We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location, staff and facilities all first class!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Great hotel, location, staff and facilities all first class!”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel location was perfect. Walking distance to most anything you would want to see. A little outside the old walled city but very easy to navigate. From the moment we arrived, the staff were very warm and friendly, eager to accommodate any request we had. Jean-Sebastian is exactly the right person to greet guests and work the front desk, he is a real asset to the hotel. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was extremely comfortable and well decorated in a modern theme. The bathroom was more than adequate for our needs. You will find a nice continental breakfast hanging outside your door in a cooler bag in the morning. Just enough to get you going. The croissants were so delicious! Many small touches which surprised us, such as an umbrella for your use and comfy robes to lounge in, and very clean. Not your big corporate hotel were you would be lost as one of the many guests; this hotel is small but very warm and friendly. We were extremely happy with this hotel and will definitely be back again. Mark this as one of our favourites.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    194
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
121
567
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stopped here for two nights in room 404 and couldn't rate it higher - it was fab. Despite exterior appearances that the hotel is small the rooms were large and spacious and bathrooms really generous too. The presentation of the room was of good quality fixtures and decorations and the large bed and linens were to die for. Lots of extras in the room - dvd player (with a dvd library with new films), ipod docking station, fluffly dressing gowns - my only comment is that when the rest of the room is so good I would have thought they'd have provided a better hairdryer than those small white one's attached to the room - but at least one was provided! Shower was good too.

Breakfast was great - a basket was there hanging on the door from early with fresh juice, croissants, a muffin or cake and a yoghurt or similar. There's a coffee/tea maker in the room and fresh milk was in the basket too. We really enjoyed having breakfast at our leisure in the gowns provided and thought it was good and not sure why some of the other reviews are moaning about it - especially when you compare prices for hotels around the city.

It is located in the lower town, parking is convenient and right opposite the hotel - before paying for it make sure you go and check in as you get a special rate with the hotel that means you can come and go as you please. I think it was around $12 a day or so. To get to Rue St Jean in the Haute Ville with restaurants etc it was a 10 minute walk uphill and to Rue St Pierre in the lower ville about 5-10mins so it is a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms are really as they look - fabulous! Room 404 is recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightyearz_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We just returned from a four night stay in the Hotel des Coutellier. The hotel is conveniently located a couple blocks from the walled entrance to the old city - we really liked this location, across from an interesting market and on Rue St. Paul, which is a fascinating street with very good antique stores and folk art - it's a less touristy part of the city. Parking is arranged for guests across the street. The rooms were excellent; we rented the Presidential Suite because we needed a large room where the four other couples that were visiting Quebec City with us could meet comfortably each evening. This suite has a couch and several chairs and with extra wine glasses brought up by the staff, it worked out well. Each morning a basket with croissants, another pastry and orange juice was placed outside our room; a first class coffee machine was placed in each room as were plates, napkins, a place mat, etc.
Everyone at the front desk went out of their way to ensure our every need was met, like making restaurant reservations, drawing maps of how to get to where we were going, bringing up extra room amentities when needed. We very highly recommend this small intimate hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Lovely hotel - very fresh & modern, but also with charm & character. Rooms are very clean with all the necessary amenities (there was even an umbrella in the closet for guest use!) and my bed was SUPER comfy. Continental breakfast delivered to my door in the morning was nice. Bit of a walk to the old town (10+ minutes uphill) which was fine for me - in fact, I quite enjoyed it- but it would be hard for someone who's out of shape, has bad knees, or if the weather was unpleasant. My room was not exactly huge, but for the very reasonable price I thought the value overall was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazeefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Hotel Des Courtelier is a great deal for Quebec City. We took the train, and it was only a 10-min walk. It was great not to have to pull our luggage up hill. The superior king is very spacious. The bathroom has a pedestal sink, but their is ample space to store items on a three-tier shelf. Room 205 was in the back of the hotel, so it was quiet at night.

Breakfast consisted of croissants every day, plus some other kind of bread (when we were there, muffins or rolls with raisins, chocolate chips and cranberries), orange juice, and then sometimes cheese, yogurt, or applesauce. There is always fresh fruit in the small lobby area, and they also put extra croissants out there.

Service was superb.

We liked being close to the old pier area and having different ways to enter the old town. The market is across the street. We went in the morning but it is perhaps better to go late morning or afternoon when more venders are there.

The bicycle path is also across the street, and a place to rent bicycles is a block away. We rented a tandem and rode along the St. Charles River, where we had a picnic lunch at the Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site.

There was a musty smell in the bathroom, but that would be my only complaint. The hotel certainly gets five stars for the quality per price.

Room Tip: Superior king is very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BornTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel at June 2012. Our room was absolutely gorgeous and clean.. Hotel located just 10 min walk from downtown.The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and helped us order taxi into airport. Breakfast was delivered in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtrvno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, FL
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was absolutely gorgeous and the bathroom was phenomenal with the nicest jetted tub. Tons of storage space and a convenient iron and ironing board. It is in the area of the old port, however, not in the center of old town. For someone with knee problems it is a far walk up some steep hills to get to the major shopping and eating spots. We ended up taking cabs several times which was not a big deal - we just hadn't planned on doing that. We weren't aware of the bus service until we returned home and saw info about it on this website. Our room wasn't made up until around 5 p.m. on one day which was a minus since we returned from a full day and wanted to rest. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and helped us order Chinese delivered on a terribly stormy night when we were too tired to go out. Breakfast was lovely in the little baskets - o.j., yogurt or applesauce, croissants, and rolls/muffins. Plenty of food! Keurig in the room which was great, too! The noise outside was pretty loud in the morning since the hotel is on a main street for business travelers. We enjoyed the market across the street - it was fun to walk through and see the spring flowers and talk to the friendly people. We picked up some fruit and nuts to have for snacks. during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brazvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing