We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #23 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
316 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great service and location”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Marriott has a terrific location - it looks down on the St. Jean gate to the old city at the Palais Montcalm, is only 2 blocks from Parliament, and an easy walk to most sites inside the old city walls. Check in and out service excellent; the room was only moderate in size, but very clean. No views worth mentioning except from E. facing rooms, some of which may see the St. Jean gate. the biggest drawback for us was the street noise, though very little came from inside hotel (which was not busy when we were there); only 1 elevator, but it was more than adequate during our stay. Nice bar/lounge (incl small meals) in lobby. No pool or spa. We felt a little 'nickel and dimed' by the charge for wifi and internet usage (most hotels recently seem to cover that at no charge), and charges of $3 for the water bottle in room and $1 for local phone calls; also, the included coffee maker allowed for 1 cup of regular coffee, and 1 of decaf, and also had only 2 packages of tea.

Room Tip: Ask for E, facing for a view, or maybe S. facing for less outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We look forward to welcome you back in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    392
    78
    23
    6
See reviews for
320
488
43
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It was my first time in Quebec City. So i didn't know what to expect or how far i would have to travel to see the sights. This hotel is in the middle of it all. Didn't take one taxi and it was winter!

The rooms felt brand new. The gym was really impressive for a hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. I will definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We are happy that you have both enjoyed so much our city and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great hotel in a perfect location for all Quebec City has to offer.

The location could not be better, 10 minute or less walk to all the major sights in beautiful Quebec City and a ton of nearby restaurants. Hotel has a more boutique feel than a big scale Marriott with nicely appointed very clean rooms. Staff is super friendly, especially front desk. I would stay here again without question.

Only negative .. wifi is about $15 for 24 hrs with taxes, hotels that charge for it drive me crazy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlateMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again. Please note that we will have a tiered-up internet plan very soon at a reduced price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice, clean spacious room, had a beer in the bar $10 with the tip, parking is also extra had to park down the street.
But all in all very well situated near old Quebec next to the outdoor skating rink

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselyn F, Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay here. It's a great location, within walking distance of museums, attractions and great restaurants. The bed was very comfortable and the room size was adequate. We did not pay for breakfast as there are many other local choices nearby. They offer valet parking for a fee but we used the garage next door since we didnt use the car much. There is a metro grocery store within walking distance, if interested. We chose the hotel because we wanted to be loyal to marriott and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. Thank you also for being loyal customers of Marriott. Look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was our second stay here. The first time, the property was under construction, so this time was better because everything was updated. The front desk personnel are very friendly and eager to please. Same with the restaurant staff. We had breakfast here and it was so-so. Oatmeal was kind of glommy and eggs benedict were nothing special. I was disappointed to have to pay $12.95 per day for internet access. Also I asked advice from Xavier at the concierge on restaurants and I was not pleased with either recommendation. I wanted a nice Sushi Restaurant for lunch and he sent me to Yozu which is more like a McDonald's for Sushi....no ambiance and not very good food. He also sent us to Feu Sacre steakhouse and we did not like the hostess or the menu, so we left. On the plus side, the fitness center is updated and very nice, plus the location right outside the gates to the city is excellent. The bed was comfortable and everything was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutdoorsyMaineGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselyn F, Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Good day,
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our associates strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Being a frequent business traveler and not a huge fan of Marriott brand altogether (but a gold elite member) I'd have to say I was overall impressed with this hotel. Much smaller than most Marriott's I'm used to. This seems to allow the staff to be much more attentive and friendly than my previous experiences. Rooms are standard marriott quality. Great location just a short walk to most of old Quebec City. Decent little bar and restaurant as well. I'd recommend if the price is right. - better than the hilton across the street. No complaints here whatsoever for a short stay business traveler.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank concordia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques L, General Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marriott Quebec City Downtown. We have appreciated your comment especially because it is fair and along the line that we might be a small Marriott in size but we think big. We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectation once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#33 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quebec City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Property: Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Address: 850 Place D'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quebec City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining historic elegance with modern conveniences, Quebec City Marriott Downtown delivers a world-class experience for business and leisure travel. Our Quebec City hotel's location in the heart of the downtown district is ideal, offering easy access to popular attractions like Citadelle of Quebec, Parliament Hill, Montmorency Falls and the renowned Chateau Frontenac. The Quebec City Convention Center is also moments from away. At Quebec City Marriott Downtown, you have everything you need for any enjoyable stay in Canada, including sophisticated accommodations with plush bedding, flat-screen TVs and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Quebec City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Quebec City Downtown Hotel Quebec City
Marriott Quebec City
Quebec City Courtyard
Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing