We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay here. It's a great location, within walking distance of museums, attractions and great restaurants. The bed was very comfortable and the room size was adequate. We did not pay for breakfast as there are many other local choices nearby. They offer valet parking for a fee but we used the garage next door since we didnt use the car much. There is a metro grocery store within walking distance, if interested. We chose the hotel because we wanted to be loyal to marriott and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. Thank you also for being loyal customers of Marriott. Look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was our second stay here. The first time, the property was under construction, so this time was better because everything was updated. The front desk personnel are very friendly and eager to please. Same with the restaurant staff. We had breakfast here and it was so-so. Oatmeal was kind of glommy and eggs benedict were nothing special. I was disappointed to have to pay $12.95 per day for internet access. Also I asked advice from Xavier at the concierge on restaurants and I was not pleased with either recommendation. I wanted a nice Sushi Restaurant for lunch and he sent me to Yozu which is more like a McDonald's for Sushi....no ambiance and not very good food. He also sent us to Feu Sacre steakhouse and we did not like the hostess or the menu, so we left. On the plus side, the fitness center is updated and very nice, plus the location right outside the gates to the city is excellent. The bed was comfortable and everything was very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OutdoorsyMaineGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselyn F, Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Good day,
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our associates strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Being a frequent business traveler and not a huge fan of Marriott brand altogether (but a gold elite member) I'd have to say I was overall impressed with this hotel. Much smaller than most Marriott's I'm used to. This seems to allow the staff to be much more attentive and friendly than my previous experiences. Rooms are standard marriott quality. Great location just a short walk to most of old Quebec City. Decent little bar and restaurant as well. I'd recommend if the price is right. - better than the hilton across the street. No complaints here whatsoever for a short stay business traveler.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank concordia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We have appreciated your comment especially because it is fair and along the line that we might be a small Marriott in size but we think big. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed 5 nights, 6 - 11 Feb 2014. We were with one other couple. The reception was adequate. The clerks were friendly and typically accommodating. Our room was clean and the typical but only average amenities were present. The heater was very loud. The view was of a large nautilus fitness center.
The service in the restaurant was fair. Food was very overpriced and somewhat below average. The concierge lounge was poorly staffed and food and beverage was scarse. I had to get plates, napkins and flatware from downstairs and was treated very rudely by one of the waitresses. I witnessed a young patron ask the same waitress for water and she only shook her head no!
Loading and unloading was very inadequate. The area was icy and unclear.
I strongly suggest avoiding this hotel until and if ever they improve. Chose a Canadian hotel nearby and enjoy the professional courtesy and pampering.

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank The1SGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselyn F, Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.
I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. While an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend with all sincerity, I certainly empathize regarding the point (s) your mention in your review.This level of service is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed with the concerned party.
Again, please accept my apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The lobby staff here, from the check in desk to the concierge to the bartender will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and point you to anywhere you want to go. This hotel is in a superb location, right next to the Old City, 10 minutes from the winter Carnaval, plenty of sightseeing, shops and restaurants close by. Parking next door is a hefty $18 and there are no options nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thesportsroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. I have shared your wonderful comments with our staff. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hotel is located next to an underground parking garage which is one of the reasons we opted for the Marriott. As many other reviewers have stated this used to be a Courtyard. I'm not sure of the reasons for the change but it really didn't feel like a full service Marriott at check in and that is not a complaint just an observation. The lobby area is mostly taken up by the restaurant and bar. There are 2 small areas up a couple of steps where there are a few seats just not a typical full service Marriott lobby. Check in was quick and easy, room was a good size as was the bathroom which also had plenty shelf space. Good seating options and desk and storage space. Heating worked well and bed was comfortable. Only minor issue was shower water temperature which we would have liked to be just a little warmer. We did let reception know this on checkout and they appreciated the info. We had a light dinner in the hotel twice which we enjoyed with great food and service. Overall the service was excellent across the board. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. Thank you for your accurate description of our hotel lobby. We designed it this way to have sort of a lounge boutique experience as soon as you enter the hotel. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

As many others have noted, the location is great and is also convenient if you want to do more than see the old town. Our room was pretty and the bed comfortable. We used the gym which had bottled water, fresh apples and towels although it could have used a bit more variety in the equipment which was mostly treadmills. We had a few minor complaints about our room: no matter how high we cranked up the thermostat, our room was always cold. Also, we could not get the shower hot enough for our liking. Finally, it is a bit annoying to be charged for internet use in this day and age, although the overall price was still very reasonable: we booked a weekend over Carnaval for $115 per night for a room with a king bed. I thought for that price what we got was excellent value and at that price I would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chula_Banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#33 of 100 in Quebec City
2,897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
5,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quebec City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Address: 850 Place D'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £90 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quebec City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing easy access to Jean-Lesage International Airport, Québec City Marriott Downtown offers business travelers and vacationers an elegant, sophisticated spot from which to explore Old Quebec. Conveniently located near Québec City Convention Centre and the historic Citadelle of Québec, our upscale hotel offers spacious rooms and thoughtful amenities in abundance. Get a good night's sleep inspired by our luxury bedding, then begin your day by taking care of your work obligations using our ergonomic workstations and high-speed Wi-Fi, or by visiting our full-service business center. Have breakfast in bed thanks to our room service, or head down to the lobby to have delicious French cuisine at our on-site restaurant, Que Sera Sera. If you're hosting a meeting or celebration soon, reserve one of our six event spaces with AV equipment, an on-site culinary team and expert event planners. Begin making marvelous memories when you book your stay at Québec City Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quebec City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Quebec City Downtown Hotel Quebec City
Marriott Quebec City
Quebec City Courtyard
Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing