We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and simple”
Review of Talea Bistro Urbain - CLOSED

Talea Bistro Urbain
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice and simple”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

When you are in the mood for a bit of everything to eat they have nice "planche" with cheese, cold cuts, terrines... Was nice and relax. Not touristy! I would go back for sure!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    38
    15
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great Food along Grand Allee!!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This restaurant is very comfortable, yet offers a wide selection of fine food for a very reasonable cost. I had been searching for a restaurant that balanced comfort, food presentation and quality and came across Talea. We were not disappointed!

We had the warm goat cheese salad which was excellent. The two mains we ordered were the smoked deer sandwich and pulled pork burger. Both were very flavourful although the deer was on the salty side. Nonetheless, it was great value for our dollar. The staff were friendly and bilingual. I especially enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.

All in all, I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere at a more than reasonable cost. I hope to return here soon.

Also, sadly, the restaurant is closed in January for renovations.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jmagee1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local flavors”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you want to get a taste of the local flavors try that plate for 2. You will have local cheeses, smoked deer to die for, tartar, smoked salmon etc. the price is more than reasonable

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LineM539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cozy on a cold windy night”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We had intended to go to another nearby restaurant but when we found it, it was take-out only. No way on a cold windy night! So we started looking for another reasonably priced (tough to find in Quebec City) restaurant and came upon Talea. The menu looked intriguing/different so we decided to give it a go. First thing, "do you have reservation?" "No." After a couple awkward moments they agree to give us a table. We are very glad, because they started turning people away just after us. This is a very French restaurant, with what seems to be local patrons, but the servers immediately spoke English to us and provided us with an English menu. We ordered the 'Planche Talea' which is a meat/cheese/salad/roasted potato platter for 2. For 41$Can you get plenty of cold meats 1/2 that were smoked...all very good, all items locally fresh. The basket of bread was also very good. The atmosphere is lively, cozy and crowded when all the tables are full, like tonight. We were very happy to be among the happy diners.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a great luncheon find.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Walking along the grand allee looking for lunch- it was empty although the next restaurant was packed. Not sure why. Great hunter's board. Apple and butternut squash soup. Personal and informative waitress. Very French

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cptsafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Talea Bistro Urbain also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing