We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

What a nice surprise this hotel was. It was very clean, perfect location we didn't have to drive our car at all, EVERYTHING within walking distance. Wear comfortable shoes, there is lots to see.
The staff at this hotel were friendly and very helpful. They informed us of the fireworks going on the evening we checked in and several other events that were great.The room was perfect and the breakfast bag was always a great way to begin our day.
Do not hesitate to stay here. You will not. Be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Sebastien_Page, Directeur général at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review regarding your recent stay with us!

It is true that there is a lot to do & see around and we are looking forward to welcoming you another time!

Merci beaucoup!

Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    195
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
122
568
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aizenay, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

What a gem this hotel turned out to be. We. Stayed two nights at this hotel and wished it could have been more. The helpful and friendly staff was most welcome, the room was excellent, large, well equipped and quiet. The breakfast outside our door the next morning was amazing, very tasty and plenty of it. Altogether a most enjoyable stay, we will definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeandDave2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Sebastien_Page, Directeur général at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for sharing with us and other travellers your recent stay at our establishment. We are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the city!

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again the next time you visit town!

Sincerely,

Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I visited in late May-early June with both of our parents for a family holiday. The hotel was absolutely perfect! The rooms were well equipped and most importantly super clean! The staff was incredibly friendly and went above and beyond. My husband and I want to return just for a long weekend so we can relax in the hotel and the nearby pub!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our 2 night stay was perfect. Great location, friendly, helpful staff, spotless room, wonderful amenities. Want More? Great bed, good size bathroom with nice quality toiletries, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, comfy robes, lovely breakfast hung on the door super early (thank you from this early bird...). Oh- did I mention spotless?? Quiet! Amazing since we were right on the street near the waterfront and our room was right next to the elevator. Highly recommend this charming hotel, located across from the wonderful farmers market. Very nice touch: good coffee in the lobby early each morning and cool lemonade in the afternoon after a good day's touring. Just splendid.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rambwreck
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Just checked out and we were really pleased with our 3 night stay. The location on the edge of old town meant quiet evenings and easy access to things like the market, the waterfront, and some of the great restaurants in the lower town. Loved the bagged breakfast. Great staff. Lived up to high expectations!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rambwreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Sebastien_Page, Directeur général at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Hôtel des Coutellier! We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the city and that you shared your experience with other travelers.
Hope to have the privilege to welcome you again!
Sincerely,

Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucía
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel two nights. Great location when arriving by train. A 8 minute walk from the Station. I stayed in a Superior Room. Really confy room. Great bathroom with all the amenities. Breakfast included and delivered to your room. I would stay in a Hotel closer to Old Quebec. Although it takes only a 10 minute walk, it's climbing!! There are other hotels closer to old Quebec. Staff is really nice and helpful. I ate dinner twice at a restaurant close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mespanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We REALLY enjoyed our stay. Clean rooms, great WIFI, great service, great location in old Quebec. We will be back and highly recommend to others! Close to restaurants, old Quebec, farmers market, VIA train station. Quiet rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing