We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palace Royal
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent location! Parked the car and left it parked and walked all around old town Quebec. Pricey but worth it for the location and convenience. We found the room to be big and was quiet. The kids loved the pool and our room overlooked the city which was nice. Only some minor complaints, that the front desk staff was not very knowledgeable about the area and the concierge spent so much time with people that we and others left without getting to ask for help, and didn't like their policy of not allowing guests to take a luggage cart up to room themselves but forced to use the bellman. Lots of restaurants and coffee shops close by and easy walking to many tourists sites.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarniaEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, was very pleased with the cleanliness of the room, well equipped, love the lack of carpets in the rooms! And service was great... Only thing I didn't like was that there was no sleep control on the TV... Close to everything, nice restaurant also

Stayed: June 2014
Thank SaultDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

three nights for business and a bit of pleasure... The staff at this hotel were excellent. Attention to detail in rooms, check in and restaurants. The meals in the restaurants were excellent! Priced very reasonable for location. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leigh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located just outside Porte St - Jean and only 10 minutes from all the shopping and restaurants. The staff is very attentive and there for you if you need anything. Eric at the front desk was very professional and helpful.

The elevators are very fast in comparison to other hotels in the area and quite big. The rooms have a retro feel but at the same time, very modern and updated. The beds are very comfortable and pretty big considering other hotels on the area. All rooms have a fridge, coffee maker and a microwave.

The atrium is also pretty spectacular with little balconies all around it looking down on the courtyard and the gorgeous pool at the bottom. A great option if you want to stay close to the city!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was supposed to be family friendly, but if you dont want to swim in the very noisy and crowded pool, there is nothing else to do, not even a play room...the only good part was the "magician".

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Loved my recent stay at this hotel for the Quebec Winter Carnival. The place was beautiful! Rooms were clean and well-appointed, pool was great. Also, the in-hotel store was a nice addition when travelling with children. The location was steps away from everything Old Quebec City had to offer. Would stay here again for sure. Merci Beaucoup!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elevation02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Palace Royal for four nights while my husband was here on business in Quebec City for work. The location is fabulous and steps away from the walls to Quebec. Easy access to all of the local 'sightseeing' destinations.

We stayed in one of the queen suites (which had a view of the walls to old Quebec). The room was a very decent size with queen bed, queen sofa pull out, easy chair, separate dining area and desk. The washroom was large with a separate toilet area; adjustable shower height; and nice makeup station. Other room amenities included a mini fridge, microwave, counter, sink, coffee/tea; and safe. This hotel was absolutely spotless - - constantly saw employees maintaining every inch. Rooms were kept very clean.

The pool is on the cooler side (so I suggest jumping in there first) - the hot tub was very relaxing after a busy day walking the streets of Quebec City.

Would strongly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The inside rooms all have views of the pool area. We had an exterior room but were not bothered by n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momof3inbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 100 in Quebec City
1,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#33 of 100 in Quebec City
2,896 reviews
5.1 mi away
L'Hotel Quebec
L'Hotel Quebec
#56 of 100 in Quebec City
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#38 of 100 in Quebec City
1,582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#21 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £87 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a 150 meters distance from Old Quebec’s historic district, in the heart of the city downtown, stands Hotel Palace Royal | Downtown. The hotel features 234 sumptuously decorated rooms offering great comfort, memory foam mattresses, wooden floors, and magnificent views over the city. Luxurious setting filled with contemporary accents, central courtyard with swimming pool, indoor parking lot, Restaurant Beffroi Steak House within the hotel, privileged location right next to the d’Youville Place and the St. Jean Door, and more: Hotel Palace Royal provides an ideal setting for a fulfilling stay in Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing