We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet was wonderful”

Terrace Restaurant in the Fairmont Frontenac
Ranked #253 of 1,453 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Buffet was wonderful”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The upper level was closed, but we went at 1130 for lunch and were seated by the window by the Terrace Dufferin. Fun to watch people even through the window. The buffet was 33 (I think, my mom paid). All you can eat...and we did! Beautifully presented, lots of variety. As the city is pricey for food, we felt we really got our monies worth here. Good we got there right at 11:30. A bus tour came in after we had gotten started.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Chateau Frontenac for brunch”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Sunday brunch at the Chateau Frontenac was amazing! Duck, lobster, chateaubriand, lamb, and on and on. The main restaurant is under renovation, so the brunch was moved to the Café, but it was still a standout. With a bottle of champagne, tax and tip, was around $180 but sooooo worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank terryk&mikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellysford, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch at the Frontenac”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were told this was a must-do, so we were happy to spend several hours on a cool, wet Sunday morning eating our way through a wonderful assortment of cheese, smoked salmon, cured meats, croissants, egg dishes, maple glazed crepes, carved meats (lamb with rosemary au jus was very good), and of course, pastries. The service was very attentive, and the atmosphere was very relaxed albeit in a formal setting. We were not guests of the hotel, but did not have a problem getting a reservation for 4 the day before.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J W D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“I hope this is the bar at the hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I cannot remember the exact name of the place we visited, but it is the hotel bar. We stopped in for a martini and the view. It was expensive, which we expected. The presentation and added snacks provided by our bartender made it quite an experience. We were visiting from a cruise ship, so had limited time. It was a highlight of a great day in a great city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lunch looking out over the water”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We enjoyed a quiet lunch in the Frontenac overlooking the river. We watched a boat cut its path through the ice as we ate a light lunch in preparation for a heavier dinner. Peaceful, well prepared and presented. A relaxing lunch during a relaxing vacation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Luce8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terrace Restaurant in the Fairmont Frontenac also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Terrace Restaurant in the Fairmont Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing