We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else”
Review of Auberge Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Quebec
Ranked #93 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay somewhere else”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

So before I can really say anything, When I stayed in this hotel it was with Breakaway tours for spring break, so we traveled in a pack of about 200 or more students for four nights in March 2013. This hotel is located in a cluster of other hotels (nicer ones might I add) and right outside a double lane freeway. There are quite a few locations nearby, but it can be dangerous trying to get around on foot. When we got there we were told we needed to fill out a damage report, listing every scratch or hole in our room. There was honestly nothing that wasn't damaged in our room, wallpaper was peeling off of the wall, in large pieces, every surface was scratched, curtains had holes in them, and nothing was secured into place. Since the hotel was rented out to students, it was crawling with security guards, who after a few conversations, were really quite nice to us. The woman working the front desk however seemed to have a pole up her *** the whole time. Asking for an extra towel or pillow was absolutely out of the question, and when we went to her telling her that on the third day the maids still hadn't stopped by our room, or even given us new towels/toilet paper, she just stuck up her nose and dismissed us. Also when a vending machine took a students money, it was a 20 minute ordeal and lots of paperwork had to be filled just so he could get his $1.25 back. The manager of the hotel was nicer I will add.The hotel advertised free breakfast, but apparently that wasn't given to people on our trip, and there was no restaurant or fitness centre, at least none that we were able to get to. As for the rooms, charging any devices or plugging anything in was constantly an issue, the only plugs were at the very top of the wall where it meets the ceiling, and on the lamps? Which didn't work half of the time. To turn the plugs on, you had to mess around with three light switches that activated certain lamps, and there were no plugs near the bed or anywhere convenient. It was likely because of all the teenagers staying there, but the hallways constantly smelled of the worst aromas. There were also beer cans and towels and broken lights laying all over the place. Apparently the hotel has three floors, but after walking around the hotel for four days it was still impossible to find anything. The layout is basically three mobile homes attached at random places with hidden doors all over the place. There are hallways that lead to nowhere, and hallways that lead you right back to where you came from, and everywhere looks like the place you just were. The hotel is pretty much basic quality, with absolutely no extras, so if you need somewhere to stay in an emergency, it may be suitable, or you could just go next door and stay somewhere better. PS avoid breakway tours at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't choose 229, that's my only advice. The rooms upstairs with the higher ceilings seem ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    35
    17
    26
See reviews for
32
34
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Yes the hotel is cheap but you really get what you pay for, in a bad way. Staff is not really interested in helping, breakfast is a complete joke (eating out of styrofoam plates?!), hallways smell weird, rooms are small and terribly decorated. The location is also not great, and it is to be avoided if you don't have a car. The only thing that makes this place deserve a 2/5 rating is that the bed and bathroom were very clean.

Room Tip: Avoid being too close to the lobby or stairs as the walls are paper thin and you'll hear every s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a hockey tournament during the month of January 2013. To say this place needs renovating is an understatement....the decor is from the 70's. The staff did not make this an enjoyable weekend for our group of parents at all. The security guard kept bothering us when there was no one else in the hotel. The breakfast was bread and bagels. They did have good coffee though...
Go to tim's and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Con1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

First day of vacation and the plan was to overnight in Quebec City - what wasn't planned was a Madonna concert in town that night - booking up almost every room in town. All the local hotels, recognizing the supply/demand situation, were giving no deals - pretty much stuck with rack rates. Despite the $64.99 sign, the best room price was $117+++. I had a good experience at another Jaro property, The Lindbergh,a few years ago, so thought I would give this Jaro owned property a try.

What that price got you here, on that evening, was a tiny dated room with a double bed (though in the morning, walking past in the halls, you could see that most rooms were of a more standard size). The small quarters were ok for a night, the room was generally clean (though grout could get scrubbed a bit better), the bed comfortable and the room fairly quiet.

The hotel is older, built in the mid 60's (I presume to handle the tourist boom spawned by Expo 67?), and is on a sloping lot. As a result, as you go further back in the hotel, you encounter a few steps down several times, as the hotel follows the contours of the land. To me, it adds to the charm though it may be an inconvenience to mobility-challenged guests. The whole place is a bit tired but not run-down.

The continental breakfast was not memorable, but adequate. The breakfast room was busy, but no problem in getting seated. The hotel staff, both for reservations and at the desk, were polite and efficient.

All in all, there was nothing wrong with the stay, though market conditions had me paying more than I liked for the calibre of room.

Room Tip: If the room sounds like a 'deal' - ask about the size. They have a few that are quite small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawki56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hotel is located in the Avenue Des Hotels area, right off the bridge, so prices are similar to nearby hotels (We paid $143 for the night), even if this property is not up to par. Feels like the "Poor Cousin" of the Jaro Hotels.
Some items have been updated, but rooms seem dated regardless, they tried to give them this "Cheap European Look", but at least they are fairly spacious and some come with a balcony.
Reception is already on the "2nd Level", so there is a lower walk-out level towards the back parking of the building, which has Motel Style Rooms. Meanwhile, the Main Building has Loooong squeaky Hallways, with stairs going half-way up and down and 1 tiny elevator, so be prepared for some extra walking and carrying bags (and kids) if you're in one of the back rooms on the upper floors.
The hotel is fairly large for such a tiny restaurant.. It gets packed early in the morning for the continental breakfast, so either be patient, or grab your breakfast and go back to your room, or maybe find a little table leading to one of the banquet/meeting rooms outside of the restaurant. It has an outdoor pool, but didn't have time to try it, so I can't comment.
Couple next door were also arguing in French for a good 20 mins and you could hear everything through the walls.
Building has a metal Roof, and after we arrived it was pouring rain becoming quite loud. Gladly the rain didn't last long, but I feel sorry for someone trying to sleep there on a rainy night.
OK for 1 night if you have run out of options...

Room Tip: Get a room close to the parking level to avoid the maze of hallways and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jechega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Was assigned to this hotel by my company. Bad choice. Old chalet type hotel in dire need of uplifting. Miles of corridors, only basics in rooms although bathroom and linen were clean. Very noisy. As far as the included continental breakfast, it is OK if you want to eat standing up because of insufficient space, have your juice in styrofoam cups, wait in line to toast your bread, etc. On the up side, the location is OK near restaurants and shopping malls.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jogetnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had a really nice affordable carnival weekend in Quebec with our hockey team. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was really nice. There was no pool but a place for the kids to play .(pool table ,ping pong,soccer table sofa for all the parents to bond.Lots of restaurants around walking distance.Shopping mall. and bus stop that goes to the old Quebec city. But dont expect les Hotels Jaro like on tv. It's like an old comfortable chalet in Quebec.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Lindbergh Hotel
Lindbergh Hotel
#66 of 102 in Quebec City
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#72 of 102 in Quebec City
7 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
#82 of 102 in Quebec City
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#51 of 102 in Quebec City
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#54 of 102 in Quebec City
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Quebec

Property: Auberge Quebec
Address: 3055, boulevard Laurier, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 4X2, Canada (Formerly Auberge Sir Wilfrid)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge Quebec 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the city entrance through the bridges, within close proximity to the shopping centres - Laurier Québec, Place de la Cité and Place Ste-Foy - and only 10 minutes away by car from downtown Quebec City, Auberge Québec welcomes guests in a rustic setting inspired by the Swiss and French Alps inns. This Bed & Breakfast-style hotel offers privacy, free continental breakfast and parking as well as a car rental service. Auberge Québec features 106 rooms including two-floor mezzanine rooms and rooms equipped with kitchenettes. During summertime, you'll appreciate the outdoor swimming pool and terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Sir Wilfrid Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing