We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Coutellier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Vraiment bien.
Let me start by saying, that the air conditioning broke during our stay on a very hot day. BUT none of it affected the trip because they dealt with it in the best manner. We left happy.
The rooms are beautiful (we took the presidential), the service very nice. Love the details in the service. Location is amasing. Price is good for all the things you get.

Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juspamplemousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    191
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
116
544
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Perfect location in old Quebec, off the busy touristy streets. Close to everything. Make sure you walk along the St.Paul street towards the port - bunch of nice restaurants and shops!
About Hotel itself. Nice but small rooms, definitely not for families with children (saw some reviews with complains). Clean overall, beautiful bathrooms, attentive personnel. Not sure the breakfast at the door is the greatest idea, but better then nothing. Only complain - the noise from the delivery trucks in the morning (probably for the 2 restaurants in the same building). Otherwise - great stay. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson Bay
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Great location without being in the tourist area, and just outside the old city walls...about a 10 minute walk. There is a farmers market just across the street. We stayed 4 nights and our room was a Superior King which by hotel standards is a little smaller, but cosy and probably standard in size for a boutique hotel. Personal and friendly service. DVD rentals were free. The continental breakfast was delivered which we didn't particularly like. However, there are cafes in the area if you want a full breakfast. like bacon and eggs, omelette etc. If you want a great brunch, go to Cafe du Monde which is a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: The largest room here is the King Suite which is nicely appointed. If budget is not a problem, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNelsonBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel is well suited for a visit to Quebec. With convenient access to the lower part of old town, and a short walk to the upper part, it is well located.

The staff were extremely helpful with everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loren17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after a 2 night stay at the Frontenac. This is a small hotel across the street from the Farmer's Market. Everything was within easy walking distance- we never needed cabs, etc. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were not huge, but definitely large and luxurious. We loved the breakfast hung by the door each morning! Nice touch and allowed us to relax in the morning, which was the goal of our trip. The beds and linens were very comfortable, robes provided were the softest of any hotel I've stayed at in the past. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but the sidewalk cafe/bar were a nice place to have a drink in the afternoon. The hotel even provides an iPad in the lobby with Wi-Fi for convenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Large and quiet room, very comfortable bed and luxurious linens. Good air conditioning. Friendly staff. Breakfast across the street worked out well. Close to good restaurants and walking distance to museums.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

From the time we entered the lobby this hotel ticked all the boxes for me. The lobby decor is beautiful, stone wall, fireplace, with coffee/tea, muffins, croissants, and fruit available. The front desk staff are very friendly and spoke very good english. The room decor did not disappoint either, our room was not large but big enough, with a keurig and coffee and green tea. However, my husband drinks orange pekoe or english breakfast tea neither of which was available for the keurig, this was disappointing when we sat down to enjoy our breakfast bag. They provided glass stemware (a must in a good hotel for me), mugs, and small plates in the room to be used with your breakfast bag as well. The breakfast bag is an awesome idea, as others have said it is placed outside your door at 7am on a hook. The first morning we had two orange juice, two croissants, two muffins and two apple sauce with jam and butter. The second day it was the same but with yogurt instead of apple sauce, the breakfast bag was a perfect start to the day. The room also came equiped with very nice fulffy robes. The bathroom was very nice, beautiful large fluffy towels (another must in a good hotel for me), the shower head was large and very nice.
One of the days we stayed it rained very hard and after a few hours of walking in the rain we decided to just give in and go back to our room. We got a movie from the front desk and sat in with some wine and snacks, I thought it was a very nice touch to provide movies for such times as when the weather doesn't fit into your plans.
Overall, this hotel ticked all the boxes and we would return, we have already recommended this hotel and will continue to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaHeatseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing