We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”

Chez Boulay-bistro boreal
Ranked #12 of 1,443 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cote du Palais
Description: Confit goose and duck leg parmentier, potatoes with mushrooms and fir tree essence, birch syrup vinaigrette: these are a few examples of what can be found on the menu at Chez Boulay – Bistro Boréal. On rue Saint-Jean in Quebec City since 2012, the restaurant places a value on the boreal region, especially the produce from the vast wilderness of northern Canada. For the last five years, the Bistro has been a popular destination because of our passionate chefs. Come meet our team and enjoy a memorable Nordic experience. Five years after the opening of Chez Boulay – Bistro Boreal, Arnaud Marchand and his team innovate and export their culinary talent into this new gastronomic adventure: the Comptoir boreal. In our charming and warm space in the heart of Quebec City, you will find pastries, sandwiches and ready-made meals that emphasize the value of the produce from our region. Foodies and clients on the go can come and enjoy snacks and meals that are out of the ordinary.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Staying at Hotel Victoria Manoir which is attached and had two very good meals. Lunch Table d hote was great. Bison short ribs delicious and the trifle dessert great. Recommended as good value for a great lunch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gulltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,127
    399
    102
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good bet.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We found the atmosphere very relax and pleasant, well in line with the boréal theme.
Food was good, with some items being particularly delicious, for example, the cabbage boudin and the bison tartare.
Service is courteous, lacks a little bit of attention maybe, and food comes out too fast from the kitchen: we had to drink our aperos while eating our appetizers...
But all in all, a nice experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Serge-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
273 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Rich and wonderful Bistrot ffod and a modern environment.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Flavorful food that is well prepared. Reservations are a must.

We started with a special of the day appetizer of mushrooms and goat cheese served in a jar. Deep flavor that was served in an interesting manner.

Our main course was the Black Cod and Bison Cheeks. The fish was cooked perfectly. The Bison was slow cooked, with deep rich flavor and oh so tender. The only odd point was that both dishes were served in a room temperature cast-iron, shallow casserole pan. Unheated cast-iron, in my view, tends to drain the heat from the food. A slightly warmed or even hot one would have added to the enjoyment of the food.

Desert was a very nice maple and blackberry creme brulee.

The wine list is quite excellent.

The only odd issue was out waitress. We had to remind her that she should she tell us about the specials, which were posted (not not quite readable). She seemed quite distracted. About halfway into dinner she disappeared, replaced by an excellent waiter. Not sure if she was fired or taken out back and shot. A bit of dark humor with dinner added to the enjoyment!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very good food, with great service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The food was very good. Not the best Quebec City can offer, but enjoyable and creative.

The atmosphere was lively and friendly. But we could still have a conversation! It is a modern and popular bistro, located inside the walled portion of the old city. Great location for tourists and locals alike.

The service was both friendly and efficient, which is to their credit as we were a group of 16 or so.

Highly recommend this to adults of all ages. I suggest you call ahead for a reservation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food but rushed”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Chez Boulay served us a meal of great food but marred by the food arriving within a couple of minutes of being ordered when there was no reason for such a rush.

The dishes have Norwegian influences that add greatly to the complexity and flavour by using berries and other boreal elements.

The appetisers of marinated arctic char and smoked eel rillettes were tasty, well flavoured and clean.

The bison cheeks with celery and celeriac were luscious, extremely tender and delicious with the celery/celeriac proving a needed texture contrast.

The desserts are interesting - nougat with cloudberries had great texture and flavour, and weren't too sweet.

The wine list is extensive and provides excellent wines for less than CAD 50.

It is not cheap, but at CAD 200 for the meal it was good value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GKandEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Boulay-bistro boreal also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Chez Boulay-bistro boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing