We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very different kind of Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #25 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for your visit to the old town. It is right outside the gate. This hotel is more like a boutique hotel and not a Marriott that you are used too. A very different set up for the concierge lounge. Its on the second level above the lobby and seems to be open to anyone. The breakfast was average. They were not serving snacks in the afternoon so they gave us a $10 coupon to purchase in the bar area. The staff was real friendly, especially Nicholas the concierge who went out of his way to accommodate us. I feel the price could have been a little better since we were traveling in the off season. Overall a pleasant visit at a very different Marriott.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank French S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. I have shared your wonderful comments with Nicolas. Thank you for the constructive comments on the concierge lounge. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

I always stay at this hotel when I visit Quebec city for business trip, perfect location (old Quebec city), very nice and comfortable. However the price went up recently, breakfast buffet is average. The main things were parking and internet charge. They charge $13 per day for internet. But my company paid for those charges (parking and internet)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taudilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great location; you can walk to sights and restaurants in old town easily. The staff was very accommodating. Do complain about the surcharge for wifi and they might cut you a break.
This is an excellent choice for a visit to QC.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We took good note of your comment on internet and we will have a tiered-up internet option very soon. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After staying there for 2 nights I understood why the most critical reviews come form the frequent Marriott visitors. We had great experience with the club level accommodations in Marriotts in other places (see my review of Aruba's Marriott). In Quebec, the arrangements are very poor. There is no club floor here, no separate check in, and no dedicated concierge, the club (or concierge, as they call it) room here was just a regular, pretty small room, albeit on a top floor, with a view of an office building. The breakfast was of such a poor quality, with so many places to have breakfast around the hotel it was a shame to pay for it. The most interestingly, the lounge was closed after breakfast, because it was a weekend, so no fridge with drinks, no lunch, no evening o'dourves. Really? If you, the management, think that club level travelers don't come here on weekends, then may be you should stop charging concierge rates for the regular rooms with no additional perks on those days? The $10 vouchers to their restaurant offered to compensate for the missing lounge is a pretty poor substitute for the club level experience.

Now, having said all that, the hotel is certainly not bad, it's a great location for anything and everything, and the staff is very pleasant. Rooms are clean, but small and not up to modern standards. Overall, it looks like a well managed Courtyard Marriott, and that what it used to be, and that what it should have remained, as their aspirations to become a downtown Marriott clearly did not materialize in anything but price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. This would be the case for your experience. We convereted to a Marriott brand in July 2013 and many changes have occured since your stay. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and this time, exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I had 65 friends staying at this hotel before our cruise and everyone enjoyed the hotel. The rooms were nice and the food was excellent in the restaurant. The people that work at this hotel are excellent and they treat guests so nicely. Just top of the top smaller hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertSummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. I have shared your wonderful comments with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The hotels close to down town, has nice view and is in a decent area but has really slow and bad service. The room and the beds are really small for the price there charging. It could be considered similar to a two or three star hotel with these flaws.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Pakeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. The experiences you have described are not characteristic of the level of service we ask associates to provide, and we apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. Your important feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and this time, exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Convenient to Parliament and upper town. We've always lucked out finding parking, so we did tend to drive everywhere, plus found street parking four nights nearby the hotel, free from 9-9, nice! Others, mostly American families, in the elevator felt exhausted from all of the walking downhill and back up daily. Definitely hilly decent to Old town, which would be a strenuous climb back to this local. Also really disliked our 4th floor cave room which faced another building so completely that we had no idea what the weather was like, couldn't even see the sky. I guess this was good for sleeping, dark anyway, but I'd have complained if it hadn't been a 'free stay' using our Marriott reward points. No free breakfast, but came with a mini refrigerator and coffee maker.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katikati222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We apologize that your stay wasn't totaly up to your expectations. We suggest that you ask for a view next time you reserve. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and this time, exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quebec City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Address: 850 Place D'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £105 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quebec City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing easy access to Jean-Lesage International Airport, Québec City Marriott Downtown offers business travelers and vacationers an elegant, sophisticated spot from which to explore Old Quebec. Conveniently located near Québec City Convention Centre and the historic Citadelle of Québec, our upscale hotel offers spacious rooms and thoughtful amenities in abundance. Get a good night's sleep inspired by our luxury bedding, then begin your day by taking care of your work obligations using our ergonomic workstations and high-speed Wi-Fi, or by visiting our full-service business center. Have breakfast in bed thanks to our room service, or head down to the lobby to have delicious French cuisine at our on-site restaurant, Que Sera Sera. If you're hosting a meeting or celebration soon, reserve one of our six event spaces with AV equipment, an on-site culinary team and expert event planners. Begin making marvelous memories when you book your stay at Québec City Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quebec City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Quebec City Downtown Hotel Quebec City
Marriott Quebec City
Quebec City Courtyard
Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing