We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Went over July 4th weekend and loved this hotel. Front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfasts delivered to the hook outside were a perfect way to start the day and we augmented with delicious strawberries from the farmers market across the street. Our room was huge!! It was easy to explore Quebec city from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorkers96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Coutellier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

The hotel is well located, downtown but far away from the crowd with free wireless, parking and breakfast: everything is in the package of the room. The rooms are nice and quiet; my husband and I had a corner room at the 4th floor with coffee and a selection of tea! The hotel provides free movie rental fron a good selection of movies !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

A wonderful place to stay to explore old Quebec. Walking distance to most things and so close to the city walls. Parking arrangement across the street made things so convenient and cheap too at $9 a day (relative to anywhere else). Breakast was truly continental wig flaky croissants and other yummy treats. The staff are helpful and knowledgeable about best places to eat. Very close to Rue St Jean where restaurants are plentiful and varied. Great amenities in the room and quite spacious. A wonderful boutique hotel to end our 16 day trip to the east coast. Felt very pampered.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DINKSinOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a lovely little hotel! A short walk from the railway station and on the edge of the Old Town, we would definitely recommend it. Our room was lovely, the bathroom was great, we had free internet in the guest office downstairs (which felt like our own personal study), a lovely breakfast pack left at our door, free coffee and extra pastries were available near reception around breakfast time and fruit for the rest of the day. We had a couple of small problems with our room (nuisance value only) but the staff dealt with them immediately and with positive results. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit at the Hotel des Coutellier located within walking distance from everything you would want to visit while in Quebec City. Special thanks go out to the young lady working at the front desk (due to our trip being nearly 2 months ago, I have forgotten her name). She was very pleasant, helpful and patient. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. We loved the early morning breakfasts waiting for us outside our door each day. What a great way to start the day of sightseeing! If we were to return to Quebec City, we would definitely stay in the Hotel des Coutellier again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhovious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We took the VIA from Montreal and walked to the hotel. When we got there the staff was most helpful and spoke perfect English, even helping us with our attempt at French. The room we has was a ten in all ways. The TV was a flat screen with a built-in DVD player. There was an empty DVD container with a note that you could go to the front desk and get a number of movies (either in French or English) for free. Each morning a continental breakfast is delivered to your room. It contained OJ, fruit, croissant, muffin and jelly. Each room has a coffee maker, but if you desire more, the front lobby also has these items set out. We asked for any restaurants they might recommend and were given a choice of a number of different cuisines and the staff would draw directions on a map..
If we ever go back to Quebec City we definitely will stay at Hotel des Coutellier.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bvdbobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We can recommend this Hotel totally! Very good situated and in Walking distance to everything Worth exploring in Vieux Quebec. Staff is very friendly and speaks Perfect and voluntarily english. Breakfast ist delivered to your Room Ebers Day which makes breakfast in bed a possible! :) you shouldn't Miss that! Free Movies are also available at the formt desk for a Cosy evening.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £89 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing