We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased!!”
Review of Hotel l'Ermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel l'Ermitage
Ranked #77 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very pleased!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Ask for room 350. This room was much larger than the one across the hall. We were amazed at the size and character of the room. 2 queen size beds (end to end) across the room from each other with 2 leather chairs, a small table and a wooden desk with 2 chairs arranged in between the beds. The room has large bay windows which can open with heavy ceiling to floor curtains. There are double doors which open onto a small balcony with a street view of Old Quebec. There is a small washroom with a tub and shower. The sink and large mirror are in the room but outside of the bathroom. The room has a fridge, T.V., hair dryer, ice bucket with wine glasses, coffee maker and mugs. The room is nicely decorated with a beautiful plaster ceiling and attractive light fixture. The door to our room was wood with a large beveled glass window, covered by a heavy curtain. This hotel was built in the 1800's and has LOTS of character. Did not wake up to any street noise but could faintly hear the church bells on Sunday morning. We quickly opened the windows to record them ringing. You need to check in just down the street at Hotel Acadia. Very friendly staff. They will take your luggage to the hotel. There is an Urban Spa on the top floor of the Acadia which you have free access to along with a buffet breakfast at a restaurant (Feu Sacre) located just around the corner (delicious). I got a deal through Hotwire so this was not included but was well worth it for $10 per person. The hotel also offers valet service, massage services (at a cost), free internet and a relaxation room. Great location, we walked everywhere throughout Old Quebec and outside the walls (did not need a car). We did take a bus tour outside the city one afternoon which was great for picture taking (waterfalls, cathedral, copper factory, bakery and across to the Island of Orleans). Took a taxi from airport to hotel. Flat rate $35, one way. Cab driver very nice and arranged our pick up time for our return home, when he dropped us off. The Hotel Acadia stored our luggage after we checked out so that we could do some more shopping/site seeing before we left.

Room Tip: Ask for room 350.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g0lfgirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel Ermitage.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    46
    11
    10
    1
See reviews for
26
37
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We went to Quebec for the Carnaval. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the room although small, was very comfortable, one of the better hotel beds I have slept on in a hotel. The location could not have been better. The hotel was in a quiet part of town but still only a five minute walk from the action.

Room Tip: Pack light...the hotel does not have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your nice experience in our hotel.
We're really pleased to see that you enjoyed all parts of your stay.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very nice location. Right in the old city and near the citadel. for those who like to browse or window shop, you are located next to a commercial street. The room is on the cozy (small) side. However, you do have a fridge and coffeemaker. The bed was soooooo confortable. I am not usually able to sleep the first night in a hotel but I had no trouble falling asleep in this bed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mckeemtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to write this nice review about our hotel Ermitage!
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed the comfort of the room and also our perfect location.
Hoping to welcome you again shortly.
Best Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights. The location is excellent, inside the walled city and within walking distance to all the sights inside and outside the walls. Staff were friendly and helpful, and allowed us to store our bags for the day as we arrived at 9:00am. The complimentary breakfast is a short walk around the corner and had a selection of cold cereal, yogurt and hot food which was good. We had two doubles in our room, which was a comfortable size. The downside for us was the room was too hot at night and there was no thermostat or way to control the radiators from our room. We couldn't get the air conditioning unit to do anything but flash a red light so ended up just opening the windows, which was noisy as we were on the ground floor. We got the front desk to turn it down, but it was still too warm for us. Also, as with any old building, the stairs and floors above creak. This didn't bother us much except at night, as the people upstairs seemed to leave everyday at 2:00am. Otherwise it was comfortable accommodation, and good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Explorer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel was located within the Old City walls itself. Everything in Upper Town and Lower Town is withing walking distance.

We stayed for 4 nights in early Sept 2012, in a 2 double bed room. The 2 beds faced each other, separated by a set of tables and chairs in the middle, making the room quite big. Heavy curtains block the sun (and prying eyes) from the room. The beds were firm and comfortable.
They had those soap dispensers in place of little toiletries bottles in the bathroom. Coffee-making facilities available.

There is no front desk in the hotel itself. Check-in and check-out was in another hotel named Arcadia some 30 meters away. Front desk staff speaks English, so no problems for me. You need a key to get in the front door of the building. On more than one occasion, I found couples who wanted to check in and were puzzled why the front door was locked; I had to direct them to Arcadia Hotel to do so.

If you drive, they can arrange for parking nearby (tight squeeze lots!) for $12/night. I had to park my rental for a night and didn't give them advance notice, but they were able to get me a lot. The street itself was quiet and you could find a self-serve laundromat, mini mart and cafes on the same street.

All in all, for the price we paid, we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: No lifts so pick lower floors if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EileenMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Ermitage.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an economy class room and figured out very quickly that it wasn't worth what we were paying for. We don't recommend staying in the economy room on the first floor.
this hotel is connected to hotel Acadia, so we were shown alternatives there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenvironmentalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel L'Ermitage.
We're disapointed that our room haven't met your expectations, our economic rooms are quite small but mainly freshly renovated. At least you have find a room convenient for your stay at our Hotel Acadia and we're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay as you mentioned in your other comment.
We will be pleased to welcome you again during your next visit.
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willunga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Great location inside the walls of the old city so very convenient to all the sights. Another important feature was it is on a quiet street. Rooms are a good size and the price is very reasonable for the old city. Less convenient is the lack of a lift and we were on the top floor. Also there is no front desk and you have to register in the Hotel Acadia which is down the street and across the road. Nevertheless it was a good choice for a two star hotel and breakfast at the Feu Sacre restaurant around the corner (also owned by Hotels Nouvelle France) was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your opinion about our hotel, this is really appreciate.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Hoping to welcome you again during a next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#53 of 101 in Quebec City
679 reviews
Maison du General
#90 of 101 in Quebec City
25 reviews
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Marie Rollet
#58 of 101 in Quebec City
152 reviews
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
#51 of 101 in Quebec City
175 reviews
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#66 of 101 in Quebec City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ermitage

Property: Hotel l'Ermitage
Address: 60 rue Sainte-Ursule | Old Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Ermitage 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel l'Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ermitage Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing