We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Highly reccomend Hotel Coutellier” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Coutellier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I Highly reccomend Hotel Coutellier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2006

I just returned from spending 4 nights at Hotel Coutellier, with my husband 2 kids and my mom, i have to say i was VERY impressed, the rooms were immaculate, we looked forward to our picnic basket full of breakfast goodies, hung next to our door every morning, the restaurant adjacent to the hotel was excellent ( I highly reccomend the mussels in the blue cheese sauce!) and the staff was very friendly and helpfull, i look forward to going to Quebec again, and will definately stay at the Hotel Coutieller, the location is ideal , its only a 5 minute walk to EVERYTHING.

Karen M.
Fairfield, CT

  • Liked — the cleanliness and the location
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank karenski6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    191
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
116
545
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Presidential Suite at this hotel July 7th and 8th. Definitely not my idea of a suite - no kitchenette, no separate living room, and the counter space in the bathroom was very limited. Tthe hotel was on a busy street so we got lots of car noise. We also did not have the ability to control the air conditioning in our room so I was glad I had brought a little fan for some air movement. The morning breakfast basket was okay the first day - very good croissants and jam - but the next day we got dry rolls and peanut butter! This hotel is totally self-service so we had to lug our luggage in from the parking lot across a rather busy street; at least they had an elevator though. The only plus was the comfortable, clean king-size bed. We definitely would not stay there again though.

Helpful?
3 Thank bittyryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2006

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Hotel des Coutellier on February 10, 2006 for one night. We were absolutely delighted with our stay there. The hotel was clean, cozy, quiet and comfortable. The extra picnic basket breakfast, helpful staff and "fruit & passions" bath products gave that extra touch. Plus, the restaurant downstairs had the best mussels I've had in a long time. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2005

My boyfriend and I spent the holidays in Quebec City. We stayed at Hotel des Coutellier for 5 nights. I highly recommend staying here. The staff is wonderful - friendly and extremenly helpful with your questions. They can provide directions, book resturant reservations, and have wonderful suggestions on places to visit. The room we stayed in was amazing - very clean and very comfortable beds. One of the best parts is the picnic basket breakfast they leave outside your door every morning. Delicious! Crossiants, Orange Juice, Yogart, Muffins, and Fruit. Parking is right acriss the street. There is also a wonderful indoor farmers market across the street - a must visit. The hotel is conviently located in lower town, but is a quick walk or drive to upper town. The location was perfect. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Reekas_Travels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2005

We absolutely loved this hotel! It is in a perfect location to Old Town Quebec, in walking distance to excellent resturants, shopping and museums. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cozy and comfortable and the delicious breakfast basket gave us something to look forward to when we woke up each morning. It was like having a romantic picnic breakfast in your room each morning. If you are traveling to Quebec City and looking for a great hotel to stay that is in a good location, affordable price range, clean, and comfortable, then stay here, you will not be disappointed. We will definetely stay here again next time we are in Quebec City.

Aaron and Jodie Bonham
Kansas City, USA

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jbonham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2005

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in October 2005.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located close to the train station and just outside the old city walls.

The breakfast basket delivered each morning was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chall32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2005

My husband and I stayed at Hotel des Coutellier for 3 nights earlier this month and loved it. We stayed in the presidential suite, what a beautiful room. The breakfast delivered each morning to our door in the picnic basket was wonderful, a great start to the day. The desk staff were all very nice and helpful which was great since we didn't have a clue where we were going !!! There's so much to see and we were very close to everything. There is a huge indoor market right across the road and the marina is right there as well, and it's only steps away from the Wall (wear good walking shoes - there are a lot of hills to climb). All in all a great vacation and we would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
5 Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing