We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good hotel, but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #25 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel, but”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights after a Princess cruise . Great city and the hotel is in a great location. Right in the middle of everything: shopping, food, sightseeing, etc. We chose a higher floor and the room was very good. Clean. Comfy.
The restaurant in the lobby had slow or non-existent service. On the second night we waited after seating, waited, waited, and never were served. We walked out and went down the street. The first night was slow service too. The one waitress on both nights was overwhelmed. It didn't seem busy but maybe overwhelmed by room service? Maybe just pick a seat at the bar, have a drink, and find food elsewhere.
Otherwise would have been five stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. The experiences you have described in the restaurant area are not characteristic of the level of service we try to achieve. On the other hand, we are happy that you found all other aspect of our hotel to be up to your satisfaction. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and this time, exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    385
    76
    23
    6
See reviews for
312
481
43
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived there just ahead of an impending snowstorm in Dec 2012 and checked in, The location was just awesome - our room had a view of the castle and the ice rink and it looked real pretty. When snow started falling in the late evening it looked even better. The location is so convinient that we could walk to anywhere in the old quebec city.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the fort or the ice rink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesiTrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We are happy to see that you have witnessed that magical moment when snow is falling on the old Quebec City in the evening. Look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The location of this hotel is awesome, right in the heart of the city but for our stay breakfast not included, when we called to front desk they said coffee was free downstairs so wife and I went downstairs for coffee. In the same location was some eggs and sausage so when I arrived, I got coffee and eggs and 3 sausage links. The hotel clerk rushed upstairs and told me to put the eggs back because this is for gold members only, I am only Silver! haha Or I can take it downstairs and pay the breakfast fee. Poor communication or lack of training for hotel clerk. Next is internet, free only in lobby but it never was a good connection, we went next door to "Second Cup" coffee shop for free connection and great wifi reception. The room was very nice. Parking is not included at hotel you must park in public parking garage which cost CAD 18 per day. Otherwise all else was fine. By the way, I my two nights were free because I got the room on points! Maybe this is why the ala cart on everything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1fitphotoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.
Clearly we were not performing at our usually high standards that morning, and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail and we have made the necessary adjustments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a nice, convenient location. Staff was great too. We enjoyed eating in the restaurant, and the continental breakfast that came with our concierge level room was very nice. Front desk staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Ask about a room with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jugrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Marriott in Quebec City for 4 days, Oct. 12 - Oct. 16, 2013 at the end of a Canada/New England cruise. After much research on my part we chose the Marriott. Great decision. The location is perfect for seeing both new and old Quebec, wonderful restaurants and bakeries within walking distance and an ice-skating rink right outside the front door and just before one of the main gates to old town. The restaurant inside the Marriott is very good also, food, wine etc. My only suggestion is "insist" on a "city view" room, even if you have to wait for it. I had it stated in the reservations.

Room Tip: a room with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We are happy to see that your long research to find the best option for you ended up to be a real winner. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
749 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for your visit to the old town. It is right outside the gate. This hotel is more like a boutique hotel and not a Marriott that you are used too. A very different set up for the concierge lounge. Its on the second level above the lobby and seems to be open to anyone. The breakfast was average. They were not serving snacks in the afternoon so they gave us a $10 coupon to purchase in the bar area. The staff was real friendly, especially Nicholas the concierge who went out of his way to accommodate us. I feel the price could have been a little better since we were traveling in the off season. Overall a pleasant visit at a very different Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank French S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. I have shared your wonderful comments with Nicolas. Thank you for the constructive comments on the concierge lounge. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I always stay at this hotel when I visit Quebec city for business trip, perfect location (old Quebec city), very nice and comfortable. However the price went up recently, breakfast buffet is average. The main things were parking and internet charge. They charge $13 per day for internet. But my company paid for those charges (parking and internet)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taudilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
2,550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#31 of 101 in Quebec City
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
1,767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quebec City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Property: Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Address: 850 Place d'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quebec City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quebec City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Quebec City Downtown Hotel Quebec City
Marriott Quebec City
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing