We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet small hotel with all the amenities you need.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed two nights in Quebec City at Hotel des Coutellier. It was conveniently located just steps from the Gare du Palais station (we took the Orleans express from Montreal) and enjoyed an athletic uphill walk from the hotel to all of the sites in old town Quebec City. We were warmly greeted by the reception staff and provided with suggestions for restaurants and sites. Our room was cozy and clean with plentiful towels and bedding. The morning breakfast and Keurig coffee/teas were a great way to start the day. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I say "buried treasure" because one may overlook this amazing hotel due to location in the "lower" part of Quebec City and that would be a HUGE mistake! It is one of the many reasons we loved it. It was back from the main street such that you heard no street noise. It is RIGHT across the street from the open-air "Marche", which meant we were 5 minutes away from fresh croissants, bread, cheese, fruits and all sorts of yummy fare which provided a fantastic picnic one of our days! The breakfast provided each morning was fantastic - scones or croissants, yogurt or applesauce, juice - and left in a cooler on your door so you could access when you wanted without interruptions.
The hotel staff was by far the most friendly, helpful, and charming I've ever experienced. And the hotel itself was clean, with nice-sized bedrooms and bathrooms, and a modern yet quaint feel. It was only a 5-10 minute walk to "upper" Quebec City and the longest walk we ever had was 20 minutes and that was because we were taking our time browsing through this beautiful city. I highly recommend Hotel des Coutellier!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MiraSSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a great trip to Quebec for the 4th of July weekend. This hotel was a great place to call home during our visit. The continental breakfasts delivered to your room each morning was a nice touch and the staff was very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

What a find. Very comfortable boutique hotel just outside the walls of the old city which made walking everywhere simple! Good room size coupled with tastefully modern style made for true comfort when not exploring this fine city. The staff were exceptional ... friendly and helpful in every way, French or English! Breakfast delivered to room each morning was "typically French" and fine!
Parking at $10 per day was good value. Plenty of restaurants and bars close by. Bit of traffic noise would be only downside but it did not impact on our great experience here and in Quebec City.
I would certainly stay here again and recommend the place!

Room Tip: Higher loot offers a "view" of marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SambaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is in a terrible location. I suggest Google Earthing this address so one can see exactly the size of the main highway that runs 30 feet in front of the hotels entrance. Terrible location to walk to anything. You are really far away from the upper walled village. You are far away from anything. The breakfast is continental, paper cups for coffee. They hang breakfast on your door in a bag in the morning. My suggestion is Hotel Champlain. We stayed there first and it was just so much superior. I) better breakfast, 2) really great location (5 mnt walk to Chateau Frontenac) 3) wonderful coffee, espresso machine for guests 4) Hotel des Coutellier is going to cost you $50.00 more for the same room type. We wanted to stay another night and couldn't get into any hotel because of Art Festival everything was sold out and we felt so cheated when we downgraded to this hotel from the Hotel Champlain. My suggestion is to check out Google Earth before you choose this hotel. Understand how far away you are from the lower village, the funicular and upper village within the walls. Also understand how much more you are paying for a crap location, inferior breakfast, you park across the busy street in a private parking lot and you back your car down a sidewalk that runs along this busy street to unload your luggage in front of the hotel ............all in front of people eating on an outdoor patio watching you.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the alley, so it was not as loud as it would have been facing the main highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lioness6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Sebastien_Page, General Manager at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Lioness6464,

Thank you for leaving a comment on TripAdvisor. I have read you comment and, to be honest, I think you are quite severe! The Old Quebec is not just inside the walls, it’s also outside the walls and there’s plenty to see in the Old port area. As you know, we are located right outside the walls, in the lower part of Old Quebec. At this point, whether you are inside or outside is a matter of perception. St. Paul Street is a gorgeous street where antiques shops, art galleries and fine dining restaurants abound. Le Marché du Vieux-Port (farmer’s market), right across the street from us, is a nice destination if you wish to discover our local flavors and producers.
Since we’re in the lower part of town, I agree that you have to walk up a hill to get on St. Jean Street (7 min. according to Google Maps) or in front of the Chateau Frontenac (a 10-min. walk according to Google Maps). Your suggestion to take the funicular is very appropriate and as you probably know, it’s located in the nicest part of Old Quebec, Quartier Petit-Champlain. You can get there within 12 minutes of flat walking.
I am pleased that you had a nice stay at Hotel Champlain (a 6-minute walk from the Chateau Frontenac), but I still believe that we don’t have such a terrible location.

Thanks again for your comments and I hope that you had a great stay anyway in our wonderful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The room was very clean. We had an in-room safe, keurig-style coffee maker, and a comfortable, well-appointed bathroom. The mini bar was well-stocked and not overpriced, surprisingly. The breakfast left every morning outside the door was charming. The front desk staff was very friendly and informative. We came in early one evening and the hotel offers a free selection of DVDs to rent (DVD player in the room). The location was pretty good. It's a tiny bit outside the center of Old Quebec, but really just a short walk to Old Quebec, the port, and the train station. The photos don't really show that the hotel is located adjacent to a busy street. I'd assumed it was tucked into a cute neighborhood, but it's on a somewhat busy road and near a gas station. Our room was quiet, however, and the street noise wasn't an issue. Overall, I would stay here again. It's a charming boutique-style hotel that is a good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank estoltz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This room was amazing. Very modern while also being very charming, exactly what I'd expect in a room in Old Quebec City. Great location close for walking Old Quebec City. No parking, but cheap parking right across the street. It was the extra special touches in this hotel that put it over and above. Floors were very clean and shiny, still looked new. Bathroom was impeccable with a giant jet tub, all sorts of lighting options. Everything was clean clean clean, with very nice amenities. The beds...ahhh the beds... soft and cozy comfortable with easily the best bedding we've come across in any hotel over the last 8 nights. And one of my favorite touches (and a huge time saver with two small children) was the adorable and delicious breakfast bags delivered to the door in the morning. An absolutely perfect stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,249 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £86 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing