We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palace Royal
Ranked #32 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, On
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Me and my newly wed wife went there on a brief honeymoon and this place is simply gorgeous. We had the balcony room overlooking the pool area. This hotel is right beside Old Quebec which was convenient. I'd go again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elewisOttawa_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    267
    74
    29
    12
See reviews for
249
199
13
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Had a very nice room at this Hotel and enjoyed the location. Close to the convention centre and old town.

Room service below average and food in restaurants so so...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Welcoming lobby, with soft piano music- Chopin, nice room and also the view was great, friendly and also professional staff, nice pool and whirlpool and the restaurant and the bar is fully accomplishing the 4 stars rating.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Stayed at this hotel x2 nights recently. Reception was frosty; I was given way-more than the necessary run-down on the rules and penalties for smoking in a non-smoking room (we're non-smokers and requested the room as such). All in all, stay was good, and location excellent. I especially liked the proximity to locations outside of the walls of the old city--inside the walls can be a bit like Disney in terms of prices and line-ups...there are many funky areas to be explored beyond the walls. My only complaint is that by 5:30 on Saturday our room had still not been cleaned despite the vacuum and linen cart sitting outside the door for the majority of the day. We had planned on going out to a nearby restaurant for a 'grown-up dinner', leaving the kids behind in the hotel with take-out and a movie, but I was hesitant to leave the room behind and have a maid arrive while we were out. I called reception at 6:00 to cancel housekeeping. Despite my disappointment at having to 'sneak' clean glasses, etc., off of the cart (and make my own beds...I'll admit it, this is a big deal for me when I'm in a hotel!), I was pleased at the resolution provided, which was sending my boys some free room-service snacks (nachos, chips) which they were thrilled with.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cslevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We booked our room for the weekend of Aug 27-29. As we checked in staff was friendly and welcoming. I am bilingual so it was nice to practice my French (and my boyfriend who is not bilingual communicated with staff just fine). The hotel is very beautiful and well maintained. The location is ideal and just steps away from the walls of Old Quebec. One thing I did expect was our room to be cleaned when we returned from site seeing at 4:30pm but it wasn't. The maid was in the hallway cleaning the room next to ours. I was immediately disappointed, but then received a phone call from the staff confirming if our room would like to be cleaned. So they did so when we went for dinner around 6pm. The swimming pool is nice as there are balconies facing it. Overall compared to large hotels, this one was charming and made our stay in Quebec quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_joie_de_vivre8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We are a family with 3 kids (ages 4-12), and stayed here for 2 nights during a week long trip to Quebec in August.

The location is fantastic. It is right outside the St Jean gate to the old city, and we were able to park our car in the hotel garage on arrival, then not move it again until we checked out. We walked everywhere. (Well, the 4 year old did ride some in the stroller.)

We had a family suite, with a sitting area with opening sofa, and a bedroom with 2 queen beds. There was a table with 4 chairs, small fridge, and microwave. French doors could close off the bedroom area from the sitting area. There was a sink with the microwave/fridge area (so, with the bathroom, two sinks in the room), which was another plus with 5 people in the room.

The room is elegant...beautiful wood floors and floor-to-ceiling windows, which look out towards the old city. Nice furnishings. It was very quiet---no noise from other rooms (and the hotel was busy), the ventilation, or the city itself. Bathroom had tile and was large, with a door between the tub/toilet area and the sink, plus doors from the sink area to both the bedroom and sitting areas.

We had brought breakfast for the first day, then found a great bakery about a block away (Le Panetier Balucon). My oldest son and I got croissants and pasties which we brought back to the room the 2nd day.

The public areas of the hotel are also beautiful, highlighted by a 9 story atrium with a garden setting and pool/whirlpool. Some rooms face this area instead of the city, and have balconies with small tables overlooking the pool/garden area. The kids loved the pool area.

The staff was helpful and friendly. Speaking only English was fine.

We used the internet, which worked fine. We did self-park, which was convenient in the basement of the hotel. (We did take stuff in and out of the car a few times.)

Overall, it was the perfect choice for us, and we would definitely stay there again if we get back Quebec City.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed for 4 nights and loved the amenities and location. The concierge staff was extremely helpful (even loaned us umbrellas one night when it was raining). My only complaint is that it would be great if the hotel had somewhere to do self service laundry.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#33 of 102 in Quebec City
2,626 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Hotel Port-Royal
L'Hotel Port-Royal
#30 of 102 in Quebec City
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Property: Hotel Palace Royal
Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#35 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a 150 meters distance from Old Quebec’s historic district, in the heart of the city downtown, stands Hotel Palace Royal | Downtown. The hotel features 234 sumptuously decorated rooms offering great comfort, memory foam mattresses, wooden floors, and magnificent views over the city. Luxurious setting filled with contemporary accents, central courtyard with swimming pool, indoor parking lot, Restaurant Beffroi Steak House within the hotel, privileged location right next to the d’Youville Place and the St. Jean Door, and more: Hotel Palace Royal provides an ideal setting for a fulfilling stay in Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing