We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Unique”
Review of Hotel l'Ermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel l'Ermitage
Ranked #74 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming and Unique”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were really impressed with this hotel. Our room was very tiny, as was the bathroom, but the room had lots of character, with a beautiful brick wall, well maintained, and best of all - a gorgeous small private balcony attached to our room looking over Old Quebec.

It was a fairly basic hotel room, but we loved it, and the location was perfect, being in the heart of Old Quebec. They also have a hot tub available on the roof top of the Acadia Hotel which was free to use for us (only a few steps away from Hotel L'Ermitage), which was a nice treat for one evening.

The continental breakfast was served at a restaurant just a block away from the hotel, the food was just a basic breakfast buffet of bacon, eggs, sausage, cereal, fruit and crepes. Nothing spectacular but it was okay, and free.

Overall, a great place to stay in an absolutely beautiful city!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some of your time to review our hotel. We're really happy to know that you were impressed by our hotel and that it has met your expectations. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    46
    11
    10
    1
See reviews for
26
37
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We really enjoy our stay in this hotel. The room was huge, clean and cozy. Staff was excellent. Special thanks to Julio and Alejandro. A great location, inside Old Quebec.We would definitely go back again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCHNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor! We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights here. The centuries old buildings in this city are well preserved and give this city lots of charm. I loved the character and details in the rooms. The a/c and the internet worked very well. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The location was perfect for walking to everything. Be prepared to walk up stairs if you get an upper room, there is no elevator but I was fine with that. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmdjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some of your time to review our hotel. As you mentioned, we have a great location near all the main attractions of Quebec city. We're happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel has met your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed 3 nights in June and no complaints, especially for the price and location. You're a 5 min walk from the Chateau Frontenac and all that Old Quebec has to offer. Also close to the Plains of Abraham and Quebec (a walk up St.Jean to get away from all the touristy-stuff is a must-do, in our opinion). The room was small but fairly well appointed, the beds were comfortable, linens were clean. We stayed on the ground floor, street-side room and didn't have a problem with noise, but maybe we just got lucky with the timing (we weren't there on a weekend). We didn't have the breakfast, so can't comment on that. No issues with with the wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueBee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment on our hotel! We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel l'Ermitage and that our hotel has met your expectations. We do have a great location near all the main activities and boutiques in old Quebec city. We hope that you liked Quebec city and would be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed there one night in a beautiful room - very french and old. It is in old Quebec and is close to good restaurants and the staff are lovely. Unfortunately our room was right on the street and was quite noisy at night so I suggest you request a room off the road. The breakfast is provided but is american not french but still good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your comment on our hotel. We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We do have a great location in the center of the city, close to the main activities, restaurants and boutiques of old Quebec. We would be really happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I had a good experience here. Only thing was that wireless signal was very weak.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your comment on our hotel! We're glad to see that you had a good experience at our hotel and would be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Nous avons opté pour une des chambre régulière située à l'étage du haut. Autant l'hôtel que la chambre étaient biens tenus, pleins de charme et décorés avec goût. La chambre était peut-être un peu petite mais amplement suffisante pour deux personnes. Nous avons également apprécié le fait que l'hôtel soit situé en plein dans le vieux Québec. Nous étions ainsi à quelques minutes à pied de tout ce qui était intéressant à voir tout en étant sur une belle rue tranquille. Nous y retournerons sans hésiter!

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres semblent être de bonne qualité.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parlepasamasoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Google Translation
Cher client,
Merci d'avoir partagé votre avis sur notre Hôtel l'Ermitage. Nous sommes très heureux de constater que vous avez apprécié votre séjour à notre hôtel et que nos chambres étaient à la hauteur de vos attentes. Notre hôtel est effectivement situé au coeur du centre-ville et tout près des principaux attraits touristiques de la ville. Nous espérons vous recevoir de nouveau lors d'un prochain séjour !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#56 of 102 in Quebec City
668 reviews
Maison du General
#92 of 102 in Quebec City
24 reviews
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#44 of 102 in Quebec City
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
#20 of 102 in Quebec City
517 reviews
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
#76 of 102 in Quebec City
82 reviews
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
#50 of 102 in Quebec City
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ermitage

Property: Hotel l'Ermitage
Address: 60 rue Sainte-Ursule | Old Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Ermitage 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel l'Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ermitage Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing