We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

In Old Quebec down near the Port. A real little Gem with restaurants and attractions of the Old City nearby. Staff are very friendly. Ordered room service on our first night. Unlike most hotels it was well priced and arrived hot in quick time. Give it a go.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    212
    24
    10
    1
See reviews for
133
608
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My favorite thing about this hotel is the beautiful breakfast that is delivered to your room every morning. You start your day with croissants, muffins, and juice. There is a coffee maker in the room, so you are ready to go. The room is very comfortable with a great bed, linens, and comfy robe provided. The staff is friendly and nice. The location is great just 2 blocks from the train station and Old Town is just up the road. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

All the good things you read about this hotel are true. The hotel looks just like the pictures,
the staff is warm, friendly and very helpful, the location is great, the breakfast hung in a basket by your door is a true treat every morning and the room had everything you could want or need.
We truly enjoyed our stay at Hotel des Coutellier and look forward to our return there some day.

Room Tip: A room on the back side is best. It is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I was looking for a small quiet boutique hotel, close to shops & restaurants,. Hotel des Coutellier couldn't have been more accommodating, even has 2 state of the art new large Mac computers for your use. The room was exceptionally clean and inviting, the king bed was wonderful. Don't miss the fab farmer's market across the street. The front desk gave us directions to very special restaurants that we enjoyed and were very helpful in all ways they could. We especially enjoyed their morning breakfast baskets set outside our room. Our stay was 4 nights and I must admit we enjoyed every minute and loved walking Old Quebec City. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancerInLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights during Quebec’s winter carnival. A great boutique hotel, with a modern feel to it and lots of nice touches. The hotel is just across from the Old market and less than 5 minutes walk from the VIA rail station. The room was a nice size, had an oven, microwave, fridge and coffee maker, together with a desk and chair, a large comfy seat and a large TV. There were lots of nice touches such as the dressing-gowns in the room, umbrella in the large closet, and fresh fruit on each floor. Breakfast in the morning is a small basket hung outside your room, with more items and fresh coffee available in reception. Staff at the front-desk were extremely helpful and made check-in and check-out effortless. The business area in the basement had two Imacs available to use for free and rooms had free Wi-Fi. The hotel is relatively small (there’s only 24 rooms) so there’s no gym or pool, but the rooms and atmosphere meant you didn’t miss these facilities.

The location is excellent, very close to many restaurants and bars in the old town. There’s a small Esso across the street – great for buying snack items, and there’s a Metro supermarket about 5 minutes up the hill with a larger selection of food. The hotel is very close to bus stops, including the Ecolobus stop (useful for taking up the hill although the fare is now $1 each trip – it used to be free). I really can’t find any fault with the hotel and I would definitely stay here again if coming to Quebec (especially if I can get the cheap rate again via hotels.com).

One thing to note is that Quebec is a very hilly city and virtually anywhere you walk from the hotel will mean you go uphill (at least it’s downhill coming back). Take good shoes with you with lots of grip as traversing some of Quebec’s steeper hills in the old town can be difficult (and slippery!), especially in winter when the snow starts falling or when it's raining.

Bad points – None.

Good points – Great location for the old town, port and train station. Oven, microwave and fridge in room. Free Wi-Fi in room. Nice touches all around make you feel relaxed and comfortable.

Tips – The 800 bus stop is about a 5 minute walk away and the bus goes direct to the top of the Montmorency Falls and costs only $2.60 cash each way. A great way to go and see the falls without having to drive and pay the car-parking cost or having to take a taxi. The Ice Hotel outside of the city is worth a visit, although it is pricey (entry is $17 for an adult). Go about an hour before sunset as seeing the hotel in both daylight and at night is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OttawaAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Great hotel. Very quiet and private room. Friendly staff. Nice room, big beds, DVD players, Ipod players, breakfast delivered daily to the room (croissants, muffins, jams, butter, orange juice, yogurt or apple sauce, cream - coffee is already in the room). Complimentary robes to wear. Parking is $9 per day, free WiFi. Just outside city walls, very close to lots of restaurants/shopping. Would absolutely return to this hotel.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank biddybit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

What a beautiful little boutique hotel. We stayed in the deluxe king suite on the fourth floor. Very quiet location in walking distance of all that Okd Quebec has to offer. The furnishings were very trendy and the bed was so comfortable. The building was very old and was located in a section of Old Quebec City that we never new existed! We were steps away from wonderful restaurants and art studios and gift shops, and the waterfront was close by. A delicious and filling continental breakfast was delivered to our room in a wicker basket. There is no restaurant on site but there is one adjoining the hotel. The reservation staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. We truly enjoyed our stay and will look forward to returning to such a comfortable hotel on our next vist to Quebec City.

Room Tip: Our room was a corner unit on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DFWOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing