We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid value and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Solid value and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This well-maintained little boutique hotel features quaint rooms that are kept scrupulously clean. Beds are comfortable, the WIFI works really well, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Overall, a comfortable place to stay. My room faced St-Paul, which has a bit of traffic. The historical features of the building include windows that do not close perfectly so one can hear traffic noise. However, shutters keep out the cold. TV reception is good; bathroom clean and functional with an excellent array of toiletries. The hotel features an elevator so one can easily access the top floors with luggage. Rooms include a mini-bar fridge that can be used to store a few things. This is practical if you want to keep things from the breakfast basket.

Those who want protein for breakfast should plan ahead or eat out. However, where continental breakfasts go, the content of the basket was nice. Aside from butter and jam, included in both baskets, the first breakfast basket contained yogurt, juice, a scone and a pastry. The second one contained applesauce, a chocolate pastry, a chocolate chip muffin, and juice. The second contained too many simple carbs for me so I ended up saving it to eat throughout the day. The items were good, though. I discovered a supermarket not far from the hotel where I was able to purchase small quantities of cheese and other items. My husband would have been fine with lots of sugar for breakfast so it's just a matter of planning. I also did not ask for any special considerations and understand that the hotel staff has been very solicitous of special requests when they can honor them (gluten-free products, for example).

Some people mentioned that one has to make coffee and that there was not a lot of it. I agree - and the single container of cream in the basket did not cheer me. Then I discovered fresh coffee and all the fixings available in the lobby. There is also tea and fruit there later in the day. This is a very nice touch - although I would have liked to have known about it before I got dressed to go out and hunt for coffee the first morning I was there. Other than this minor point, I really liked this little hotel and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing St-Paul may be quieter - ask the hotel when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dondedieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    193
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
118
555
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We loved every minute of our stay here. The room was so cozy and comforting in the midst of a Quebec winter! Everything was clean and comfortable--I especially loved the bathrobes they provided. Our room's bathroom was one of the nicest bathrooms I've seen in a hotel.

My favorite thing about this hotel was the free breakfast. It arrived hanging on the door each morning so we were treated to "breakfast in bed." It was a high quality breakfast, too: croissants, pain au chocolat, muffins, fruit, applesauce, jams, cheese, and coffee downstairs.

The only downside to this hotel (literal downside) is that it is in the lower part of town and you will have to walk up steep stairs or steep winding roads to get to many attractions in the Upper Town. However, this can also be seen as a plus because it will give you good exercise! It is also directly across the street from a neat market.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have stayed here for a week as part of my business travel and loved this place. The hotel ambiance is excellent and the service staffs were really friendly. I would recommend this hotel more for honeymoon or holidaying couples as the hotel setup itself was so romantic. Located in the heart of the historic Quebec city, the hotel is located at a walk-able distance from all major attractions in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajishanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This is a stylish hotel on the edge of Quebec's old town. It's staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean and well decorated. Some fun twists too- like your breakfast comes in a hamper that is hung on your door in the morning. The location is a short walk to nice hotels, bars and the main train station. Quebec is an amazing place to visit and this is a great, romantic spot to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stozzamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Hotel is well located a short distance from the upper town .
The location suffers from a few factors ..
One a very small lobby
as we had to maneuver between a group of men standing there
talking .. Little space for them to congregate and allow guests
to check in.
There was limited space to park our car while we were
getting our luggage out .. The hotel directs you to
a parking lot across the street .. Which is close .. Too bad
they do not have their own dedicated parking spots.
The location suffers from being located diagonally across
from an ESSO gas station .. Just takes the romanticism
out of the equation initially .
The rooms are small ..however well appointed .

Not sure whether I would stay here in the future

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmundston, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Surching for a hotel in Old Quebec for St Valentin and also the Quebec Carnaval,
find DesCoutellier and I am glade of it, the service is excellent, the parking near by for $10 a day only 15 to 20 minutes walk to all attraction in the old Quebec .
The room very cosy and confortable the morning breakfast very good the bathroom good clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I did A LOT of research when picking a hotel for Quebec City. Price, location, parking, breakfast, etc. I settled on this one and kind of forgot about it until the actual trip. The front desk service was great and even let me practice my French. There's parking right across the street in a lot for $10/day. I love how quaint and small the place is, yet it still has everything you would expect. The location is wonderful. I could see the city wall from my window. The best part probably had to be the breakfast. You open the door in the morning and there's a hamper of croissants, scones, muffins, OJ, etc. After a day in the freezing winter, it's the perfect place to relax. They even have free DVD rentals, though we we're tired to watch anything!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing