We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“We will be back”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We REALLY enjoyed our stay. Clean rooms, great WIFI, great service, great location in old Quebec. We will be back and highly recommend to others! Close to restaurants, old Quebec, farmers market, VIA train station. Quiet rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    199
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
125
581
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Nice hotel. Very convenient for lawyers in town for business because it is very close to the Court house. It is vey close to the train station. Breakfast is included and delivered to your door every morning in a lunch box! That is amazing when traveling for business.

Negative point: Beds are hard and the rooms are not very well sound proofed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-France C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A little hotel only 8 rooms in each floor, all linens are new, soft and clean, hotel front desk was friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast deliver at the front of our door. Great location at lower town, close to farmers market, we can walk to restaurant area and upper town, but quiet. Also close to highway, and easy to go to nearby area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I expected this to be a good hotel based on TA ratings but it exceeded my expectations. We just returned from our 6 night stay and the hotel was perfect in every way. We arrived via train and the hotel is located just a few minutes walking distance from the train station. Our room was spacious and comfortable and sparkling clean. There were soft, luxurious bathrobes that really made us feel pampered. There is a coffee maker, a refrigerator and a small microwave in the room. The front desk clerks were all very friendly and helpful.

My husband and I travel alot and we both noticed how quiet our room was. There was NOT the usual noise transfer from adjacent rooms.

Breakfast is included and is delivered to your door early each morning.

I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Goers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Billerica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wonderful boutique hotel near all the old city attractions. We loved every minute of our stay here and I did not want to move on to Montreal for the next part of our trip. We booked a suite and it was beautifully decorated and incredibly comfortable; I especially loved ending long days of walking with a soak in the jetted tub. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the parking was convenient (right across the street - we could see our car from the room) and cheap ($10/day with in-and-out privileges). Although our room faced Rue St. Paul which got a bit noisy in the mornings, we loved the location - close enough to all the tourist spots but not in the exact center of the action. Highly recommend - we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Loved our room - 307, the "suite prestige" although facing Rue St Paul it could be a bit l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, excellent location, very close to Via Rail train station, just in front of an interesting market. Well prepared staff that helped us a lot and very good breakfast waiting for you at your room door! Excellent!!!
Locals play a kind o "bocha" in the place of Bordeaux (in front of hotel) being observed by people enjoying a drink in a nice bar.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Renato R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Large room, Breakfast put outside in an insulated bag, on a hook beside the door, great idea, with fruit juice, muffins, croissants, milk for coffee, butter and cutlery. Beds and pillows very comfortable. Bathroom decent size! Central to red bus line, walk to old town! Quebec and her people are lovely and seem to welcome the interest we had! The front office staff were wonderful and happy enough to help with tours and what to see.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank flower_rose38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing