We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Kitimat, Canada
1 review
“Romantic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband was in Quebec for business so I decided to meet him there. I read good reviews on this hotel so I decided to try it. I was pleasantly surprised with its intimate romantic yet modern feel. The friendly staff were very helpfull and more than egar to assist us in English. The room was very cosy and extremely clean. I was very impressed with the organized wall unit with hangers for your hats and scarfs umbrella holder, and a place to put your boots with even a boot cleaner. This was awesome as we visited in December. The hotel I might add was beautifully decorated for Christmas. And there was always warm cider or tea awaiting our return from the cold. The breakfast left on the door hook in the morning was such a personal touch which we enjoyed. The location was also great, just a brisk walk up hill to many wonderful restaurants ,shopping and historical viewing in old Quebec. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    192
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
117
554
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel des Coutellier is a Great Boutique Hotel in the Old Quebec City. It has BIG, clean and modern rooms with stylish design! Bathroom is stocked with stamped-towels and bathing supplies, and the floor is covered with marble tiles. Breakfast is delivered every morning to your room and parking is provided within minutes walk! Everything is within the walking distances, I would say, 15-20minutes. Restaurants/pubs/cafés are by the corner; Antiques and other retails are within 10 minutes walk. Gas Station is next to the Hotel, Christmas Market is in front of the Hotel, Shopping and other landmarks, are about 15 minutes walk....

If you are coming from out of town, ferry station and train station are within the walking distances as well. From the airport, it takes you about 30 minutes by taxi....

We stayed in the Hotel des Coutellier during this Christmas Holiday on Dec 23rd for 3 nights. We were greeted by the receptionist, Crystella, on the first night we arrived. She arranged us with the parking, and offered us with the upgraded room. She even provided us the map with all the sightseeing places and helped us to make reservation for the dinner.

During our stay, we were also being offered the Christmas Tea in the afternoon. Brochures can be taken in the lobby and ipad is available for visitors if needed.

Thank you, Hotel des Coutellier! We really enjoyed our stay here!! We definitely would come back to this Hotel!! Thank you to all receptionists, Crystella, Justine, the lovely evening girl and the knowledgeable guy at night!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiBeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Rarely can I travel these days without finding something that could've or should've been better. No complaints at Hotel des Coutellier. Pleasant, helpful staff upon check in, clean, well appointed room, very nice towels (yeah, it really matters!). The hotel is just at the edge of the old town, across from the market. Great location. I wasn't sure about the breakfast in a bag hung on your doorknob idea, but it turned out to be interesting. Enough fuel to get you out the door to a cafe! We wish the restaurant in the hotel was open, but a great stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maineiac85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a pleasant walk (albeit without baggage) from the ferry from Lévis, in fact this delightful hotel is a pleasant walk from much of what would want to do, see and eat in Québec. We had requested a quiet room so we could sleep with the window open, and had a lovely room with king size bed facing the escarpment. The hotel is on a street with antique stores, art galleries and several great restaurants ( les 3 SSS). The friendly people at the desk make great recommendations. The breakfast hanging on the door had delicious muffins and chocolatines, as well as juice and apple sauce, and milk and cream for coffee. (I would have been happy to pay a few dollars more for premium juice, but it wasn't a big deal). The room was comfortable, good storage, umbrella just in case, and the bathroom was well appointed. Although we had parking across the street till checkout time, the young lady at the front desk extended it till six pm allowing us to visit the museum of civilization (walking distance), lunch at yet another great restaurant around the corner(L'échaudée). There is an indoor market across the street that was worth a detour as well. The lower town in November is quiet, and we felt like we were enjoying the restaurants and museum etc with local residents and not the inevitable crowds of summertime. We will definitely go back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mjlaverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Three of us booked into 3 different rooms for a getaway - all were unique, immaculate and included personal touches like decorator pillows, soft monogrammed towels & cozy housecoats. The beds & duvets were amazingly comfortable & the kitchenettes were well equipped. Although not huge rooms, it was great to have enough space to get together in any of our rooms. We all loved the "Breakfast Delivery Sachel". It was fun, unique and delicious - our favourite was the croissant & yogurt morning:) The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful and the location is awesome… only a few blocks from the train station, easy walking to the heart of the old city, across the street from the market and there are lots of restaurants in the area. If you are looking for an pleasant experience and a great location this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burnside86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel last weekend using a Livingsocial coupon. The deal included champagne and breakfast. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who was helpful at recommending great choices for restaurants and things to do. ALL recommendations exceeded expectations. Rooms were very clean, updated and comfortable. They even provided free movies as well which is great for families or adults.

Breakfast was hung outside of our door every morning. It included juice, fresh croissants, cakes, yogurt, applesauce, jam's etc.... perfect to start the day. You also have a personal Keurig machine with coffee and tea (bring your own if you want more of a choice).

I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Quebec City, walking to the heart of the old city was approx. 5-8 minutes away. Via Rail is also approx. a 10 minute walk and Cruise Terminal is 10 minutes away as well.

One recommendation : More consideration should be taken for those that have a Gluten Allergy or are avoiding Gluten in their diet. I would include special Gluten Free snacks for the morning not just applesauce and Yogurt.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in Quebec City for two nights before we embarked on our Canada/New England cruise. We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel des Coutellier. Our room was lovely and well appointed...much better than expected...not your typical hotel room. The bed was sooooo comfortable. Breakfast delivered to our door each morning. Perfect location for getting on our cruise ship and sightseeing. When we come back to Quebec City we will definitely stay again at the Hotel des Coutellier.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAGossett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing