We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palace Royal
Ranked #33 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Québec
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have a large family (5 kids) and obviously needed an hotel with larger rooms and an in-door pool. We had tried the Quebec Inn in Ste-Foy and had been disappointed. We were pleasantly surprised with the Palace Royal. The family suites can easily accommodate our gang and the location is simply fantastic - right at the Porte St-Jean, the entrance to the Old Quebec City, and not 5 minutes walking distance from great family friendly restaurants (La Pointe des Amériques, Pizzeria d'Youville, la crêperie bretonne, etc.). We dined at Le Beffroi, the hotel restaurant. It has a kids' menus but, honestly, you will get better bang for your bucks by walking towards "le vieux".

This hotel is new and relatively clean. Staff is polite and attentive. This hotel is not a 5 stars (as the name would suggest - not at the level of the Loews Le Concorde or the Château Frontenac) but it is acceptable for a family like ours who would like to visit this very nice city. Parking is limited and we would suggest you try to check-in before 4:30 pm during a weekend during high season.

We will definitively go back since the price is right. Once again the location of this hotel is simply fantastic if you want to visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    254
    72
    27
    11
See reviews for
238
190
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Arrived at this hotel just before 3pm on a weekday. Our room was ready. They had 3 staff members at the front desk which made for a quick check in, which is very helpful with children in tow. The room was clean. The laminate wood floor was nice, clean and cool. A couple of chairs were in the room and a flat screen tv. Washroom was clean with what looked to be a fairly new tub with glass enclosure. Double beds were comfortable and linens felt good. Each floor had a balcony near the elevator which had a porch that overlooked the indoor swimming pool. My kids liked to sit and watch the swimmers.
The location of the hotel was excellent. About a two minute walk to the gates of the old city. This was a definite advantage and couple that with the cost of the room, made for a good staty. The only thing that was an issue was that our room was not cleaned and made up until late afternoon on two of our three days at the hotel. When we asked the front desk to have the room cleaned they were on it. We did not eat in the restaurant on the premises, but it looked very busy in the morning. Convenience store on location was a good to have as well. All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: There really is only one side of the hotel that offers good views of the old City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agbbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

It was our first stay at this chain of hotels and I was very pleased. Hotel was very affordable yet luxurious, clean, modern and situated at the right spot for anybody wishing to spend a few days in old Quebec.staff were very friendly and helpful when needed.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabcom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We booked this hotel through the Quebec tourism site and got better rates than the hotel website. The location of this hotel is just where all the action is. We could go sightseeing around the city in the morning...come and rest in the afternoon and recharge for the evening. The hotel was very well maintained...lots of french style decor. The rooms were great...very comfortable...equipped with refrigerator/microwave...free wireless internet. The atrium has a swimming pool where the kids can enjoy on a hot afternoon in the summer. There was a convenience store on the hotel property. The only negative was our room did not have any of the views we had read so much about in all the reviews...neither the pool facing nor a view of the city. We got a room with a view of the Bell building on the side.

Room Tip: While booking ask for a room with a view of the city or the atrium .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist_travails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

If you are looking for a hassle free place to stay in Vieux Quebec, this is the place. We arrived at 7 pm, checked in and gave the car keys to the valet. In less than 30 minutes, we were ready to walk the busy streets of Vieux Quebec on a nice July evening. Customer service was excellent.
We had a corner suite with view on Place d'Youville - note that on that evening there was a show (until 11:30 PM) so if you are looking for a quiet place this might not be the room you are looking for in the Summer.
The room was nice and clean, bed was very comfortable. There is also a nice indoor pool.
For breakfast, I suggest you go right across the street - there is a small breakfast place with a menu (it is less expensive than what is offered at the hotel). I also suggest you try the many restaurants that Quebec City has to offer (Le cochon Dingue is one of my favourite).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineD004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed in Palace Royal for three nights during a buzzing summer weekend. We had taken a family suite that would accommodate all six of us (2 adults and 4 children). The hotel is very clean and quite "royal" to a point where our young daughter was mesmerized and said that she is living in a princess castle during our holiday! Their pool was perfect for our kids yet bringing wet swimsuits into the room was a hassle as nothing would dry in the enclosed room... Yet this happens with every hotel room everywhere so it is not necessarily a fault of this particular hotel.

The room worked great for us with its spacious bathroom, kitchenette and two (!) TVs. We only had breakfast at the hotel but the servings were so large that we could forgo lunch. Kids loved the hot chocolate which was served with whipped cream and us adults were pleased with the Cereales Croque-Sante in particular with its mountain of fresh fruit and yogurt.

The hotel was supercentrally located with an easy access to the autoroute 40/138 to visit Canyon Ste-Anne, Tadoussac, Saguenay Fjord etc. Their parking is supertight so it takes a good driver to maneuver around in the garage. Thus valet parking is not a bad idea.

One more thing. If you appreciate quiet starting early in the evening, this hotel - at least with the rooms facing Place D'Youville - might not be for you as we listened to a music festival going on until 11:00 pm at the plaza which we presume to be a defacto for summer weekends. Or at least do check beforehand for upcoming events. Our suite was on the 8th floor and we could easily sing along the tunes!

All in all, we'd go back happily to Palace Royal to their pleasant and helpful service, reasonable rates and good, clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TikkiTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA State
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Good decor, excellent room/suite comfort, very comfortable bed, nice furnishings, spotlessly clean, nice restaurant & bar, free internet access & business center.

It would seem that this hotel, which was renovated a few years ago, is striving mightily to compete with Chateau Frontenac for traffic, and in the doing is offering extraordinary accommodation for rational price. It's not as glitzy as CF nor as historic, but is similarly priced and monumentally comfortable.

Am learning that in most good hotels in Quebec, service is unusually friendly & efficient, and at this hotel is certainly of that caliber.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
#24 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
L'Hotel Port-Royal
L'Hotel Port-Royal
#29 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#36 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Property: Hotel Palace Royal
Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#35 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a 150 meters distance from Old Quebec’s historic district, in the heart of the city downtown, stands Hotel Palace Royal | Downtown. The hotel features 234 sumptuously decorated rooms offering great comfort, memory foam mattresses, wooden floors, and magnificent views over the city. Luxurious setting filled with contemporary accents, central courtyard with swimming pool, indoor parking lot, Restaurant Beffroi Steak House within the hotel, privileged location right next to the d’Youville Place and the St. Jean Door, and more: Hotel Palace Royal provides an ideal setting for a fulfilling stay in Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing