We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise”
Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palace Royal
Ranked #36 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I am atotal hotel snob. We had booked a B&B and when I saw it, I just did not like it. We have stayed at the Frontenac and never loved the place, its always felt cold and ugly rooms and a tourist trap. SO after not sure where to go when we left the B&B, we took a chance and stopped in at the Palace Royal, I was NOT impressed with the lobby, but the staff was really nice. We looked at the rooms and WOW I was impressed, the room was VERY clean and all NEW, the bathrooms very roomy and NEW, there is a sitting room, free internet, and the bedroom is very, very nice. This has a perfect location and I am enjoying the room. The price was more than fair. They have a pool area with an atrium andits excellent to relax in or bring children. I will stay here again and bring our children. I do not expect a major fabulous hotel up here, but this more than serve the purpose..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELSUSHI921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2011

Walk into this hotel and it looks great. The same applies to the guest rooms. The staff were friendly and polite. The pool looked nice and based on the number of kids running around it appears to be a popular spot for families and insane field trips. But oh, oh, look a little deeper. This place needs attention.

The previous guest in my room obviously had long hair because it was plastered all over the shower wall. Even on the last day of my stay! If the shower wall isn’t wiped down then what else isn’t done? Eww. Two lights in my room did not work; no wonder the cleaning staff don’t do a great job – it’s dark! Meanwhile there were some serious water leaks on a lower floor and guests had to be moved to another, and workers were tearing about the front steps in the lobby trying to repair something else. The equipment in the fitness room looked okay but was poorly maintained. Pins were missing from the weight equipment. There were water stains on the ceiling. There were no towels as one commonly finds in a fitness room. And one more thing – I ordered beef carpaccio with tomatoes and boccacini at the classy restaurant and got “beef tomatoes” with boccaccini – they weren’t big enough to be beefsteak tomatoes and besides that, wtf was the carpaccio part?? Where’s the beef.

The location close to the gates of the old city is great, but until they clean up their act I would recommend you PASS on this hotel and find another in the area. There are lots to choose from.

Safe travels - thedonk

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thedonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Stayed at this hotel two nights. We booked online and decided to take the breakfast plan having stayed at another property of this local chain before. What they don't tell you is that the breakfast choice is VERY restricted if you have this plan. Only 3 choices. On the Sunday,we were told that if we wanted the buffet, we had to pay extra (not the case at the other hotel (Plaza Ste-Foy, Qc). Also the restaurant staff greeted us very coldly as we were 7 and had not reserved a table.

The pool was nice although the water was a little chilly....The rooms were very nicely appointed and clean. A bit of a walk to the tourist areas in old Quebec especially if you have small children (bring a stroller).

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imustsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I enjoyed my stay overall at the Hotel Palace Royal. The staff at the front desk were incredibly helpful and some of the kindest hotel staff you will meet. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The restaurant, however, was extremely slow (it took 40 min one day to get some cereal and fruit for breakfast, which I ordered because I assumed it would be fast). Room service is faster, but expensive. The food in general at the restaurant is overpriced for the quality and size of the meals. I would recommend this hotel for the staff, comfort, and relatively convenient location, but suggest eating at a nearby restaurant instead of eating on site.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travbuddy_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Have stayed here many times and will again but after twice choosing a suite overlooking atrium and finding noise and lack of privacy on balcony: 'Balconville'; I now opt for the panoramic suites; the view over 'le Vieux' (old city) is spectacular! Remember to bring your ice skates in November for the rink just outside St. Jean gate. Only complaint; stayed in May 2010 and the spa/hot tub had no pressure in jets and again November 2010 problem had not been resolved. Also, on both visits, disinterested lifequard allowed toddlers in the hot tub despite a sign indicating otherwise. Also, Tiffany lamp fixture pool area not turned on and lifeguard could have cared less when I asked her why.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GatineauQuincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The hotel was very nice for a weekend in Quebec City. The room was very convenient and overlooked Old Quebec. The staff was nice. We were impressed that there was a lifeguard at the pool. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The place was immaculate and very 'chic'. My teens were thrilled there was Cable TV. The food was pretty as well. Wonderful and relaxing place- make sure to go to the pool/hot tub: it was great!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jess_lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Me and my newly wed wife went there on a brief honeymoon and this place is simply gorgeous. We had the balcony room overlooking the pool area. This hotel is right beside Old Quebec which was convenient. I'd go again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elewisOttawa_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#38 of 102 in Quebec City
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
L'Hotel Port-Royal
L'Hotel Port-Royal
#32 of 102 in Quebec City
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#35 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £92 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a 150 meters distance from Old Quebec’s historic district, in the heart of the city downtown, stands Hotel Palace Royal | Downtown. The hotel features 234 sumptuously decorated rooms offering great comfort, memory foam mattresses, wooden floors, and magnificent views over the city. Luxurious setting filled with contemporary accents, central courtyard with swimming pool, indoor parking lot, Restaurant Beffroi Steak House within the hotel, privileged location right next to the d’Youville Place and the St. Jean Door, and more: Hotel Palace Royal provides an ideal setting for a fulfilling stay in Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing