We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem with first class charm and customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A hidden gem with first class charm and customer service”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This charming boutique hotel is located just outside the walls of Old Quebec and is walking distance of the port, the Fronctenac castle, the museums, restaurants, and shopping, right in the historical district. The staff exemplifies the ultimate in "customer service". We will definitely stay here every time we return to Old Quebec. This hotel is definitely a first class and comes highly recommended ~

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4racpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    216
    24
    11
    1
See reviews for
138
618
25
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Since we discovered this little gem, we always go there on any occasion we get. We live at 3 hours from Quebec, and we don't miss our annual visit (sometimes twice).

The service, the intimacy, the atmosphere, the location, everything is perfect.

And we would'nt miss our little continental breakfast, served in a picnic basket and brought to your door early in the morning, with the best croissants ever... a delight!

At a walking distance of the port, the Fronctenac castle, the museums, right in the historical district, you would think that you are in France. A pearl to be discovered!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffy27Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
739 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,317 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

What is so charming about Quebec City? It's a taste of Europe's best without flying across the Atlantic. Hotel des Coutillier charm lies in its 5 star hotel comforts for a fraction of its price. It is cozy, chic, stylish and understated. We had a room on the 3rd floor facing the street. It was very spacious yet you can tell someone paid attention to detail with its personalized touch that extends to the choice of robes and bath products, The location is a bit off the center of the old historic town, just below the ramparts. We did not mind the walk to the top since the stroll took us to a less touristy but just as interesting array of cafes, galleries and crafts shops.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We enjoyed our stay and would happily return to the Hotel Des Coutellier. Parking is conveniently located across the street. The front desk staff was knowledgeable and helpful. We asked for a quiet room, so they gave us one (404) facing the back of the hotel, rather than one facing the front toward the busy street. The building has thick walls, because we did not hear any of the other guests on our floor, something I cannot say about some modern hotels at which I have stayed. The shower offered abundant hot water. The bathroom and the room have separate thermostats, evidently a desirable feature in winter, and the air conditioning and heat worked quickly. The room had a large flat panel TV and free wi-fi. The hotel also has a computer in the basement with free internet access. Each morning, the hotel hangs a picnic basket by the door with a breakfast of crosissants, muffins or rolls, apple sauce or yogurt, OJ, and real dairy creamer. The room has a coffee maker. There are bowls of fruit at the hotel’s entrance and every floor. There are also restaurants downstairs if you prefer a hot breakfast. For the nearest coffee shop, make 2 rights after leaving the hotel and walk down Rue St. Andre street half a block. If you continue on Rue St. Andre, you will find charming shops and restaurants. If you walk up the steep street behind the hotel and up the hill, you will head toward Château Frontenac, the landmark of Old Quebec. There is a free Ecobus stop just outside of the hotel that picks up every 15 minutes or so and circles both lower town and upper town. The hotel is also located near a tunnel which we took for a day trip to hike and see waterfalls.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d33jBocaRaton_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we decided to stay at the Hotel Des Coutellier and it did not disappoint. It is decorated with modern decor and although the room was smallish it offered everything we needed. The staff was very friendly. The location was very convenient to all the Old Quebec sites. It is a very easy walk to the funicular that takes you up the wall into the old city. It sits right next to the city wall with a road running up into the walled city. We decided to hike up that road most of the time which we enjoyed as the weather was beautiful, but small children or elderly would probably have a hard time with the steepness. Delightful sidewalk cafes and restaurants nearby. Parking was not free but was discounted for hotel guests and much less than what I've paid in other cities.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silicagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

I did enjoy this lovely little hotel. Our room was intimate and lovely. The bathroom was comparatively large and everything is so clean and well kept. The breakfast basket is a wonderful touch, but I would have liked better quality baked goods and something more whole grain. The biggest issue was the walking uphill and downhill. The hotel is located in Lower Town. Most, but definitely not all, of the sites and restaurants are in Haute-Ville, or on top of the hill. The walking is good exercise, but a bit of a challenge. I'm glad the downhill was after dinner rather than having to walk uphill to get back to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeanMom289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My mother, brother and I decided to do a family trip to Quebec City from Saturday of Memorial Day weekend to the following Wednesday. I read many reviews on a variety of hotels in the city. After careful consideration we decided on Hotel des Coutellier and were we happy with our decision. At the initial booking I requested our two rooms be next to each other on the same floor. The hotel contacted me within an hour and indicated that the rooms would be on the same floor and only one room between us and they would hold the rooms for us. I emailed them back, thanked them and they responded within 15 minutes and said if there were any questions or concerns to please let them know immediately.

After a ten hour drive to Quebec City we arrived at the hotel around 5pm. If you're coming from the south side of the St. Lawrence take the exit for the Boulevard Champlain right after the bridge and come into the Lower Town right along the river. It is a nice ride and you avoid having to go through the city to get to the Lower Town. If you have never been to the hotel it can be a liitle confusing on where to initially park. Your best bet is best to park across the street in the parking lot on rue St-Paul and walk across the street to check in. That's where you will be able to park your car for the duration of your stay at $9 per day. The lobby is small and you have to walk up 5 steps to get to the front desk. In the morning they put coffee, croissants and fruit out by 6am. There is an elevator.

Upon check-in Gerald explained about the parking situation (walking me outdoors and pointing out where to park the car), the complimentary breakfast basket they put outside your door each morning and then folded out on a map of the Old Town. He asked us what we were interested in seeing and marked different sights and restaurants we should see and how to get there. All of the staff were most accommodating throughout our stay, answering questions and making phone calls for us (taxis, restaurant reservations, etc). They all spoke English very well and they appreciate it when you attempt to speak some French.

Our rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were spotless. Room 404 had a single queen bed and was quite spacious with two windows having a quaint view looking toward the Upper Town. Room 406 had two double beds with a single window (no view to speak of) but was very clean. There was not a lot of shelf space in this bathroom but the shower was great and, as mentioned before, both bathrooms were absolutely spotless. There was virtually no noise heard in the rooms, except for an occasional door closing in the hallway. Otherwise, they seem to be practically soundproof. All the windows could be opened if you want fresh air, which I like very much. Other: The beds were comfortable, robes were provided, the lighting was a little muted, the TV was a nice sized flat screen (406 had a DVD player), the mini-bar fridge had beer, liquor and snacks reasonably priced.

The hotel is located near the Old Port and is in a relatively quiet section compared to the Upper Town. There is a free Ecolobus which stops near the hotel every 10-15 minutes which will take you either farther into the Lower Town or up the hill into the Upper Town. I would definitely recommend this: driving in the Old City can be rather confusing, even if you have a GPS. The staff will answer any question that you have and will be most helpful if any difficulties arise. One example: we booked a tour with Old Quebec Tours for a 2 hour tour of the city on our first full day there at 10:15am. Gerald told us when we first arrived that he could arrange to have us picked up at the hotel instead of us having to find our way to the Hotel Frontenac where the tour was to begin. He did and told us to be outside the hotel at 9:45am the next morning and the tour van would pick us up. Next morning we were there at 9:35am and waited and waited. By 9:55 they still hadn't picked us up. I went back into the hotel and asked the front desk clerk (I forgot her name) if this was unusual. She said it was very unusual, immediately called Old Quebec Tours and said they would send someone down right away, which they did.

Every morning they put a basket outside your door which contains a fork, a spoon, a juice box, croissant, a roll or muffin, cheese or yougurt and coffee creamers. It may not be everyone's thing, but it is a nice touch. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, Moss Bistro Belge. It's a nice bistro restaurant, heavy on mussels but at they have at least one chicken, pork, veal and beef on the menu on any given day. The hotel is a five minute walk from some very nice restaurants: Cafe St. Malo, L'Echaude, Mistral Gagnant. Right next door is Hotel Belley with a ncie bar and plenty of places to sit outside, have a beer and people watch.

If you want a nice, quiet location that's only a few minutes from all of the action you cannot beat this hotel. The staff is great and the rooms are comfortable. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tollers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Property: Hotel des Coutellier
Address: 253 rue St-Paul | 253, rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing