We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Michel Doyon
Ranked #43 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at the hotel. The room was clean all set up and arranged for us when we arrived. The staff was very helpful, accessible and friendly. We spent most of our time in Old Quebec and the Auberge was only a 10 minute taxi ride which was very convenient. Breakfast time was a good time to meet up with fellow travelers. The hotel is in a nice quiet area of town with readily accessible buses.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHot555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    80
    42
    20
    20
See reviews for
29
100
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neulussheim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Auberge Michel Doyon was our choice to stay for the visit of Québec-City. The greeting was very friendly and we made use of the possibility to train our French. The Auberge is about 40min by foot from the old town of Québec-City away. We used this distance to explore the environment between the Auberge and the old town of Québec-City. We were nicely informed, that there are bus stations directly in front of the Auberge. Although the room furnishing was rather old, it was in good condition and everything was clean. The breakfast was nice and the owners were always there to refill everything and cleaning the tables. The owners are very friendly. The price to quality ratio was good compared to other hotels during our 3-weeks trip.
Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViktorMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were referred to this hotel by a friend who used to work there. It was ok. It is an old hotel and in need of some refurbishment but it is a work in progress - literally. It is handy to the city. The photos on the net show kitchens, but there are no kettles, coffee machines, mugs, plates, knives and forks - nothing. So if you do intend to use the kitchens then you will have to take your own things with you or run to the salvo's store like we did and buy some things to see you through. The breakfast milk in the dining room is awful. It was lumpy and Im not sure if it was made with powdered milk. The young receptionist needs to get a new job - she doesn't like this one that she has and is grumpy to the guests. On the other hand the day receptionist was very helpful with my limited french. I think it would be a good place to stay and Id stay there again but Id know to take my own things and Id know not to talk to the young female almost Gothic looking receptionist.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaRosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I spent 1 night in this hotel with my boyfriend in august. It's close to the city center and if you want to use the bus it's fast and cheap to reach it. The rooms are very nice and clean. The price is in line with the seasonality of the period. The breakfast was good. What i saw is that Serge (the owner) it:s always cleaning, good point! I definitely suggest this hotel to other couples or families.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenaBG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

If you don't mind smaller rooms and maybe shared bathrooms this is an great choice. We booked knowing the rooms were smaller and that the bathroom would be shared...we needed an inexpensive room. Very happy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leaperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you are expecting a 5 star hotel...this is not it. But I still give it 5 out of 5 for overall rating because for the price, you cannot beat this offer. Clean room with A/C, clean bathroom. Parking and breakfast included. Easy access to Old Quebec from the hotel. The hotel staff was kind, friendly and always available for our questions. For the price, I was actually expecting almost a hostel like quality of stay but what we got was way better. I strongly recommend Auberge Michel Doyon if you are travelling on a budget or if you like to spend your money on good food and entertainment for your trip rather than on sleeping!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gen703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed at the Auberge this past weekend, and could not be more pleased. The service was top notch, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, and the beds were very comfortable. All the necessary amenities were available, and the breakfast was nice and healthy.

I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAncliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Sillery
Auberge Maison Roy
Auberge Maison Roy
#83 of 119 in Quebec City
74 reviews
Le Gite 812
#101 of 119 in Quebec City
14 reviews
Au Reve Fleuri
#63 of 119 in Quebec City
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Manoir Charest
Hotel Manoir Charest
#106 of 119 in Quebec City
78 reviews
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#9 of 119 in Quebec City
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Michel Doyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Michel Doyon

Property: Auberge Michel Doyon
Address: 1215 chemin Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1S 2N1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge Michel Doyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High speed Internet access; many rooms with PC. This property opened in July of 1947, and was renovated in September of 2002. Family atmosphere. Ensuite private or semi-private bathroom. All rooms with private bathroom are Air Conditioned. Cable TV; Telephone (No charge for local calls); Regrigerator; Microwave; Complimentary continental breakfast. 10 minutes to Old Quebec via Bus #7. Best value for the money in Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge Michel Doyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Michel Doyon Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Michel Doyon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing