We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel for an intimate week in an intimate city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent a fabulous six days at the Hotel des Coutellier. It could not be better located - near a ton of cafes (including one next door, Cafe Belley, which features both delicious a.m. coffee and even more sumptuous nighttime glasses of L'Achimiste Beer on tap) and steps from the old city. Service was excellent and the front desk staff were both very nice and very helpful. The building itself is snug, in a very good way. There isn't a scintilla of chain-hotel going on here. The details - towels, soaps - were top of the line. And the pastry breakfast delivered to the room daily is a delight. The only critique is that you rely on K-cups for breakfast coffee - but there is no better solution given that breakfast is delivered at 7am for people who will wake at varying times. But the K-cup holds you over until the trip downstairs. Cafe Belley's coffee is better than any in-room coffee could ever be.

Don't miss a trip to the Marché du Vieux Port, the farmer's market, located right across from the hotel. The berries we brought back to our room (admittedly, the benefit of a summer trip) took our pastry breakfast to another level.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DF1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night only and totally regret that we didn't stay longer. We had a lovely stay with an amazing room. The room and ensuite were of a very high standard and the staff were friendly and helpful speaking French and English. We booked a romantic package which came with a small bottle of prosecco and 2 truffles and also dinner at moss mussels. We couldn't find fault with anything. Even the little breakfast hung on the door in the morning is a treat and such a u inquest thing to do. In reception there was always a different nibble muffins or fruit with iced tea or coffee. Our stay was nothing less than perfect. We would definitely recommend and would book again in a flash

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Even though it has been over a year since we visited Quebec, our stay at this hotel remains one of the highlights. A very short walk from the train station (we had come from Montreal and left for Halifax by train) our room faced Rue St. Paul, the Marche de Vieux Port (be sure to go and check out the local fare --ripe strawberries like I haven't tasted in years!) and the old granaries where Robert Page's "Image Mill" was still being shown. Even being on the street, the double windows and black out shades meant a peaceful, quite room with tasteful contemporary decor (a whimsical, large, red flower pillow in a room of black, grey and white) and a wonderful mini "kitchen". This was great for the hot drinks to go along with a bounteous breakfast we found each morning hanging in a cloth bag outside our door--silverware, napkins, croissants, muffins, orange juice, applesauce and jams(each morning was slightly different). It is rated 4 stars (which we found correct) and the location was ideal for a walk down Rue St. Paul with it's many restaurants and shops and around to lower "Old Town" or up an inclined street behind the hotel to upper "Old Town". Returning here, after each day out visiting the city sights, with it's comfortable bed, upscale bathroom and various amenities (fresh fruit in the lobby) made our visit to Quebec one that we will long remember.
P.S. We had found a very good rate through AAA which on checking out our receptionist said was excellent for late June.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Many good reasons to recommend the Hotel des Coutellier. We found that the location was great: being on the edge of/ below the old city allowed for better parking options for rental car and the ability to easily experience shows on the water front but then easily access the old city attractions. Staff very friendly. The rooms are well appointed and the towels are super soft. I really liked how they served a continental breakfast: in a cooler bag brought to your door in the morning. Simple. Delicious pastries. Not sure if there was a pool or exercise room so disregard those rankings.

Room Tip: On the fourth floor and that worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We enjoyed the facilities, the quietness, and the courteous, friendly and helpful staff of Hotel des Coutellier for 5 nights. It was our first visit to Quebec City and the Coutellier contributed greatly to an overall enjoyable experience. Its location is easy walking distance to Old Quebec and yet removed from crowds when quietness is welcome. Special thanks to the front desk staff for the help, friendliness, restaurant recommendations and patience with our attempts to try our French.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Milo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I travelled to Quebec City with another couple and we stayed at the Coutellier for five nights. We arrived late on a Friday night and the staff knew who we were upon walking in the door. Class. Our rooms were inviting, immaculately clean, and filled with amenities that seemed a step up from the usual fare found in most hotels--as noted by my wife: a powerful blow dryer, q-tips (who provides those?), and quality facial and bath products. The week was a bit warmer than most and we requested a fan to further cool the room at night. No problem. Comfort. We fully took advantage of the bar next door, the restaurants in the area, and the easy--but up hill--walk to the old city. The free, nightly cirque du soleil performance was a quick ten minute walk. In effect, the hotel is conveniently located to do all the things most first time visitors would do. If we ever find our way to Quebec City again, Hotel des Coutellier is first choice!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in Coutellier. I cannot not say enough good things about this hotel. It's location is excellent: very close to all the important sights in the Old Quebec, yet is away from the usual tourist crowd. There is even a convenient parking right across the street. Every aspects of the hotel are thoughtfully designed --- functional and beautiful. All the staff are unfailingly courteous and go out of their way to be helpful. We will definitely stay in this hotel again when we visit Quebec again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,248 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £87 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing