We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a good hotel has to be.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This is what a good hotel has to be.”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had two adjacent rooms for one night. This is not a family destination, no swimming pool, no gym, not even a restaurant. It is a GOOD hotel. A very good one! Very nice looking rooms, in a historical district, in between the Quebec City train station and the Old Port. From our room one can see the "Moulin à Images" exterior show.
The rooms are large, the beds, wow, I had one of my best sleeps ever! Wifi, LCD TV, iPod station, parking right across the street. The bathrooms are splendid, made with quality furniture.
This area of Old Quebec is being discovered, and this hotel is right in it. Stores, galleries, restaurants all around, all types. Where most of the small hotels in the "haute-ville" clearly show their age in every possible manner, the Hotel des Coutellier is a real Boutique Hotel.
They are "bicycle-friendly" too. They will see us again for sure.

Room Tip: Not every room has a hide-a-bed couch. Should you need one for a third person, ask upon reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felixc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    199
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
125
581
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Quaint, smaller hotel in a historic building. Rooms is large with wonderful views of the old city. Quiet location. Bed and bedding comfortable. Location is a bit of a walk to the centre but not TOO far. Besides you are in old Quebec city for the walking pleasure!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012Toronto2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Best hotel I have seen for a while. We booked the "romantic suite" which was exactly that. A large bath open to the bedroom, a lounge area for a drink, a rainshower, beautiful decor.....all you need is a bottle of wine. Great place and will return next time we visit quebec city.

Room Tip: The Romantic Suite is bar far the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DipKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Myself, my partner and another couple stayed at this hotel from Jan 27-29th, 2012. Our rooms were side by side and we had a mutual mud room. This meant we could leave the door from the hallway closed yet have both of our room doors open and it felt like we had our own two bedroom suite. One room had a chair and couch so we were able to enjoy a couple of drinks in our hotel room listening to our ipod on the docking station that is in the room before going to enjoy the delicious restaurants of Quebec City. The breakfast was great with delicious croissants, pastries, fruit, yogurt, juice delivered to your room and coffee made on the insuite coffee machine. The rooms were very modern, tastefully renovated, clean and comfortable. The location was great as Old Quebec city is a walking town. The staff were extremely kind and helpful especially helping us figure out the bus system! We will definately stay here again when we return for another holiday to Quebec City.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Rue St Paul have a nice view towards the river and the old silo's that illuminate a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauladToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I had the chance to spend one night at this small but very nice hotel in January 2012. The room and bathroom were very very clean. The room was equipped with a flat screen TV and a DVD reader. We had a nice view of the local market and the port. Very quiet room. The breakfast was very good (croissants, muffins, yogurts, orange juices and fruits) and it was nice to eat while lying in bed. Loved it and would definitely recommend the hotel. In deed, I plan to go back later this year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vytamine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My daughter and I traveled to Quebec City to celebrate our birthdays in Oct. 2011- although we had a terrible time with US Air flights, the best part of our trip was the awesome hotel. I'd recommend the superior room with the king bed (it's a larger room). It's attractive, extremely clean, a great location to everything (without being in the middle of the touristy part). It is right across the street from an amazing Farmer's Market and is near the train station; also just blocks from Old Town and close to many restaurants. The concierges arranged for all of our sightseeing trips, gave us honest and helpful restaurant recommendations, and made our stay most pleasant. They have a lovely breakfast basket they deliver to your door each morning. Only 24 rooms (I think) makes it cozy and inviting. I'm telling everyone I know traveling to QC to stay here!

Room Tip: Go for the superior King room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days in sept 2011. We had a wonderful stay and couldnt believe how perfect the location was.. It was so close to everything. The hotel is great and has everything you need. The breakfast hamper is a wonderful addition and was great to have breakfast in the room. Quebec City is an amazing place and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We ate at some amazing places, one "bistro du cap" is very near hotel and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing