We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great amenties” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palace Royal
Ranked #33 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location and great amenties”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Friendly staff and cant beet the location right outside the Old Quebec gates. Comfortable bed and very warm and welcoming atmosphere

Room Tip: higher up facing the old city. Beautiful night time view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nstrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    254
    72
    27
    11
See reviews for
238
190
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Really good service. We were impressed by their willing to serve you as a well know customer. Even if we arrived by train at 6AM in the morning the receptionnist gave a room to rest until our room was clean. They even upgrade our room because it wasn't ready as promised.
The hotel is at the gate of Old Quebec. Were able to walk with the kids in the streets and get back to our room within a short time. Nice pool, nice restaurant in hotel and all around the area. A must stay hotel. Many rooms are being renovated. Really nice decor.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danthemannad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

I had stayed here previously in 2008 and 2007 and loved it. Just stayed here in August 2011 and was a bit disappointed. Location is great, but staff are cold and unfriendly and rooms weren't as clean as during our previous stays. I ordered a caesar salad from room service which was very good and the room was sufficient....I just felt that the staff really were not as friendly and welcoming as they should be.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Amazing hotel, however...too costly; not comfortable enough for a family unless you enjoy lumpy sofabed, and no breakfast. Chateau Bellevue better...in the old town, just up from boardwalk and very good continental breakfast included, but Hotel Tadoussac better of the three hotels we stayed at. Furthermore, concerns re. sofabed, expressed at 1:30 AM, were not addressed by management.

Room Tip: Sofabed extremely uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in a family suite. Was the perfect size. We had a room with a view of the gates to Old Quebec City. The beds were like sleeping on a cloud. The bathroom was unique as the toilet and shower were in one room and the vanity in another. This seemed a bit odd to me.

Overall the place was quite nice. My daughters swam in the pool and had a lot of fun and I used the gym. It had everything you needed to get a good sweat going.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Great location. We stayed with two teenage boys. My only issue was that I asked for a cot and they gave me a small thin mattress that I had to lay on the floor. We were in a one bedroom suite but the two boys didn't want to share the pull out couch.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

This hotel is very well located at the corner of St Jean street, a block from Saint Jean Gate and a reasonable walk from the Old Town tourist area, Chateau Frontenac and the boardwalk. Generally clean and with an impressive indoor pool area.

Our room (608) was nicely decorated, bright and generally clean but the bathroom was in two-star condition; the granite countertop was badly chipped and broken in several places and the sink was cracked and chipped so badly that it looked dirty. There was a ring of some deposit around the sink drain that left the impression it had not been cleaned for weeks. The furniture was chipped and worn at the corners and there was a huge dent in the floating hardwood floor.

Having already unpacked and on our way out to a group dinner, we did not get the chance to mention the bathroom to the front desk until the next day. They filled out a form but there was no apology or surprise expressed. In fairness, they offered to change our room but we stuck it out, not wanting to repack. Still, at a four-star hotel, that room should not be rented until it is repaired.

Parking was $18 self-parked and $20 valet per day - we chose to park our car ourselves (in the garage under the hotel) so that we had access to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTL_MX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
#24 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
L'Hotel Port-Royal
L'Hotel Port-Royal
#31 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#36 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Property: Hotel Palace Royal
Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#35 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a 150 meters distance from Old Quebec’s historic district, in the heart of the city downtown, stands Hotel Palace Royal | Downtown. The hotel features 234 sumptuously decorated rooms offering great comfort, memory foam mattresses, wooden floors, and magnificent views over the city. Luxurious setting filled with contemporary accents, central courtyard with swimming pool, indoor parking lot, Restaurant Beffroi Steak House within the hotel, privileged location right next to the d’Youville Place and the St. Jean Door, and more: Hotel Palace Royal provides an ideal setting for a fulfilling stay in Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing