking in Rue Dauphine.
Furthermore, the staff of the HI-Québec has enormous knowledge of the city and are very happy to offer assistance with any questions you may have. I really encourage every traveler to ask for recommendations, you will get great tips!

The only change I wish for is more and better kitchen equipment, but that is whining on a high level:).

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book a room with it's own bathroom. It really pays off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Gérant at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Good day to you !!
Thank you so much for your nice comment about our establishment. I will foward your good comments to our staff.

The hostel is planning to change and modify the traveller’s kitchen soon, money is the only issue, it is in our planning, hope to see you back at home to see that new kitchen in a near futur.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent location from train station and for exploring inside and outside the famous city walls. Although it is absolutely massive, it is well run, clean and provides a lovely breakfast - one of variety. No problem about getting showers if you arrive early n room isn't ready which was a major bonus after all the traveling ! Would def recommend. Book early to avoid disappointment !

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MMargaretH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Gérant at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Good day to you,

It is very nice of you, taking from your time to write about us, it is well appreciated!
Yes, we are well located and well recognize for our cleanness and great staff!

If ever you pass back in our city, check out our promotions on our website...
Till then, enjoy your travelling.


Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hostel has a perfect location, is very clean, is pretty and the staff was nice. The kitchen was perfect equipped and arriving and leaving were very easy. Good place to stay in Quebec City for less money!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Gérant at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Good day dear traveler,

Thank you for your sweet comment about our hostel. Effectively we have the perfect location, right in the heart of Old Quebec. We are unique and affordable.

Come back to see us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I got recommendation from my friends who have already been this hostel and end up staying here for 5 nights in the private twin room with the shared bath room! Except for no elevator, I was content with everything they offered. Good service, large extra spaced room, clean bath room and convenient location :) If you don't want to share a room or low budget to stay in hotel, this condition would be the best choice I believe!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sunny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Gérant at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Good day to you,
Thank you very much for your nice comment about our hostel. we are proud of our nice place, well located, wonderful et efficient staff, cleanliness of our establishment....

We are in constant improvement, come back to see us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a big hostel with all the usual HI features.
However the beds were small and squeaky and there are often large groups of children. I was on the second floor and the noise from the third floor sounded like they had made a game of jumping off the top bunks or had perhaps smuggled in a herd of pet elephants.

My main issue with this hostel is that I had to change rooms. Now I understand that sometimes this is necessary and my problem is not with having to change but with our very different ideas on how changing rooms should actually happen.

How I think changing rooms should happen:
1) go down to reception around checkout time and get the keycard for you new room.
2) move your stuff to the new room.
3) return key for old room to reception.

How this hostel thinks changing rooms should be done:
1) pack up all your stuff and carry it down stairs (there is no lift)
2) leave your stuff down there until check in time (not sure if you are expected to pay for a locker but I wouldn't put it past them).
3) go out until 2pm (did I mention I was sick at the time?)
4) collect new key and carry everything back upstairs again.
5) unpack everything again.

Now I did not end up doing this (I mentioned that I was sick) and they eventually let change rooms the sensible way. But I was not impressed.
The manager told me that they do it this way as they need to clean the rooms. But as they do not make you move your luggage out everyday to clean (yet, I hope I am not giving them any ideas!) obviously the cleaning staff is well used to cleaning around the bags.

I was actually considering extending my stay here but I would have had to change rooms again and as they go out of their way to make it as difficult and inconvenient a process as possible I decided that it was easier just to leave.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank EvilPoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Gérant at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Good day,
We are so sorry for this inconvenient, unfortunately it does not happen often, we had a group that came in late and made some noise at arrival. When client are unsatisfied during their stay it is easier to change things so we can change a situation for their happiness.

Don't hesitate to call me when you are back in the city it will be my pleasure to assure your stay is perfect.

Carolynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I travelled from Vancouver to Quebec, and this hostel is one of the best I've been. It's clean, huge, well located in the Old Quebec, the staff is nice, they speak both french and english, they are competent, they help you to book for trips, etc. I recommend this hostel!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy750102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Gérant at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for your time in writting your nice comment. Hi Quebec is doing improvment constantly to assure a great stay to our travellers, welll located, great staff, all is there to have a great stay.

Come back to see our new reading area.
enjoy your travel !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The location could not have been any better!
Located right inside the old Quebec City walls, this place is easy to find and so convenient.
If you need parking there is a garage within walking distance. Be sure to ask the front desk for the discount.
This place is huge. It basically takes up the entire block. The rooms are good size and very clean! They have laundry machines available on site. The breakfast was included and consisted of juice, coffee, tea, muffins, cereals, oatmeal, fruit, breads with spreads.
I thought this place was well worth the price. The front desk staff was very helpful and nice. Provided maps and recommendations for our stay.
The age range for the guests varied from very young to quite old. We didn't notice any issues or major noise during our stay. We stayed on the 3rd floor and the water pressure was fine.

Travelationship.com

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolynn D, Gérant at HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour à vous,
Merci d'avoir pris de votre temps afin de commenter votre séjour à l'Auberge. Tous les éléments y sont afin de garantir un séjour inoubliables; de la localisation au tarif, de la cour intérieure privée à la salle de lecture, un séjour unique.

En espérant avoir la chance de revoir bientôt, bonne continuité !
Bonne été

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.8 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 100 in Quebec City
1,643 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 100 in Quebec City
584 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
#50 of 100 in Quebec City
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec

Address: 19, rue Ste Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Quebec City
Price Range: £21 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The staff at the Auberge internationale de Québec is always ready to welcome all travelers, alone or in groups. Come and enjoy an unforgettable experience in the beautiful Quebec City region. We are in a great location, nestled inside the walls in the center of the old city. You will be steps away from popular cultural, historical and tourist sites. Our hostel offers lots of services to make your trip simple and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Quebec, Auberge Internationale De Quebec Hotel Quebec City
HiQuebec, Auberge Internationale De Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing