We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Bargain... Better hostel ... But great location and friendly service”
Review of Hotel l'Ermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel l'Ermitage
Ranked #81 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Pro: Good Location, Breakfast included, Valet Parking for 18$ per day (although I had a bad falling to hand my car over), free (sometimes working) Internet, good equiped (tv, iron board, hairdryer, e.g.) and it seems to be clean
Cons: absolutely noisy - we were located on the op floor and hear the family under us discussing or the guy next to us coughing, walking and noises you don't want to hear, also the street is too noisy

Result: it is a better hostel and you have to deceide if you want to safe money - I am angry with myself they we didn't spend 40$ more to have our silent...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear guest,
We're sorry to see that your stay with us didn't met your expectations.
We're actually completing renovation of the upper floor rooms that can explain a part of the noise, they also done some publics works on the street during this period a situation that was out of our control. Looking forward to welcome you again during a next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

lovely period building inside city walls. Nice breakfast included in great price - twin room was plenty big enough. Check in was down the road a few feet, but not a biggy. Secure access and very clean - will be back. Computer available (mine broke) at check in hotel for free - breakfast was also down the road in a different place, but for the price was excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwichristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel has met your expectations. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel was great - perfect location right in the heart of the city. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast included was delicious. What a deal for just $80/nite. And the rooftop hot tub right across the street at the sister hotel, Acadia, was perfect after a long day of siteseeing. The restaurant right next door, L'Amoure was wonderful - expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel has met your expectations. Hoping to welcome you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

What a wee gem as long as you're not too fussy.

It's cheap and cheerful as we only paid $60 a night for a Fri-Mon stay. Perfect location! Bed was comfy, really sweet atmosphere, had en suite! (in this price range many didn't!)

Be warned, you have to climb the stairs and our room wasn't very big. Oh and the shower can be a bit of roulette.

But, we'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel has met your expectations. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel.
Pros: It's in Old Quebec, which is not that large, so that you can easily walk to everything, return to your room when you want a rest, and go out again later. Location is important in a city. The room, though small, was quite nicely done with new, high-quality decor. The bed was comfortable. The shower was quite nice and water got hot quickly. I felt like I was in the movie, "Midnight in Paris." We got a good price through priceline, but it did not include breakfast. However, we discovered a small restaurant, Le Petit Coin Latin down the hill, which was less touristy than most and very good. Parking was available for $18/night with a valet who did a nice job.
Cons: The walls are thin, and we did hear people coming and going and talking in the next room, but it was not annoying to us. The snack machine took only one-dollar coins. Only one pot of coffee each day comes with the room; you must pay extra for more. This wasn't really a problem, either, since we went out for meals, anyway, but it would have been nice to have some decaf and/or tea in the evenings. The room temperature was warm to us, and we could not open the window or turn on the fan in the air conditioner. so it was a little stuffy, but not too bad.

All in all, we loved the L'Ermitage and would certainly stay here again since we did get a good price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear guest,
We're happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that Hotel l'Ermitage has met your expectations. Thank you for taking some of your time to share your review with us! We will take note of your comments. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

good location but TINY room and bathroom. The heating seemed to be turned up to maximum level all day and night so it was like sleeping in a sauna even with our radiator turned off. Rooms are very noisy and can hear everything from the room next door including people going to the bathroom which was really annoying. Would not reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#59 of 102 in Quebec City
717 reviews
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#44 of 102 in Quebec City
293 reviews
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
#12 of 102 in Quebec City
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Marie Rollet
#58 of 102 in Quebec City
161 reviews
Le Chateau de Pierre
#33 of 102 in Quebec City
380 reviews
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
#78 of 102 in Quebec City
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ermitage

Address: 60 rue Sainte-Ursule | Old Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Ermitage 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel l'Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ermitage Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing